lowrance LCX 27 c add a broadband ??

Thread: lowrance LCX 27 c add a broadband ??

lowrance LCX 27 c add a broadband ??

hi fellow ausfishers - i have a 2 year old lowrance lcx 27 c colour Sounder / GPS combo which i reckon is pretty good so far and i mainly fish moreton bay and esturies up the coast etc and just rarely the closer inshore reefs a few kms offshore on the real good days ina 4.8 m quintrex coast runner - so i am wondering if the add on broadband upgrade to the lcx 27 c is really worth the time and the money ( not cheap - last price check i got was $700 ) and so interested in what advantage if any does it offer over the standard lcx 27 c - any first hand experience with this upgrade option would be most welcome
    cheers and best
    rob

Re: lowrance LCX 27 c add a broadband ??

hey guys so no one has done this yet and added the broadband upgrade on to an existing lowrance lcx 5 ' or 7' - someone must have done it surely and have a first hand opinion out there - even if its a friend of a mate down the roads first cousin who has one - like lots of the other comments on here at times
    cheers rob

Ausfish Platinum Member honda900's Avatar

Rob,

I was chatting to a Mexican on fishnet, he said he had installed the broadband unit and found it to make a big difference, I dont remember what model unit he had.

The problem is that Lowrance wank $1k for the broadband unit, now you are slightly different from me, but I have a 5" 527cdf unit now, for me it is simply not worth the upgrade cost, a new HDS7 head unit will be about the same type of value.

I am waiting for Lowrance to drop their price broadband signal procesing unit, down to something reasonable, when they do I will get one, If I dont decide to get a HDS unit first..

Grand Marlin, if your listening out there, let me know if you come across one at the right price..

HOnda

gday honda thanks mate for the comments and mate also thanks big time for the gps marks for the greenzones in moreton bay - awesome work - the more i check out the broadband the more the dollars dont really seem to add up for me - from what i can find out the broadband add on appears to make a small difference in the definition on the screen, makes the picture a bit clearer, maybe bit less clutter, bit sharper images etc in shallow water say in 20 - 40 m - 60 m but not that much diffference over the standard lcx 27 so a bit hard for anyone to be really sure - in deeper water it appears the sounder works much better say in 100m - 300 - 500 m and up and so it appears it was designed to work best in deeper water but apparently it also has a small benefit in shallow water - of course i never fish in water deeper than about 40 to 60 m absolute tops- so maybe i will stick with what i now have and save the $900
    cheers and best rob

Ausfish Platinum Member honda900's Avatar

rob,

no probs, mate if they dropped the price to $500-$700 it would be worth it, but not while the price is 75-80% of what it would cost for a new unit.

HOnda.