Thread: Burrendong continues to fish well!! Pics and report

Burrendong continues to fish well!! Pics and report

Lake Burrendong continued to fish quite well over the weekend, but has definitely slowed down in comparison with the fortnight past which saw the fish almost jumping in the boat.
    Ben Mosely and I fished the ‘Dong’ over the weekend, and started our days fishing targeting Redfin on the edges in the main basin casting small lures. The morning session saw us only manage to raise a 6 pound carp, which had the 8 pound braid screaming off the reel when it was some how foul hooked in the dorsal fin.
    With the Redfin no where to be found in the main basin, we headed up river to try and locate some big Golden Perch, which have been turning up at Burrendong in good numbers of late. It wasn’t to long and we had the first Golden Perch on board, which was closely followed by fish number two, then three when Ben found a branch that had several fish stacked up underneath. Retrieve techniques had to be altered lightly as the fish clearly weren’t fully switched on, so a slow retrieve with a slight twitch, and allowing the fish to move away with the bait before the hook was set produced solid hook ups.

Re: Burrendong continues to fish well!! Pics and report

there fat yellas, good stuff...
    deano..
    God put me on earth to accomplish
    a certain number of things,
    right now i am so far behind
    i will never die.

Some good sized yellas there mate.

Always happy to read a report from down home.

Roo.

Their some nice fat yellas mate

Nice yellas there poddy - well done!

Looks like it was a bit cold

They are Cracking specimens well done Lads.......Whitto
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

It was bloody FREEZING chris! Worth it though! Can't believe how well its fishing this winter. Water temp is only 11 to 13 degrees tops- and still goin off!
    Cheers lads,
    Pod

You guys are mad .......I stick to flickin around off the river bank in winter, gets too bloody cold out there on the dam.

Great fish, thanks for the report and keeping those barra boys from hogging the whole freshwater section

Cin

Poddy, nice session there mate. got to love those footy shaped yellas. I remember when the old saying was 'cant catch yellas in winter'!!

Has it fired up like this in the past winters Poddy?? Sounds like a top spot to fish, and looks good too by the photos.

cheers Steve

Cin, Yeah its good to talk about something else in the fresh

G'Day Steve,

This winter has produced some special fish- and in numbers as well! Don't know whats going on but I have had some of the most memorable fishing sessions in my life in the last few weeks... And like you said- you are not supposed to be able to catch boat loads of yella's in the winter time!!
    May be due to the the barometer, maybe a freak thermocline, maybe in the right spot at the right time... all I know is that the last three weeks has produced some magic that I will never forget as long as I live!

Great to yarn and share it with you all. Gotta love this Ausfish ay,

Kind Regards, Pod.

P.S- Be great to see all you guy's down here at Lake Burrendong at our NOT FOR PROFIT comp at easter time in 2010!!!