Thread: Teewah fun 6-7 Jul

Teewah fun 6-7 Jul

Quite a while ago a mate and I had planned some coinciding leave during this week. The idea being to head to Teewah for up to a week if the weather was favourable. Last week I was watching the forecasts intently, dismay setting in as forecast conditions changed for the worse. Sun, Mon and Tues looked alright still so we planned on that…at the last minute my mate had to work Sun….Mon, Tues and possibly Wed it was then.
    Headed up mid morning on Mon, arrived lunch time, set up camp, put together our fishing gear. Breathed it all in, I love Teewah and usually head there 2-4 times each winter for mid week trips, last year I spent all winter overseas with work so it felt like a long time coming. Headed off down the beach, we had camped in front of a gutter easily fished in on the high tide, which was early mornings and late afternoons while we were there. We only bothered to bait fish Mon Arvo.
    The first hour all was quiet, as the beach was quite good to drive on still I was pondering with my mate we might go for a short drive…then his rod bends over and for about 5 seconds he’s grinning ear to ear until he calls it as a ray. Sure enough a few minutes later he beaches a shovelnose about 1m long. As I was watching him pull the hooks out of the shovlenose my rod bends down into the surf and something has got my pilchard and is making its way back out to sea. I’m just palming the Alvey as any attempt to apply pressure proves useless and then all goes limp. Speaking some quite good French I reeled in to re apply bait. My mate catches a bream straight away…at least things are getting better. Then the choppers come on, at first only smaller ones at around 35cm then just before last light some bigger ones came on the chew.
    Right on dark my mate managed to get A LOT of snot weed on his line. As he was pulling it in by hand he was wrapping it around his fingers….just as I was commenting to him how funny it would be if something grabbed his bait it happened….lucky for him it was a flatty that must of followed the pilchard in as no sooner had he felt the pressure the thing was at his feet!
    Got up at Sunrise on Tues, headed back down to the same gutter to throw slugs around. Started right around the peak of the high and straight away the 35cm choppers are on again. Around 45mins past the peak some bigger ones came on and made for a fun morning on light gear. As the tide was still on the way out we went for a drive and found another good looking gutter. Threw some slugs around in here and immediately the 35cm choppers were on. After a short while I gave this up and burleyed up a few worms…these attracted some respectable sized dart. Got bored as the bream I was hoping for weren’t there or couldn’t get to the worms before the dart did. Drove back and I pulled out a whole heap of fish frames out of the esky I’d been saving at home in the freezer. Went and buried them in front of the gutter we planned on fishing. By this time the wind was getting up and the ever-present cloud cover started to look wet….
    Threw some slugs around again on the rising tide but nothing was interested. Swapped to pilchards again and was still quiet. After a while I caught the biggest Dart I had seen in quite a few years. After that the choppers were on again but not constantly like the day before. While I was chasing choppers my mate was throwing a pilchard around in the rising wash where my buried stash of frames was. He nailed about 6 flatties all around 40-45cm doing this. This water was only around 20-30cm deep. Bloody big ray was seen hanging around the general area too. As full darkness hit the wind was too much and rain was threatening. This coupled with a desire to hook in to some home-made scotch saw us leave. Rained during the night and we packed up Wed morning and left. Sorry about the ultra long post but I guess the frustration of not being able to fish up there longer came out on the keyboard!! The 1 pic is from what we kept from the Mon arvo, I couldn’t be arsed getting the camera out again as everyone knows what choppers and flatties look like. We kept quite a few of the larger choppers to eat, some smaller ones for bait later on and 2 of the larger flatties from Tues arv. Had a great time and am already planning another trip there soon…..

Re: Teewah fun 6-7 Jul

nice bag there....WTG (was gonna write bream for lunch, flatty for dinner an tailor for few feeds of fishcakes) oops....
    cheers chris