Thread: Lost Handheld Epirb Rocky Dam Creek

Lost Handheld Epirb Rocky Dam Creek

Sat 18th July, During the night the tide claimed my boat and some gear has floated out, the most important being a Handheld Epirb 406PLB GME, If found , can be handed in at Barra Bobs Tackle shop in Sarina QLD
    Reel Men Smoke Abu

Re: Lost Handheld Epirb Rocky Dam Creek

OUCH!!!

Much damage to the boat?

Report it missing to AMSA and police so if it is used they are aware you aren't in posession. Especially if it is misused it will protect you from prosecution or costs of a fake rescue.

Hope it gets handed in.

Boat had couple of scratches, motor, sounder batteries under water for 4 hrs, until i had chain to pull it out with my electric trailer winch (mighty winch), Dropped all oils ,plugs out ,heaps of penetrene , lanolin, wiring copped a bit, I give the motor a run in Kinchant dam, only problem, trim switch on hand control sticks a bit and trims up when you are going along, can be disconected, Lost at least $400 tackle box full, lightforce spotlight, recovered my Tropical esky, Big mud crab still in it..Ps I have already informed the amsa, as i had it registered and i have another bolted to the boat, Well we will be trying it in the ocean on Thursday, Off to the Curlew islands for the day...........Col, When i seen the boat in the darkness it near broke my heart, my reef boat in the bottom of a dirty muddy creek
    Reel Men Smoke Abu

Looks/sounds heart breaking.
    How'd it happen, if you don't mind me asking?

Hi Col, really sorry to hear this, hope the repairs r not to costly.

When u say "Claimed by the tide" what exactly does that mean?

Pete.

Damn shame mate, had the same thing happen to my tinnie a few years ago, i anchored the boat on the side of a bank while camping, as the tide went out the boat was beached on a steep angle due to the bank decline, as the tide came back in water flooded over the transom and the back end became to heavy to float, from there water continued to flow in as the tide came up, lost a lot of expensive equiptment, tackle box, sounder etc, the outboard was saved with some work as you mentioned but never quite the same. hard luck mate.

Now i always put out a rear anchor below the low water mark.

I'd be thinking of trading that mtor as 4hrs is a long time underwater or doing it under insurance. Have never seen a motor recover fully and not have issues down the track.

What a bugger and reminds me why the old man used to always anchor nose out with a light stern line apart from stopping ants getting on the boat. Not much freeboard in the old days so it didn't take much to sink by the transom with heavy old motors.

Exactly as Swindells said, Bank steep, tide went out came back in over the transom, could not float itself off, apparantley heaps of people have been caught there, I would sell the motor , but i cant afford another as i am also out of work at present, So it will go until it dies, It went well in the Dam, see how she performs at 5000rpm for an hour in the ocean, All credit to Garmin the sounder was perfectly dry and still working, Mind you my tacho is shot so i will be guessing the revs to some degree♦
    Reel Men Smoke Abu