Thread: HID lights

HID lights

Just chucking up some info, I recently got set of IPF 900 series spotties for my Jackaroo, $200 of Ebay. I was pretty happy with the performance. Then a mate suggested getting HID bulbs for them. Back to Ebay and I got a set of HID bulbs (H3 - 6000k) for $100 from some chinese mob, apparently most of the HID bulbs come out of the same factory anyway. Service fast.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/CAR-HID-XENON...d=p3286.c0.m14

WOWWWW is the only thing I can say!! they are easy to install on existing spotties, only have to drill a hole in the back of the mounting to feed the wires though and also you have to mount the 2 ballast boxes somewhere too.

They are awesome at lighting up the road, for anyone who hasn't been in a car with them, its like a mega bright moonlight lighting up the road ahead, and you dont get the bad reflections of signs etc. Definalty the best addition I have ever made to my fishing rig.

So for anyone considering getting HID spotties, I highly reccommend this method of doing it. Cost me $300 for something that that would cost over $1000 i reckon...and it was easy to do...I am certainly no auto electrician either!!

cheers steve

Re: HID lights

Hi Steve
    The young fella is a truck sparkie, his comment was
    " just make sure your'e altenator is up to it. If so then all ok"
    Dave(Callop)

Quote Originally Posted by Capvet View Post
    Hi Steve
    Dave(Callop)
    Why?? They say (quote) they only use 50W which is about half of the power usage that the bulbs most people have in their driving lights use.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

A good mate is currently in China organising some really good hand held HID spotlights and HID torches that are rechargeable running Li-Ion bat packs. He thinks it will be around late Sept to mid November before they will be stocked on the shelves though.

Quote Originally Posted by Capvet View Post
    Hi Steve
    Dave(Callop)
    Hey Dave, See you have changed your name!!!

As Scotty said, they actually use half the power that the orginal bulbs do. One downside is they take a bit to warm up to full strength when cold.

Jack,

I reckon he would do OK with spotties and assorted handheld HID lights. The spotties would be terrific on boats for navigating. look forward to seeing how he goes.

cheers Steve

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    Why?? They say (quote) they only use 50W which is about half of the power usage that the bulbs most people have in their driving lights use.

About 18 months ago I coverted the Hella Rallye 4000's on my Navara to HID ( H1 50W 4300K )

The conversion was inexpensive and easy to do - it only took me a few hours to complete and I'm no auto electrician. As has already said,they do take about 10 seconds to warm up when cold,after that,performance is unbelievable.

Jack,

let us know when ya mate has these items in stock.....

thanks Steve. I might go down this track on the new Colorado.

EBay hey ...mmmm sounds like a plan.

Cheers Phill.

Phil,

A mate put me onto that site, so I wasnt nervous! Goods turned up OK within a week...Not sure about warranty?? dont really care anyway, for $100 bucks a set, I could get 10 for the price it costs to buy a set of genuine HID spotties in Australia.

Cheers Steve

Hey Steve,

Just remember to fill up that hole you drilled with silicone, stop the water getting into your lights.

Quote Originally Posted by dunks84 View Post
    Hey Steve,

Just remember to fill up that hole you drilled with silicone, stop the water getting into your lights.

Dunks, yeah thanks mate...they come with a rubber grommet to seal the hole, but your right, it also needs silicone to seal it properly. Thanks for reminding me