Hamilton Island Help

Thread: Hamilton Island Help

Hamilton Island Help

Hi guys , im just after any advice and help that anyone can give me about land based fishing options on hammo? im heading up this tuesday and coming back the next day but i have about an 8 hour gap where i can do some flicking, im taking 2 spin sticks one is 6-12lb and the other is 12-18lb , and the reels are certates loaded with 50lb braid, ive got a selection of shallow runners, suspenders,plastics,topwaters.and vibes,but i know absolutely nothing about the place and i know 8 hours isnt much time but im keen as to give it a go cos i have know idea when the next time might be ......so guys any help would be really great ,regards...jase

Re: Hamilton Island Help

Jase,

You might want to consider a charter. There's a couple of operators dowm at the marina to chose from. A half day trip (approx 5 hrs) will cost you $120 from memory.
    Theyusually take you out wide off Whitsunday Island in search of macks and pelagics or to some of the bombies around the outer islands in search of trout/reefies.

I haven't done a lot of land based fishing on Hamilton Is but have always packed a light spin stick and a couple of lures and had some funand success at the leads/entrance to the marina with GTs and Queenies on samll to medium poppers. Nothing huge, just 1-2kgs in size.

I have always wanted to try 1 spot with heavier gear. It involves a bit of a climb down a steep hill, littered with norfolk pines. It leads you down onto a rock ledge that drops off into very deep water and I saw one of the locals fishing for pelagics with a floater rig there one morning. The spot is off on the RHS as you drive/walk up Melaleuca Drive (where all the mansions are), just before the sharp U-turn.
    If you look on google maps, you'll see a large vacant block of land, brown in colour. That will be the access point down the hill to the rocks. If yo're after bigger fish, I reckon that spot would be worth a shot.

Good luck mate,
    Herby
    p.s. 50lbs is heaps, you could probably get away with 30lb line if you wanted greater casting distance.

Re: Hamilton Island Help

Thanks heaps herby ,.....iv had a suss and its gonna be a 30knt soueaster and a high tide at 4.30 in the morning so what i figured on google was to go east around the headland off catseye bay and it should be pretty calm our flight leaves at 1.30pm so i should be able to get at least 5 hours in , prob an hour each way walking , if i do any good i will post the pics , im actually there because we are doing a corporate gig, we play in a band , and its a free bar all night so its gonna be really hard not to get on it , but i reckon the fishing could be worth me looking like a weirdo to the other boys... thanks mate