Thread: Reel Repairs - A Review

Reel Repairs - A Review

I was looking for a repairer, and asked around. I decided to try D&H Reel Repairs, after a gong from Lucky_Phill, who got the name from The Deckie.

I rang Duncan at D&H on Tuesday, and he promised my gear would be ready by Friday, so I could use it on the weekend. I had a Shimano TLD20 2 speed and a Daiwa Saltist 50H needing a service, and a Shimano Torium 30 needing serious help after having the anti reverse bearing smashed by 100+ kilos of shark.

So I picked them up on Friday after lunch. I fished with them on Sunday.

On the reels:
    The Torium; Duncan didn't replace the anti reverse, he did a bit of work to it, and brought it up good as new. I had asked for new drag washers as well, but he felt the quality of the Shimano washers was right up there, so he bead blasted them instead of replacing with Carbontex. He also mucked about with the end plate. This reel is marketed at 7 kg of drag (from memory). After Duncan it pulled 16 Kg of drag! The 5 kilo Kingie I caught on it on Sunday didn't take 1 cm of line off me.

The Saltist; nice and smooth, couldn't really feel that much difference.

The TLD 20II; One word? Magnificent. It is sooooo smooth. Feels like a reel, well, even more expensive!

Cost? $125.

Frankly, I'm impressed. Really, really impressed. The beer he offered me (it was Friday afternoon after all) has nothing to do with my comments, I didn't accept it! I'm on a diet, you see...

I can only say that if you need reel work done, you can't go past this fella.

D&H Reel Repairs, Duncan and Helen, on 07 3372 2740 or 0439 717 839.

Also on the web at "three w's.reelrepairs.com.au"

Tell him you're from Ausfish. He doesn't know us too well yet, but he will...

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Re: Reel Repairs - A Review

Thanks mate.. Shame he's not on the sunshine coast though! I've got a few reels that need some TLC.

He'll do it by mail, too.

tim
    Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Some blokes just know their reels hey ?
    Thanks for the heads up Timiboy.
    So shines a good deed in a weary world
    - William S Shakespeare and William S Wonka_

Ausfish Platinum Member whiteman's Avatar

So easy to do yourself and get Carbontex washers for $30-$40 a reel. These things make a BIG diference to smoothness (just put them in 3 TLDs). I have also fully serviced my Curado and Daiwa Millionaire baitcaster over the past couple of days. Spent no more than 1 hour on each not knowing what I was doing but had access to Alan Tani's web site. I would recommend to all to have a go.

Don't tighten the drag too much or you'll break something eventually - the rod is supposed to do the grunt work.

Thanks for the link Timi.

Avast ye matey!

I dropped 2 TLD's and 2 baitrunners in there last Friday morning..got a message yesterday that reels are ready...cannot ask for better service than that.
    I just have to get over there and collect them now.

Whiteman...I have no intention of servicing reels myself. I don;t wash my cars myself...my little spare time is very precious to me.

Mail you say... well, I might just look at sending off a couple of my reels soon.

Quote Originally Posted by TimiBoy View Post
    Tell him you're from Ausfish. He doesn't know us too well yet, but he will...
    After that recommendation, I reckon he will know us all quite well!
    Cheers and thanks.

"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
    Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
    Fish Well, Fish Egrell

http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au

Quote Originally Posted by Chamelion View Post
    Mail you say... well, I might just look at sending off a couple of my reels soon.
    I'm on the Sunny Coast too and need a cpl of reels serviced.
    Looks like I'll be down in Brisvegas on Tue so will see Duncan then.

Cheers Tim, good info that's for sure.

Herby

geez, if i could only catch something big enuff to destroy something to have it fixed, i would be happy
    ian

Thanks for the heads up Tim, I'm over waiting on Budd's with their constant BS. Will pick up my still broken reel from Budd's and give this bloke a go.