-
Ausfish Gold Member
Amberjack PB's All Round
After a good session on Thursday with a bag of Pearlies, Parrot and Snapper from the Cathedrals I needed another fix so I rounded up Pete and Matt for a Plastics and Jigging session off the Cape. Headed out from Scarby at 4.30am with a line-up of boats waiting to launch. Thanks to everyone for being fast and friendly. Good to see!!!
Headed to a spot NE of Hutchies just as the sun came up and Pete got smashed on the first drift on his Egrell S10 with a 7" Nuc Chook. 60cm Snap was soon in the net. Next My Certate 4000 and 7" Nuc Chook rig got hammered and a 50cm Snap soon went in the net. Then it went quiet. We had a bit of a look around in very sloppy conditions with a good stiff 15knot breeze blowing and after a couple of drifts decided to troll slowly south for a look. Whilst enjoying the amazing whale show on the way we picked up a couple of Mac tuna's on the troll and headed SE to look for some Jigging action. About an hour later we came across some good size bait balls and decided to give it a crack. I dropped a floating pillie out, Pete dropped his Plastic over and Matt dropped the Knife Jig down deep. On the first drift Matt got hammered and his Saltiga 6500 was screaming. We were so stoked as this was Matt's fist fish on my boat so we were egging him on bigtime. Soon a nice 8kg Ambo was in the boat. High fives all round.
We kept finding the moving bait and now we had 3 knife jig rigs happening and no bait. Next drift I picked up a knife jig double header of 50cm Ambo and Kingy on the Tyrnos 30 Live Fibre rig. The next drift Pete got smashed on the Saltiga 6500 rig and after a good solid fight landed another nice 8kg Ambo. The boat was pumping and the team was fired up!!! Then I decided to have a go on Matt's Saltiga rig and once again, got hammered and landed an 8kg version as well.
I then wanted to really test out the 6500 Baitrunner and Live Fibre rig as it had never landed an Ambo. It had 50lb braid and 60lb leader and was loaded up with a 300gram Williamson Knife Jig. After two drifts it got hammered and man did it scream. Fortunately I hooked him about 20metres off the bottom so I had some play before he could brick me. The drag was one click from all the way (7kg drag) and I played him carefully as there was no way I was losing this fish. About 10 minutes later and a good tug of war I could see him coming up. The gaf went in and another 8kg Ambo was in the boat. The 6500 baitrunner lands another PB. For a $200 reel, they can pack a punch.
By this stage the esky was chockers with 5 Ambo's and 2 Snaps so we decided not to bother with the afternoon snapper session. Next time !!! We got some great photo's and loads of high action video footage of one of the best sessions I've had in ages. Thanks to Matt and Pete for what was a serious team effort. Think this week's weather is begging for more action.
dave
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: Amberjack PB's All Round
Well done wat a great session i bet u guys were sore the next morning!!!
Cheers Simon
-
Well done Dave. Looks like you had much better action than I did...
Lionel
-
You call them big!HA. Wait til I get back in the boat.Then you will see some action. lol.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Addobaz......what's that smell? Smells like jealousy to me. I guess I'd better add the picture of your big Parrot from Thursday. Get me some better marks and I'll get you a bigger fish !!! Why do I only get busted off when you're on the boat?
-
Nicely done, those pictures are great; Good job.
Thanks Tom
-
Beautiful Venus Tusk.......best eating fish in the boat
well done guys
-