Snapper PB And An Esky Full - Page 2

Thread: Snapper PB And An Esky Full

Re: Snapper PB And An Esky Full

Hi Dave

Well done a great trip ...a very nice feed of fish there !!!!!
    Gotta be happy with that.....shame about the rod & the 'bluey' tho...!!

Sounds like we shoulda gone north on Friday....meant to give u a call on 21, but forgot all about it.
    Stayed around the 33 & 35's & managed a feed but pretty quite.
    Had the spanner frames out ..so picked those up on the way home & got a feed of spanners, but nothing real big.

Had a good day out tho.

Phil

Good stuff Dave loved the report! Shame about the Rod and fine but like u said when you have a cracker days fishing like that was not all bad.

Great post,some great responses and still learning heaps, thanks guys!
    Regards Rod

Hi Dave,

he worked in the tackle industry for some years and only fishes with plastics and lures. He's been into light gear for years.
    I think that would be the best Idea. Tell Pete to give Eric a call. I am sure that they will both get some good value out of the discussions.

Frank OO

Thanks Frank OO

I will tell Pete to give Eric a call. He was pretty gutted as he loved that rod.

BTW....love your reports and wish I could land as many snapper as you do !!!

Hey Spectre.....I actually didn't have my radio on all day. It was much nicer just listening to the whales talk instead. It was a pretty hot bite all day....very unusual for the area we were fishing. Must have had something to do with the barometric pressure I reckon with Pearlies biting on the low tide in 25m of water ???

Hello goldfinch i too have exploded a graphite rod but this was a zion rod.
    i had a caught 13 5-6kg snapper on this rod in one session and learnt a valuable lesson when on the shallows i hooked a turtle and had it at the boat ready to cut the leader and with rod in one hand and knife in the other it took of and went straight down at this stage the rod high sticked and exploded.
    my lesson learnt was dont high stick these delicate rods and use less drag.mine was covered under warranty. cheers mark.

Sounds like a perfect trip, well done, nice esky!

I noticed someone asked about whether DPI can fine for flares etc. Does anyone know the answer to this? Seems they can, two months out is a bit rough. My advice with the rod would be to hang it in the pool room and tell freinds it happend on a 40lb Red.

G'day, good effort mate. All though I would have said the esky was only just half full !! I was at my usual spot off cape moreton last week and bagged out on snapper, nothing under 8kg, was an awesome day! Got a few kingys on my favourite jarvis walker rod ( unlike the toy rod your broke) all 3 over 9kg. Nothing against the egrell s10, but it's a toy compared to my jarvis walker. Reckon my brooker 435 centre console would give your fibre glass paper weight a good run for it's money!!! May your rod bend, but not snap...........happy fishing, James.

Quote Originally Posted by Frank OO View Post
    I take a lot of people out to let them experience soft Plastic fishing for the first time and the thing that frightens me most is people using my Egrells. back in the good old days, every fishing show that we saw whilst growing up shows the fisherman leaning back and heaving on the rod as hard as he could. Even today we see footage of the Marlin fisherman pulling back on the rod. I do it myself.

Over the last few years we have all started fishing with soft plastics and we found that the old style of rods are too heavy to cast and retrieve all day long so we needed to develop a rod that was extremely lightweight, very sensitive in the tip but had the power in the base to lift the heaviest fish.

Loomis, Shimano, Berkley and Egrell are some of the brands that have the developed these rods out of graphite. This materiel is extremely strong but also very brittle.

As much as these rods may be used by anyone who has the money to purchase them they are normally used by the sports angler who gets a massive thrill out of catching big fish on extremely light gear.

Every time I take out a new person in my boat the first thing I do is educate them on the correct way to use the rod and as soon as they hook a good fish the first thing they do is lift the rod as high as they can which ultimately stresses the rod to breaking point. The extra light tip gives you the finesse to feel every little touch but is not built to fight the fish. The lower end of the rod just above the butt is the strongest part of the rod and is where you must exert the most pressure to control the fish.

I have personally caught 80Kg - 100Kg Sharks on the S10H but I have also broken the same rod testing my drag pressure up to 5kg. My dear wife ripped the Tip off my brand new S10H just three weeks ago when she wrapped the line around the tip and hooking an AJ simultaneously.

Boys and girls. Let me be a bit unpopular here>>> If you break a graphite rod, whether it is Egrell, Loomis, Berkley or any other brand it is almost invariably your fault.

If you own a Graphite rod--DON'T HIGH STICK IT...

Frank OO
    Frank..perhaps these manufacturers should put a warning on these rods..DON'T PUT ANY PRESSURE ON IT!!!

I would not buy one of thsoe rods..truly their is nothing magical about plastic fishing and if the rod manufacturers cannot make a product that will last..esp at the prices they charge then perhaps they ought to rethink what they are doing.
    I have never broken a rod in my life...but I don;t buy overpriced brittle items either.
    The complete tackle industry has been hi jacked the same as many others have.
    You must have this rod with this reel with this line with this plastic with this jig head blah blah blah.

If you cannot make a product that can last the rigors of the pastime then perhaps another industry may be more applicable for these manufacturers.
    as said by someone ..6 months old and breaks and no warranty..i know if it was me the manufacturer would have that rod impanted somewhere on his anatomy.

Pinhead.....Bravo !!! My sentiments exactly.

Mav81.....take me for a trip in ya boat and I'll give you an assessment. I love any boat that can take me to the where the fish are.

dave

Some nice fish there Dave.
    Well Done.
    Thanks for the report.

Jason.
    FISHING IS NOT A HOBBY...................IT'S AN OBSESSION!!

Pete called Eric and had a great chat to him about the rod and what
    happened. Pete has asked me to let you guy's know that after talking with
    Eric, he's happy to take the rap on breaking the rod - so there you go
    angler error (remember Pete used to sell the gear!!) If you snag up,
    point the rod towards the snag and have the frustration of losing a
    jighead and re-tying . . . far cheaper then forking out cash for a new
    rod!! It's pretty obvious that if Pete had already caught a 10kg+ fish on
    the Egrel, it would have decided to kick the bucket on that fish if there
    was a fault in the blank. As Pete had some great sessions on the rod and
    loved using it, he's going to grab another S10 and get back fishing . . .
    will let you know how it goes.

Pinhead,

it's like one of your high end craftman's tools (any of those in the aircon industry? Guages?). They do a beautiful job, but they also only do a specific job. Mistreat it and it'll be stuffed in an instant. Not defending them - but that's just how they are. Live fibres and ugly stiks still sell well for us ham fisted types......

Quote Originally Posted by GBC View Post
    Pinhead,

it's like one of your high end craftman's tools (any of those in the aircon industry? Guages?). They do a beautiful job, but they also only do a specific job. Mistreat it and it'll be stuffed in an instant. Not defending them - but that's just how they are. Live fibres and ugly stiks still sell well for us ham fisted types......
    I have thousands of dollars of test equipment and if they fail in a short time I take them back...and get replacements. I know one thing..I would never buy any brand of graphite rod after hearing of others breaking them..of various brands.

Awesome trip, was keen for one this weekend myself but dad had other plans and left me at home
    Team Pioneer Fish Farm

If you cant catch 'em we'll grow 'em for ya

fishing is only an addiction IF your trying to quit