What is the best Esky - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: What is the best Esky

Re: What is the best Esky

the best esky is the one with the best insulation..I have about 6 eskies in varying sizes up to 110 litres. 2 of them are a well known brand and they are absolutr crap..they would not keep anything cool on a summers day..someone ought to teach them a bit about insulation and heat transfer.

I picked up a 150l + 40l + 12l + 12 slabs of Techni Ice on the Techni Ice website. Wait for the specials!!! That little lot would retail around a grand, I paid $349 plus $25 delivery.

They are excellent eskis, and will keep ice for days.

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

On a trip we filled a 95l mackrel shaped tropicool esky with approx 40L of bottled ice, it lasted 8 days if memory serves me, the last 4 with perishables/some drinks added and getting opened and closed.

+ you can use it to chock the trailer up to do some axle work..... long term investment.

Greg, I understand what you are saying about the ability for cheap eskys to keep things cool, I am not too worried. The esky I am looking for will have oodles of ice thrown in and only has to keep the catch of the day chilled for a few hours till I get home the same day. Does not have to be super quality for that, although a week on Frazer is a different story when I can borrow the brother in laws.

Tim, Had a look at the techni website and what if I don't want all the other stuff? I have other eskys and to be honest we are running out of room in the house to store them. If all that cost you $349 Tim, what if I only want 1 x 150 ltr esky?? Maybe it was more obvious, but I could not see a link on their website where I could hand pick a single esky outside of their "bundle" offerings.

Ekka show holiday today, I might be able to jump down to Carrara and have a look at the 2nds stock on the floor at Chilli eskys.

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem View Post
    Greg, I understand what you are saying about the ability for cheap eskys to keep things cool, I am not too worried. The esky I am looking for will have oodles of ice thrown in and only has to keep the catch of the day chilled for a few hours till I get home the same day. Does not have to be super quality for that, although a week on Frazer is a different story when I can borrow the brother in laws.

Tim, Had a look at the techni website and what if I don't want all the other stuff? I have other eskys and to be honest we are running out of room in the house to store them. If all that cost you $349 Tim, what if I only want 1 x 150 ltr esky?? Maybe it was more obvious, but I could not see a link on their website where I could hand pick a single esky outside of their "bundle" offerings.

Ekka show holiday today, I might be able to jump down to Carrara and have a look at the 2nds stock on the floor at Chilli eskys.

Brian..the ones that I have that are not much good do keep ice cold for the day...they are okay on day trips but the bloody things sweat on the outside..leave a trail of water wherever you put it.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    Brian..the ones that I have that are not much good do keep ice cold for the day...they are okay on day trips but the bloody things sweat on the outside..leave a trail of water wherever you put it.
    Now that's an interesting point you raised Greg. The condensation on the outside can be more .... or less with a better quality Esky???? That would be a buggar if you didn't realize and packed luggage around it in the truck for a extended trip, to find a heap of moisture got to items you didn't want it to. Anyone experienced this?

Swindells - You got a bargain! I rang these guys and their 90 litre Mackeral version is $250 with the potential of their being a seconds or two on the floor ( only scratched or insufficient dye in the colouring or something similar) But I will still have to pay $210.00 or so. So you should have bought two at the time!
    yeah mate definetly got a bargain, i actually bid on it on ebay rather then buying direct. i waited until these guys had about 10 up for auction and hoped that there wasn't too many people in the market for one. came out pretty good.

If your good with your hands, i work for a company that manufactures boatbuilding supplies and can get you polypropelene panels, fibreglass, epoxy and pouring foam if you want to custom build your own. i have a lot of guys that come to me for that, personally i couldn't be bothered, id rather build boats.

Swindells

I LOVE MY ESKYS - A must for every self respecting man. in fact, you can almost judge a man by whether he has an esky or not, think about it.

Buy fibreglass, It's the only way.

I brought one of ebay for $300 delivered 120 litre capacity.

Keeps ice cold for 7 days

anyone know of some slime line ekys need something like 400 wide by 1200 long by what ever height the big baileys takes up to much room..
    560c Bar Crusher "Overtime"

I bought my 150L esky for $230 on special......very happy with it

Attachment 50009

yellowbeard - that esky has come straight from the back of the HQ holden Ute hasn't it? Maybe older,the EH? That's a classic.

You're close, it was the boot of an FE Holden Sedan.

Another vote for the Big Chilli Coolers. I got a 140L for $130 off ebay. Awesome value for money

I have a Techni Ice 120ltr and 40ltr which are fantastic.......Good bang for your buck.......

Ausfish Platinum Member honda900's Avatar

Scalem,

the best esky I have is a Waeco fibreglass, you can get them as factory seconds as cheap as some of the mention prices here.

http://www.getawaeco.com.au/products.asp?catId=6

Honda.