-
Sarina or Stanage??
Hi guys,
I am after some info from guys who have been up this way recently. I have never been to Stanage and I am planning a trip up that way in a couple of weeks. I am not really interested in fishing the area close to Stanage, we plan to use West Bay on Percy Island as an anchorage for a couple of days at a time and fish the wide reefs whenever the weather allows.
The Percys are about 55km from Stanage and about 100km from Sarina give or take a few kays here and there according to Google Earth. Now the distance is not a great hassle really, only difference would be that we would carry and store more fuel at West Bay in order to allow us to do what we want to do for the duration of our trips (we plan to stay offshore on the island for a few days at a time then return to the mainland for resups, showers etc... we have permission to do this).
My big question is where we should base ourselves from??? Sarina seems like the obvious choice, but I am worried about leaving the car and trailer at the ramp for extended periods of time as I have heard of things going walkies up there. Now Stanage is closer by a fair way, which has its obvious benefits, and I would think that leaving gear there would probably be safer given the nature of a small fishing villiage.
But I am concerned about the road in to be honest. I have no great ambition to tow over 2.5T of loaded boat and trailer along a badly corrigated road and hope that nothing breaks. If the road is in good nick I am happy to take it slow and steady, but I am hoping someone has been up there recently who can give a no bullshit opinion on what would be the best option.
Also, if anyone is keen on tagging along for a trip to the wide reefs off that part of the coast, another boat would be great as it is a long swim home should something go bad.
My trailer is in very good condition and the boat fits it well, so making sure everything is in order is not an issue.
Thanks in advance guys,
Shane
-
Re: Sarina or Stanage??
you should probebley call barra loge and they will tell you the condition of the road, last time we went up it was good.
-
ShaneC,
mate i was up at stanage 2 weeks ago and the road was great except for the last 20k but they were still working on it so id say it would be fully done by now and you should have no problem towing up there as long as you have some kind of stone refelector on the front of your boat.
I towed my 7.2 up there not a problem and we also based ourselfves at west bay for 2 nights.
what wider reefs are you looking at fishing?? its only 30NM from west bay to the swains, unfortunetly we didnt get to go out there due to not carrying extra fuel but if u are keeping fuel on the island it should not be a problem.
What sort of boat are you towing up and what dates??
-
and people thought i was crazy thinking of going to swains in a 7.4, should be fun shane, you should enjoy.
justin
-
Do you have enough crew Shane?
-
Hi guys
Thanks for your replies. I am taking up a 625 Cruisecraft Explorer, which when fuelled up and geared up easily goes 2.5T I am now aware. I am making up a bracket for the front of the trailer as a stone deflector and will probably put XOS mudflaps on the ute to try and make sure nothing marks the gelcoat on the road in.
Yes Redfisher, the Swains is the plan, I would love to get out there and spend a couple of nights on the reef, but obviously will need a great weather forecast to do it and probably only the inside half, its a looong way to the outide of the reef, but you never know!!
Justin, theres a difference between doing it off the cuff and those of us that use our boats a few times a week and are aware of our own and our boats limitations. Everything can be done reasonably safely if the correct systems are in place hey mate. I prefer to use the word keen over crazy.....
Prelim dates are 23 Aug- around 7 Sep, but if the forecast is for a week of shit weather on the 23rd, we will put it back for as long as is necessary to give us the best chance at least four or five good days of good weather.
-
fuel at stanage mate, i tow in empty. fuel up there, $15 more a tank. (for me) can leave car and trailer in secure lock up at marine centre, ring and book first though, road good apparntly, being worked on. bait is reasonable too, we just get it there as well. havent made swaines yet, havent had to to be honest!
enjoy
-
Yeah that was kind of the plan lippa, I have just heard in the past that they have run out of fuel, dont want to be left short or get the dregs from the bottom of their tanks. Can anyone confirm or deny that this has happened?? We'll be buying about 500L of fuel (thats two tanks worth from empty), it might be worth geting half of it from the highway and half from Stanage if its available
I have been stockpiling a bit of bait like yakkas and slimeys and squid that I have caught myself for the last month or so, which gives us a good start with quality bait, but I will probably buy a couple of boxes of pillies from Brissy and other miscellaneous bait from Morgans to make sure we give ourselves the best shot at some quality.
I like the sound of not having to go as wide as the Swains, but I dont think I would forgive myself if an opportunity to get out there arose and I didnt take advantage of it!!
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Stanage for sure, shouldnt have to fish far from the percy's to clean up, no need to go to Swains. Do what Lippa reckons and ring ahead to book secure lock up !!
-
It looks like its going to be Stanage..... We will book a house up there for the entire time, if anyone who has a boat that is seaworthy enough to join us on the Swains wants to come up, I am sure a couple of cartons of beer will land you a pretty cheap base for a few days, even if we are not there......
23rd is the planned leave date from Brissie, but if the weather aint gonna play, we will push it back, I am not going to drive that far to sit around and drnk beer (I do that enough at home!!)....
-
Dead set Shane, there's a fair chance you could sell ice to the eskimos! This venture north sounds tooooo good to miss! I'm gonna have to get some time off work..
LM
-
Get it off Lukey, may be a tad cosy if we do an overnighter on the reef, but we can sort that out when it happens.....
-
yerh shane im still keen for that trip i wanted to do to the swains but i think i different time of year for me possibly next year will see how things pan out and how you fishing goes.
justin