The only shock are blokes like you when I get to where I'm going, but to be honest I have done ALL the tracks
REALLY????? on fraser so I'm not sure what you are refering too
But I am not interested in the Western fly infested side of the island, and there is nothing to do north of Ngala for me to do. That may make a difference.
Mate i reckon you would have been lucky to have done 20% of the tracks on fraser
Noticed in that first video is a Forester (non Turbo) making those rocks look easy...
And there is a RAV4 waiting to come back, must have gotten there somehow...
And my toy is '2WD' if I cross it up, just like your '2WD'. Unless you have front and rear airlockers, have fun making turns with the front and rear diff locked.
yep my patrol does have front and rear lockers and i have know idea what you mean about turning, it fairly easy on sand , Ever driven a vehicle with lockers Yoot?
Thanks for the 'scare' tactics, I would have believed you two years ago, but I've been there done that as has my in-laws, and there two sisters who all own Foresters and Outbacks and grew up on Fraser 30 years ago. They still live in the Burnett region and the on;y car they reccomend for Fraser are 2WD VW with bald tyres. Funny that they al chose Subaru as the next best thing. Once I was shown I was a convert.
Mate i had a VW buggy for years they go well on the beach but are very limited on the tracks, beach driving very easy really and could be done with most normal cars if you know what your doing but they have limits just as your vehicle does!
As they taught me, you haven't been anywhere until you've been stuck. Anyway, I'll be there again this coming Monday, don't blink or you'll miss me.
I'm just nat afraid to have a go, which is the point of this thread.
I do have a funny story though, up at Teewah, near the Freshwater Camp ground. I went for a casual run up there late last year. Followed the Outback straight up the camp site exit behind a Pajero. Now the Pajero was dragging its spare tyre in the sand and the outback got about half way up and beached. No biggy, I jumped out and between me and my wife puched it out backwards in about 10seconds (try that in a Patrol). He pulled up to my car and said, "right, just go in straight flat out", so he headed down to the water turned 90 degrees and went OVER the ruts straight in. We did the same, no worries.
The lesson here is, its not the car, its the driver. If you know what you are doing, you can get the best out of you car. And the most important thing, IF YOU FAIL, TRY AGAIN!