PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Trailers.............a hard decision!!!!!
Well my boat trailer is stuffed!!!!! Been a while coming , but have decided she needs repair or replacement.
Now what...............buy or repair????
I have a 6m plate cuddy with 200hp on the back.
How much does she weigh??????? I have learnt this is crucial in my decision.
Repair
Get onto a bloke to come out and do a quote. Nice bloke and knows what he is doing (I sure as hell do not). The trailer I currently have is heavy duty (other than the rust issue). I am told about 750kg. Solid bloody thing.
Old mate gets back......$7000 (wow!!!! A lot of coin, but seems reasonable for what he has proposed). Full rebuild, all hot dip galvinsied, new guards, lights, springs, etc. End job will be, a bloody solid galvinsied trailer. (cable brakes).
A well meaning mate says........bit bloody expensive, you could buy one cheaper brand new!!!!
Mmmmmmmm
Buy new
Do the ring around.
Redo Duniber, or Swiftco trailer about $5000. Are they any good???
The dilemma
My prefernce is for the rebuild. I might be a bit 'old school' but seems to me the more solid trailer = safety/reliability/durability. I am looking long term. Dont mind paying a bit more for a solid reliable trailer.
This is where weight becomes an issue..........
More solid trailer = more weight = requirement for much more expensive braking system = out of budget = no fishing for a while.
Maybe the less solid trailer will bring her under weigh?? (750kg v 420kg).
Is the lighter trailer as safe/reliable/durable???
S*$t loads to consider when buying a trailer; and for the novice very perplexing.
I know.....heaps of previous threads on trailers.......have read a lot of them and each one raised a knew consideration. Heaps of information and I thank all who have gone before me!!!!
Anyway I will pass her over the scales tomorrow and see if that helps in the decision making process. If anyone is following I will post results.
Ben, I went through a similar thing with my trailer a while ago and decided to go to a trailer mob and have it built the way I wanted. Got 6x2 chassis, duel IRS with hydrolic disk brakes...the whole thing set me back about 10k...super solid and built to last. Total weight came in at 580kg....QT scales. The old trailer (sea link M21) weighed about 420kg. If I were to change 1 thing I would have gone full skid rather than full multi...probably lose a bit of weight too.....mmmm new project..maybe. cheers Trevor
No brainer for mine. Buy the new one. All the trailers you mentioned are good and you can go and see what you are paying for. The other way is the great unknown
Just my opinion.
I have also just been down the "fix it" road, I reckon get a custom one made new, built to suit the boat, full cradle setup, it will be far better in the long run, while all the better brands of "off the shelf" ones are fine and plenty strong enough, they are built to be universal, that means they fit nothing exactly, but everything sort of! a full cradle with skids (no rollers) will make launch and retrieve a cinch, in the strongest winds and side current, maintenance will be low, just suspension/brakes, and I would even look at the difference in price for the stainless and bronze brakes (Baines I think) I rebuilt my trailer, and it took weekends of grinding and cutting and stuffing around, I could have built a complete new one in probably 2 weekends, so time saved would have been worth it alone, I know you are getting someone to do the work, but remember the old addage "time is money"
If you are serious about the longevity of your trailer, look into open form chassis trailers made from channel section or I beams. Lots easier to wash down and you will not have any closed sections that can hide rust forming. You also get a much better hot dip coating on the heaver sections. It would be worth your while to ask the same trailer builders if they offer a open section trailer as well as they are often not promoted as much.
go a belco or one of the the many generic brands and put the other 2grand on something for the missus so then you will get lots of fishing time(browny points),, as the trailer will last you years if you look after it....????
Try & flog your existing trailer for $500(scrap metal yards might give you $$$)
Then buy a new custom job.
Not much maintenance on skids!!!!!!!
There are some cool c-channel ones getting around. pm or search skipalong
Ben,
You may find that your w/bridge cert will force your hand. An extra H/D trailer is all fine but obviously adds to your BMT weight. I have a suspicion that the extra 300kg in your trailer will push you over the 2t ATM and into the break-away breaks category, even though it's an alloy boat.
PS. is it box section? if so you can't see the rust inside! if it's in poor condition on the outside, what is it like on the inside?
Ben, I have just had a FMS trailer built for my new 6.4mtr Plate, as Jim stated they will custom build for your needs. I had mine built with hydraulic breaks on one axle with mounts on 2nd axle, I had mine regd at 2000kg but if I need to I can just add onto my trailer at a later time to regd to 3000kg. This trailer cost me $6000. I know that if you got a production trailer 2000kg it would be slightly cheaper but you would get a heavy duty trailer with FMS with the option to upgrade later if needed. I believe they also restore old trailers.
I have a mate that imports trailers from china ( most are from china, just put togeather here and called aussie made....) and he has some real savings for people. They are just as strong as the well known brands,( they are some of the well known brands rebadged) and have warranty too. Pm me if u want to know more..