Thread: Wide Wide Caloundra friday

Wide Wide Caloundra friday

Was one of the lucky ones who happened to be fishing friday afternoon offshore in windless, glassed out conditions you only dream of. There was quite a few ausfishers about with some friendly banter exchanged here and there.
    Had some grounds past the 100m ledge out to 400m that we have been itching to have a look at. With the new electric winch and an alvey queen loaded up with 300lb braid time to have a crack.
    Well time got us and work commitments meant we didn't get out till mid arvo so no 400m but found some new ground with good structure in the 100 - 200m areas.
    We fished our way in shallower steadily adding a few fish, mainly pearlies till just on dusk I got nailed by a quality snapper on a SP. There was definately snapper on the sounder so we anchored and burlied but pearlies were thick and hungry nailing everything from the bottom to half way up.
    With our bag of pearlies we were well and truly just catch and release now we moved on finding more new ground and bigger pearlies
    Throwing back 50cm+ pearlies has whiskers when you have smaller ones in the esky so moved to a known snapper spot and yep, more pearlies.
    10.30pm now so back to Bribie, feet on the dash, sucking down a few sharpies on the way home.

Happy days...

Scoota...

Re: Wide Wide Caloundra friday

Good stuff Scoota! sounds like the weather and the fishing are what my dreams are made of compared to how i've been doing lately...lol but is nice to know they're out there and that someones getting onto them... lol well done mate!

Rod

NEED ICE...?

I'M THE GUY TO TALK TO..!!

top work scoota some quality fish how big your biggest pearly go?

justin

Nice esky boys ..................... That is a pearler of a snapper
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Quote Originally Posted by scoota View Post
    Throwing back 50cm+ pearlies has whiskers when you have smaller ones in the esky so moved to a known snapper spot and yep, more pearlies.

Good on you Scoota! That, while very frustrating, is the sort of fishing we all need to encourage!

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Hard life scoota. Geeeeeze. Is that winch a portable model? Keen to look out there. Mate, weather how it is, may be fishing friday instead of the pub?

Gidday Justin:- Biggest pearlies were mid 50's with lots of 33-37cm models about.

Scotty:- with so much good weather about it's got to go to crap sometime but its a long way out yet and seabreeze ain't gospel

Scoota...

Sounds like a great trip, can not complain about a sharpie on the way home with your feet on the dash either.

Stonker Snapper! Great stuff. Cheers, Darren