Thread: Cairns to Cape York August 09

Cairns to Cape York August 09

Hello fellow fishos
    Searching for information and advice from you guys, I am planning a trip in a 4x4 camper from Cairns to Cape York for 10 days in early August.
    Was looking for advice on any areas to fish on the trip.
    I am flying to Cairns so my gear will prob be limited to the following.
    Daiwa emblem pro spooled with 20 and 40lb braid matched with a sensor surf rod, hopefully for spinning of the rocks for trevally, queenies etc.
    Tcurve barra matched with Shimano Calliais with 30lb braid hopefully for barra.
    Will also prob take a spin rod for barra also.
    Taking poppers and slicers for spinning and a assortment of barra lures also
    The mrs putting the pressure on saying that she will cook the vegies as i will be catching fish for dinner.
    Any advice on location, techniches etc would be greatly appreciated.
    Many thanks
    Knuckle

Re: Cairns to Cape York August 09

Knuckle, make sure you go up the OTT, tad slower but a hell of alot better, much more to see, there are many places to stop for a fish, one place is the Wenlock river, when you come across this crossing, back track 1/2 a K, you will see a small track to your right, (if your heading back south again) follow that for about 1/2 a K, this will take you back down the river, great place for a few nights camp, big sandy area with a huge amount of shady trees, every 3rd cast produced a barra untill we got sick of fishing for them, (and you will), no probs towing a trailer there

enjoy your trip

Fish the top or bottom of the tide , even better if it is a neap tide (not much movement in the tide).

HOnda.

Unhappy Re: Cairns to Cape York August 09

Wahoo (Daz)
    Mate thanks heaps that information is awesome, nothing like local knowledge. do you think the barra gear I outlined will be ok? were you throwing plastics or hard bodies, Any Crocs?
    Honda thanks I will check the tides, did not even think of that Cheers.
    Also thinking of getting the northern fishfinder mag/book anyone heard of it?
    Thanks again
    Knuckle

G'day Knuckle, we were throwing around H/B at the time, they will take just about anything you put in front of them, i was useing a calcutter 200 with 30lb, they were only mid size barra, 60 - 90cm, so the gear you are taking is OK, did not see any crocs at the time, always keep in your mind that they are there,

Daz,
    Thanks again for the additional info and Pm. I will do that.
    Any know any good land based spots between Cairns and the Cape to throw lures for Queenies and trevs etc.
    Cheers all,
    Knuckle

Hi mate,

On a good day the Mouth of the Annan River will take some beating. At the moment there are Queenies over 7kgs getting caught on live Mud Herring and also on Lures.

Be careful though, you may bite off more then you chew A mate was catching Queenies and Trevors around 4 kilos when something else hit his Halco Rooster . Something that took 15 minutes to land and weighed approx 20 + kilos with big teeth............. A bloody big Barracuda..................

Seisa Jetty is also a top place to fish. We have hooked monster G.T's and Goldens off there that make a mockery of 20 pound Barra set ups.

As Daz said,
    Unless chasing Sooties and J.P's, I do not fish under 30 pound in the rivers and 50 pound min for any Jetty work.

Good luckand keep us posted how you go.

Nick

Quote Originally Posted by Wahoo View Post
    Knuckle, make sure you go up the OTT, tad slower but a hell of alot better, much more to see, there are many places to stop for a fish, one place is the Wenlock river, when you come across this crossing, back track 1/2 a K, you will see a small track to your right, (if your heading back south again) follow that for about 1/2 a K, this will take you back down the river, great place for a few nights camp, big sandy area with a huge amount of shady trees, every 3rd cast produced a barra untill we got sick of fishing for them, (and you will), no probs towing a trailer there

enjoy your trip

Here i was thinking that was my secret spot . Geez wahoo they must have been on when you were there. I only had 1 hookup and dropped. the arvo I went down there. You are right though mate it is a good spot to spend an evening or 2. And yes I didn't see a croc either but it sure felt Croccy(if there is such a word)If you are not adventurous enough to do the OTT with the trailer on (like me) then you can camp in the middle near the waterfalls and do the north section one day and the south the next. We stayed for free just as you enter the northern section of the telegraph track just before the first creek crossing. There was even a tin leanto we used for shelter. Either way you will have a great time. Its good to hire a boat from Seisa and head down to the mouth of the Jardine. I think the mob is called Cape York Ice and tackle but I may be wrong. We hired their 18ft Cairns customcraft and had a great day out.

HI, fished top twice. strong S.E. trade wind. If you want to catch anything off jetty at sesia you would be well advised to have a small live bait tank with air pump, or you will join the legions of hopefulls fishing dead herrings and catching zero.mouth of the escape river will produce BIG black jew and Macs. enjoy the corrugations. john

Awesome guys thanks heaps,

Nick
    I will load up the big Daiwa Emblems spare spool with 50lb braid might have to buy another rod the senser surf is rated med/hvy 15-30lb dont fancy trying to lift a decent fish up the wharf, hopefully someone will have a gaff or something?? any suggestions on a rod?

The lump,
    I agree "go the blues" but we are getting smashed at the moment!
    That camping spot sounds great cant wait to see it. hope they are firing like Daz says! I am hiring a hilux 4x4 from Cairns (No trailer) could not get my hands on a troopy, do you reckon the hilux will handle the OTT seeing as its the dry season?

Fairpractice,
    Will take my battery operated Air pump and will purchase a small blow up kids pool, might even buy a cast net and crab trap or 2.
    The mrs will Kill me when she see's how much gear I am taking. Hahahaha

Thanks again guys
    Knuckle

You heading in to Weipa at all Knuckle? (off the track to the tip - but on some peoples itinery) If you are only land based there - the mission bridge is always good for some quality fish (have caught more there at times when mates have gone out in boats) - livies caught in a cast net here will help.
    Hire boats are available if you want to get out on the water.

Evan's landing is good at night too.

Most people take a camera to the tip itself - i reckon take the rod in with a back pack of tackle - very very fishy looking spot. There's actually a fair bit of country up around the top where you could potentially get fish off the shore. basically if it looks fishy to you - have a crack - its good remote country and likely to have a few fish swimming past.

the seisia jetty is pretty good - caught an awesome cobia off there when i was up there last- it was just 35 cm - but solid as a rock awesome little fish .

have caught many many good fish off the beach at (old) Mapoon (north of weipa) - but that is probably a fair bit out of your way given your timelimit

moffy

[quote=knuckle;1043108]Awesome guys thanks heaps,

The lump,
    I agree "go the blues" but we are getting smashed at the moment!
    That camping spot sounds great cant wait to see it. hope they are firing like Daz says! I am hiring a hilux 4x4 from Cairns (No trailer) could not get my hands on a troopy, do you reckon the hilux will handle the OTT seeing as its the dry season?

Thats the car I did it in. A stock standard 3.0l non turbo hilux complete with devon slice tyres. Only got stuck once and that was up near Punsand bay in a little sand puddle that was very sticky. Funny thing was I had gone through some pretty deep crossings,Nolan Brook was splashing off the front windscreen, and this little sand puddle got me Didn't I cop some crap over that. the only section we didn't do was gun shot from North to South as it was just a winch job and we didnt have one. If you are leaving from Cairns i highly reccomend going through the Daintree and doing the Bloomfield track then stopping at the LIons Den hotel for the night. Camp down the back of the pub. Its a great place. Awesome trip that I hope to do again next year.

Cheers Jason

unless the hilux is a two wheel drive you will only get sick of pulling others out of bogs take a good snatch strap marked LRV all the best

Moffy,
    Weipa is on the CArds on the way back down but will depend on how we are travelling for time, if i do get there I will give mission bridge a crack and evans landing also. Will def purchase a cast net too. have fun trying to throw it im sure. Hoping for some big muddies too!

The Lump
    Pretty sure the Hilux we are hiring has a snorkel, cant wait for the creek crossings esp since we have the full insurance cover! no need to twist my arm to spend the night in a PUB sounds great.

Ped Cairns,
    Cheers for that pretty sure the car comes with a snatch strap. I have one in my pathfinder down here, thinking of taking that also. Whats the marking LRV?

Cheers for the tips Guys cant wait.

The Mrs was going to get her airfare ticket to cairns as carry on baggage only, her way of thinking is its hot so Bikinis and Sarongs are all she would need. Full fare I said, your bag will be full of fishing gear like mine will be!!

Knuckle

would anyone have Knuckle's mobile number???