Thread: Advice on 04 Patrol purchace

Re: Advice on 04 Patrol purchace

Dead right FNQ - I had to tow a guy off the highway ages ago who had blown his brand spankin new patrol. I hooked him up and he was asking me questions when we stopped about it as I accidently made a bad comment "ewww, not another 1" He was pissed as... And again he spoke to nissan and they said "What problem". There has been people asking where to buy the rebuild kits from Spain, South america, all over the globe. WHAT PROBLEM... They deserve to go bust treating people like this.

Another guy on outter bought 1 to do an around aus trip and didnt even have a chance... Spend heaps on it and then bang goes the engine. Put a 6.5 litre chev in it and then ran out of time to do his trip.. Poor guy.

Having said that my mate who is a mechanic and used to own an offroad shop got 1 because it was cheap as. 3 new pistons and rings and new turbo. He has taken drastic precautions and Im just waiting until it goes bang. But only time will tell.

Well said catfish kid... Some people are very lucky!! But I wouldnt be taking the risk...

Yeah Ben by accounts they have got better, not fully as any new car owner would expect as par for the course.
    I used to drive one for work every now and then, smooth power and simply great on the road, Ok of the track with low range too.

Advice on any car model never reflects the owners but it certainly reflects on the manufacturers, if Nissan didn't make the td4.2 I don't think I could own any of their products purely as a result of the way they treated owners.

Then if you DO buy it, the 3.0 litre bit will haunt you. It will never be out of your mind, and every time you stab the throttle you'll be expecting it to crap out. I had one, good car, but I got rid of it with 96K's for $25.5 in 10/2008, because I kept expecting it to blow. It was mint, so I reckon you might buy for less at 147 k's unless there is warranty.

Spend a few extra, get the 4.2, if you can find one. Or better yet buy a Landcruiser!

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

so yes some do go bang but if you look at the dates you will find tthe vast majority are pre 2002 - an occasional later model does have an issue but then so do later model pajeros, landcruiser etc and are the nos the same in the post 2002 vehicles very likely - at the end of the day its a personal choice - i have had 2 patrols and been very happy with them one pre 2002 and one 2004 - just an awsome off road vehicle IMHO and good value for money but thats just my opinion and experience and maybe i have been fortunate - but yes i do agree nissan could have been more proactive to fix the problem early on
    cheers rob

After plenty research, I ended up buying a new 08' Common Rail 3L. I havent heard of any problems & know of plenty mining companies that use them & put plenty of km's on them. I bought the patrol due to value for money & off road ability. I looked at the landcruisers & in particular the prado - but couldnt justify the extra 11k for a marginally smaller vehicle.
    daz.

Patrol50 - The average life span for the 3l is 130 - 150 000k's. So doing the math they are just blowing now. And once again OLD list. I bet my left 1 there are way more newer ones on there now. If you have 1 and are happy with it. Then all is good mate. But 04 and on HAVE been blowing aswell, for absolutely no reason.

But, Please. Take some advice onboard... Im on your side.

1. Get an after market boost controller (the are way better than nissan ones which spiratically let upto 25psi boost pass through)

2. Get a boost and egt (exhaust gas temperature) gauge.

3. Oil catch can and cooler (for the turbo)

4. Turbo timer (or just wait a few minutes before turning it off).

5. And open the exhaust up to release heat.

Once your used to checking the gauges just like any other gauge. You can see when something is not right and back off the throttle or shut it off.

And if you get one of the new models with 17" alloys, get a wheel brace and learn how to use it when driving the bumpy stuff. They're getting quite a rep for spitting wheels???