Thread: Inshore reefs off Sunshine Coast for 4.1m tinny?

Inshore reefs off Sunshine Coast for 4.1m tinny?

Gday everyone.
    I’ve been fishing the estuaries/rivers since I was a kid and whilst I will always love wrestling bream and lizards, I’d really like to mix things up and try something new.
    I’ve got a Brooker Sportsman 410 with a Yamaha 25hp strapped on the back. I realise I’m a bit limited in how far I can go but I would like to get out of the estuaries (e.g. inshore reefs??) to target a few different (and perhaps bigger?) species.
    Can anyone recommend a starting point for me? I’m based in Caloundra so somewhere off the Sunshine Coast would be ideal.
    Any help you can offer me would be very much appreciated!!
    Ando

Re: Inshore reefs off Sunshine Coast for 4.1m tinny?

Andy with weather permitting you have some very good inshore reefs at Caloundra EG: Bray rock just off kings beach the coffee rock reef at the northern tip of Bribie there are also patches of reef off Queens and Dicky Beaches that aren't far off land good sweetlip and snapper at times. search web for aeiral photos and Gps marks. hope this helps cheers

You can cross the Caloundra bar on a good day in your 4.1. As above, there is coffee rock off the Northern tip of Bribie, Bray Rock, the shipping channel beacons, the 5 mile, Raper Shoal - all should be in range for you.

I have taken snapper to 7kg of the NW Fairway beacon plus heaps of mackeral - biggest was a 17kg spaniard just south of the NW Fairway. There is also mack and longtail tuna in close at times. Heaps of options.

Take care crossing the bar and stick to incoming tide and the best weather until you build confidence and your skill at bar crossing. There is alos Mooloolaba with the Gneerings and Murphies within range for you and much safer passage to the ocean.

Mate get yourself a sunmap"they will show you some reef areas on the Sunny coast
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Thanks for the words of advice everyone! I can't stray too far from the coastline as i dont have an EPIRB at this stage. Does anyone know of any decent websites with detailed aerial shots or maps showing the spots mentioned above?

A few people have mentioned the coffee rock reef off the northern tip of Bribie...is anyone able to give me a rough idea of where to begin my search? ie how far off Bribie is it, and in what direction from the northern tip?

It is right opposite the biggest beacon there that is on the beach at Bribie. The reef is only a couple of hundred metres offshore and in super close. There is usually a boat on it so you will find it easy enough. It runs N-S and there is plenty of ground so give boats on it plenty of room.