Thread: Surface fun in the rain

Surface fun in the rain

Went for a fish the other morning knowing full well that it was going to be cold and wet. Got down to the usual haunt and there was not a breath of wind, sweet! So out went the placcie, after the first cast I saw a big bust up not far from me so making the most of the conditions I chucked on a surface stickbait, on my third cast got hammered by a big tailor only a few feet off the bank, it jumped clean outta the air and after about 15secs he spat my lure, aarrrhh. Next cast got hits from a gt but no hookup, after that Nuggs shows up, I inform of the hits ive been getting so he changes lures, for the next half hour we follow the bust ups along the bank, plenty of hits but no hookups. Eventually Nuggs changes to a small popper and he gets smashed and stays connected and lands a healthy gt. Not long after Nuggs has to bail, I refuse to go with him, I hate dounuting! I stayed for another 2 hours, managed heaps of hits but no hookups and soaked to be bone...
    I hate dounuting
    Joe dounut king.

Re: Surface fun in the rain

Nice going anyway Joe. At least your on the water - I can't wait for the wind to stop up this way - I'm on holidays and can't fish . Better luck next time. Cheers, Darren

was this in the maroochy river?

Joeking,

That's what keeps us going back for more. Good luck next time you're out there, hope those hits turn into hookups!

Thanks Tom

At least you had the two hours alone.
    If Nuggs was there he would have been constantly reminding you of the "doh"nut I reckon...
    Cheers and thanks.

"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
    Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
    Fish Well, Fish Egrell

http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au

Quote Originally Posted by LostNearBribie View Post
    At least you had the two hours alone.
    If Nuggs was there he would have been constantly reminding you of the "doh"nut I reckon...
    i dont reckon,we help each other by trying different lures and tacktics to each other to see what is working on th day. if one thing starts to work consistantly we both change to what ever it is thats doing the damage. i recon if i had more time one of us would have cracked a patten.
    joe thay have still been hanging around but its has been so fricken windy and cold, to ruff for surface lures. got 1 good hit yestaday on minnow and a few good fallows this morn and a nother good hit with a little shallow diving bream hb. i think i might have em sussed so il let ya no how i go in the morn
    figjam :wink:

Quote Originally Posted by tailorboi99 View Post
    Joeking,

That's what keeps us going back for more. Good luck next time you're out there, hope those hits turn into hookups!

Thanks Tom
    Your spot on Tom, Ill be going back as soon as the wind dies off.. With vengance!

You braved the wind the last few mornings nuggs? Yeah was thinking a few little hbs might work. The wind is supposed to die down by sunday, if your not doin anything wanna take the scanoe out sunday arvo? Give us a call if your keen.

There's a longstanding tradition with Nugg, if he's catching fish, whoever he's fishing with isn't, and vice versa. I don't think the two of us had many sessions where we both went well....
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill