Thread: Kauri Ck, Log Dump boat ramp?

Kauri Ck, Log Dump boat ramp?

Hey All,
    Can anyone tell me what the boat ramp at the Log Dump grounds on Kauri Creek is like?

Thinking of taking my son for a weekend of camping and fishing in a few weeks and trying to decide where.

We've taken our canoe up to Eurimbula National Park, and to Hedleys on Kauri Creek, on the trusty old Nova, but now we're towing a 4.2 tinnie instead.
    Was thinking of Currigee on South Straddie, but don't know if I want to spend the weekend on the Broadwater.
    Any other campgrounds within about a 2hr drive (+/- boat ride) of BrisVegas, that I don't need a 4wd for?
    Cheers!

Re: Kauri Ck, Log Dump boat ramp?

Hi Mate
    I was there yesterday and launched a 5.5 metre savage no worries, bit rocky but ok, and they have rebuilt the toilet block so all is good, i'm thinking of doing a weekend in a couple of weeks time.

Just remember, from the boat ramp everything to the right of it is green zone.

Hi Mark,
    What do you mean 'it's a bit rocky', other than the obvious?
    Is it just a rough cement ramp?
    I'm towing with a rebadged Toyota Corolla, so it needs to be a suitable ramp.
    Mind you, I haven't had any troubles yet......

The ramp is not concrete, but other then the hand size rocks it is quite good, not slippery and has good water so you don't have to back in too far. Its also not too steep so 2 wheel drive is ok, top spot.

If your interested in company let me know as I am only 45min away and thinking of doing a weekend there in a couple of weeks time anyway. Somerset this weekend and 1770 in september, Hamilton Island in October........Jeeze and i'm trying to save money.

I have launched my 4m boat there with a falcon wagon no problems. If the tide is out, there are a few hand sized rocks, but these are all rounded, so no issues. Nice place and good water way.

Like Mark, I am close, so if you want to catch up, let us know.

OK, so it sounds like the ramp is suitable for me and my boat.
    Next question, what's the camp ground like?

I was a bit disappointed at Hedley's, lot's of rubbish laying about.....

Camp area is ok, nothing there but a toilet so you have to be totally self sufficient.

Toilet is fine. The Hedley's campground a couple of k's down the road doesn't have a toilet.... and I don't need to shower

As long as I can have a camp fire, I'm happy!

Rainbow Waters van park. Beautiful place, great facilities. Thoroughly recommend it. You can have a fire, you can even take the dog if it's leashed. Good fishing and crabbing to be had with the boat ramp in sight of your camp. Powered and unpowered sites.

Damned, the loggers camp is fine for launching you shouldn't have a problem. If you head out towards the mouth oposite the other non-toilet campsite on the left and pump some yabbie at low tide and head back to the sand banks a few hundred metres up from the loggers camp ramp I have seen some seriously big near elbow slapper whiting caught there and in good quantities. During Oct-Nov one of our fishing club guys ussually wins the bag prize just on whitting and some of them are crackers for SEQ.

Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Spent a night moored there escaping bad weather in "05 not a bad little fishing spot for mosey, whiting and lizards, beached the boat on the way out

Mozzies and sandflies are seriously bad there mate, but at this time of year they should be manageable. Campground is good though. Big enough to get away from everyone and good for a fire. Just watch out for george the groper that lives off the end of the ramp. Big fellas about 6 foot now. Cheers.

Here are pics I took on a trip to Log Dump, Kauri Creek on 9 July.
    Hope these pictures give you an indication of what it's like.

Info about Kauri Creek can be found here >>>
    http://www.epa.qld.gov.au/publicatio...ate_Forest.pdf