sounds like an interesting trip....couple of good fish well done
cheers rosco
Hi All,
Was fortunate enough to follow Frankoo out on my 1st Cape Moreton assault in the new Yalta. The Cruisecraft 685 took off like a rocket, leaving Bribie at 4.30am in the morning, and Poodroo and I in hot persuit in my boat across the bay. I thought that there was an obvious difference in performance between our boats, running crossways against the sloppy conditions often felt like a struggle keeping the boat going in a straight line, but apparently running crossways was a little awkward for the cc also. It was pitch dark at 1st, but as we rounded combie point the sun was coming up and I could now see why the waves were tossing me about the way they were. The weather forecast for 15 knots had me thinking we would have a glassy run out, but it wasn't quite like that. Oh well, we soldiered on.
When we finally got to where we wanted to drop our lines, coming off the plane, the sounder showed and enormous amount of fish. This looks good!! When we arrived I observed an anchored boat off in the distance, but started sorting my rig out and selecting which soft plastic I should choose. So with Rod in hand, bail arm clicked over and ready for a cast ........ Oh crap!! We had alreay drifted very near the anchored boat I saw earlier. The sloppy conditions were throwing us around, it felt awkward putting the rod and real down to start the motor and move away. The simplest of tasks becomes a mission impossible when the waves cause you to lose balance.
For a while I seemed like I could not settle into a drift without something going wrong, my line tangled around something on the front of the boat, Poodroo got snagged and lost a few jigheads in quick succession, then a call on the radio from Frank and co "Hey Brian, you got any yet, we have three and been busted off several times already" and all we seemed to be doing is re -rigging and tying knots, starting the boat again and again in order to avoid drifting into other boats at anchor.
Holy crap, did you hear what he just said??? We have not even had a nibble yet and his crew are boating fish already. I admit it, this offshore gig in sloppy conditions was proving a little more challenging than I would hope.
So I made a call to run past and grab a few pearls of wisdom from his more experienced crew. Hmmm, I see what I need to do.......
1st attempt ..... Oh no! wrong rig for this big fishy zzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZ How strong is this thing??? You think you have him turned and then he makes another dash to the bottom, and there is nothing I can do about it. Right about then, I look up to see Frank has snuck up on me, and has the camera zoomed in. Why are you stuffing around with that fish, just pull him in!!! No sooner had he offered his advice and...... PING!!! Small dropshot rod gets put away, and out comes the 4-8Kg ATC SP rod with 30lb braid. The next few hours were spent pumping weights, then massaging burning bicept muscles. And that was only Poodroo and I who took home a few Yellowtail king and small AJ, we released approximately 5 nice fish. That's not how it was in the other boat. They were apparently "stuffed" and had caught and released a LOT more fish than we had, but hey, we had a ball. We will continue to hone our techniques a little more in the near future.. Thanks for a great day at the Cape!!
sounds like an interesting trip....couple of good fish well done
cheers rosco
Good goin mate,beats sittin at home.Outwide1.mick
Good session there Brian and Poodroo
I cant wait to head offshore with you and chuck some rubbers around, i bet those Yellowtail Kings went alot harder than that 70cm Snapper i put in your esky the other weekend.
What size leader, jigheads and gulps were you using ??
cheers tim
Well done boys, A few nice kingies there! I'm so jealous... lol
Rod
NEED ICE...?
I'M THE GUY TO TALK TO....!!!
Hi Tim.
Well it's no secret I leave bait alone, and the 1st stop we did I was using all the normal stuff- 5 and 7" jerk shads with 1 oz, at least 40lb leader, then I upgraded to 60lb and still getting hammered, but the retrieve had to be much faster and erratic than nomal for the kingies to latch on. I can't comment too much more than that, Frank will likely put a post up later ( but he's too busy doing a fishing comp today), and he can decribe it in more detail. I could spend ages putting new techniques into practice, instead of going to the Gym. I wonder if that excuse can get me more time on the water? LOL
We ended up going to Deep tempest for a run after i spoke to Frank out there. That was a bad plan the current was running that hard you couldn't hold bottom. So then we headed for home. I was going to stop in and say g'day to use but you must of been a fair way off the Cape cause there was no boats there.
Cheers Chris
planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Nice fish mate. I little tip with the Yaltas. Pull the rear seats out before heading offshore Heaps easier to fish when you can wedge youself into the corners. It was quite bumpy out there yesterday.
good fish mate top way to start the fishing on the boat
justin
Hi Chris,
I think I heard you on radio, the 1st drop was in the area you are talking about, but we moved further north to a secret spot of his....
I look forward to meeting more of you guys who frequent the Cape, it's good to see a number of AF members all keep in close contact with each other out there.
You know you are 100% right.... and I hope my wife does not see this reply ( it means more money) but in future I plan to buy a much larger esky that can fit straight down the middle, and at least 1.5 mtrs long. Seats out, big esky in.
Just about to fire up the Vax carpet shampoo Dave, it's wet, the fish blood will smell like the tip in another 24 hours.....
Nice post Brian... looked like a fun day out - Glad to see you've updated from the mustang too (Its been a while since I've been on here - long time between drinks in the cold capital)
Glad to see you and Droo getting stuck into a few!!
Adam
Nice session fellas! Smiles say it all. Well Done. Cheers, Darren
Good to see you boys getting on to them in the new rig those kingies are great fun on the placcies certainly work the arms out on the lighter gear ,great report ...matt
A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......
Sounds like a great session!!!! I love kingies!!!!
so jealous!