Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wa Fishing Licences Are In

Wa Fishing Licences Are In

Hows it going guys

This probably wont apply to most however it has been announced that come Oct all persons fishing from a boat will require to have a licence.
    http://fishwrecked.com/node/23530

WA has charged anglers to fish the fresh for yrs but they have now gone one step further and will be charging an annual fee of $30 for the pleasure.

Just one more thing the Gov charges you on, so far I have been slugged to the hilt when i got here i had to pay $55 to have my HIN verified just to have the boat registered here then i had to pay the rego $110 for the yr plus another $33 to have my boat licence swapped over and i still havent dared to swap the car and trailer rego over yet. Sorry bout the rant

Anyways I just thought Id give you guys a heads up just incase anyone decides to come over for a fish.

From what i have read in the above link and other info on the matter Charter boats are not exempt so if you wish to go out on a charter you will have to get the licence prior and have it checked prior to stepping onboard the vessel.

Where will it end????

Russ
    If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of fishing rods.

$150 annually to fish dermersal western australia

New recreational fishing licences, greater restrictions to protect stocks, boost research

Date: Thursday, 2 July 2009

The State Government has announced significant new rules to protect Western Australia’s most popular recreational fisheries, including new licences and further restrictions.

Fisheries Minister Norman Moore said more restrictions on popular demersal (bottom dwelling) scalefish and some nearshore species as well as changes to the recreational licence system were needed to ensure the sustainability of WA’s fish stocks.

Mr Moore said there was wide recognition in Government and the community that significant parts of WA’s fisheries were at risk of collapse and needed greater protection.

He said revenue raised from the new licensing system would be quarantined in a recreational fishing trust and only spent on matters related to recreational fishing.

“The Government will not reduce its current level of funding for recreational fishing to offset the rise in funding from the new fishing licenses,” the Minister said.

“We want greater protection for our fish stocks. This new management regime is crucial to ensure WA maintains a high quality and sustainable recreational fishery.

“Scientific evidence overwhelmingly indicates that our fisheries are at risk unless immediate action is taken. The commercial sector has already addressed this issue and now it is time for the recreational fishing sector to do its part.”

Mr Moore said that in the past decade, population growth and the greater use of equipment such as global positioning systems and echo sounders had made a huge impact on fish stocks.

He said experts agreed that the Department of Fisheries had to provide more rigorous compliance, greater research and better management measures to help maintain the sustainability of the fisheries.

Independent management and science reviews of West Coast demersal scalefish had led to the State Government’s latest decision.

“The independent reviews that I commissioned on becoming Minister for Fisheries have confirmed departmental advice that stocks of popular demersal species, such as dhufish, pink snapper and baldchin groper, are over-fished,” he said.

“The experts agree that a demersal scalefish catch reduction of at least 50 per cent is required by the recreational fishing sector.

“Management changes to take effect from mid-October this year see the introduction of two new recreational licences.

“From mid-October, people fishing from a boat anywhere in the State (including those fishing from charter boats) will need a $30 licence and people targeting demersal scalefish will need an additional, specific, demersal licence.

“Therefore, anyone fishing for demersal scalefish from a boat in the West Coast bioregion will need both a boat fishing licence and a demersal licence.

“This new West Coast demersal licence will cost $20 for one day, $60 for a fortnight or $150 annually to fish for any of the listed species. (See attached list in frequently asked question sheet or check Department of Fisheries website).

“The current 50 per cent discount on all licences for pensioners and children under 16 will continue to apply.”

The Minister said that a two-month ban on recreational fishing for species on the West Coast bioregion demersal scalefish list would also apply from October 15 to December 15 each year.

“Information obtained from licence holders will help the Department of Fisheries improve its capacity to monitor and manage the fisheries,” he said.

“However, to make it clear, the licences only apply to individuals fishing from boats. People fishing from beaches or jetties and shore-based crab fishers will not need a licence except where existing licences already apply.”

The recreational boat fishing licence will apply State-wide for any form of fishing where a boat is used, including:
    • line fishing (handline, rod, squid jigging)
    • catching crabs
    • spearfishing
    • octopus trapping
    • dip netting for prawns
    • any wading, diving or angling to catch fish, crabs or shellfish, where a boat is used to access the fishing location.
    The new West Coast demersal licence will apply in the West Coast bioregion which extends from Black Point, east of Augusta, to the Zuytdorp Cliffs north of Kalbarri.

Mr Moore said new precautionary measures were also needed to address the way changes to demersal scalefish arrangements would be likely to shift the recreational fishing focus onto nearshore fish species like herring and tailor.

“The new mixed bag limit for lower risk category three fish in the West Coast bioregion will drop from 40 per angler to 30 and for medium risk category two fish from 16 to 12,” he said.

“Increased research is vital in monitoring the sustainability of all species. Revenue raised by the new licences will help fund this research and support more compliance, enforcement and education programs.

“The State Government will continue to apply a fee to each of the following existing licences: rock lobster, abalone, marron, freshwater angling and recreational netting - but the fee will rise to a standard $45 for each type of fishing.

“This will provide consistency in fees between different recreational fishing activities following the removal of the existing ‘umbrella’ licence and provide for improved data collection for the purposes of additional research and management.”

'horror' fishing fees for west aussies...

New fees for recreational fishers in WA

2-July-09 by Rebecca Lawson

Recreational fishers from boats will need to pay for a licence under new rules to protect the state's most popular fishing spots, with the additional funds to be placed in a trust.

Fisheries Minister Norman Moore today unveiled a new licencing system, where funds would only be spent on matters relating to recreational fishing.

The new system follows a review of the state's fish stocks which Mr Moore said were at risk if no action was taken.

"The Government will not reduce its current level of funding for recreational fishing to offset the rise in funding from the new fishing licenses," Mr Moore said.

"We want greater protection for our fish stocks. This new management regime is crucial to ensure WA maintains a high quality and sustainable recreational fishery."

From mid-October, people fishing from a boat will need a $30 licence while fishers targeting demersal (bottom dwelling) scalefish will need an additional, specific licence.

Popular demersal scalefish species include dhufish, pink snapper and baldchin groper.

"This new West Coast demersal licence will cost $20 for one day, $60 for a fortnight or $150 annually to fish for any of the listed species," Mr Moore said.

"The current 50 per cent discount on all licences for pensioners and children under 16 will continue to apply.

The West Coast demersal licence will apply in the West Coast bioregion which extends from Black Point, east of Augusta, to the Zuytdorp Cliffs north of Kalbarri.

There will also be a two-month ban on recreational fishing for species on the West Coast bioregion demersal scalefish list from October 15 to December 15 each year.

Mr Moore said new precautionary measures were also needed to address the way changes to demersal scalefish arrangements would be likely to shift the recreational fishing focus onto nearshore fish species like herring and tailor.

"The new mixed bag limit for lower risk category three fish in the West Coast bioregion will drop from 40 per angler to 30 and for medium risk category two fish from 16 to 12," he said.

Currently, a licence is needed for recreational fishing of rock lobster, abalone, marron, freshwater angling and netting.

Today Mr Moore said the fee for that licence will rise to $45.

Re: 'horror' fishing fees for west aussies...

What Recreational Fishing bodies exist in WA? Why don't we hear anything about them?

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

What pack of ratbags decided to introduce this. For me my missus and my young bloke to go fishing it'l cost me $540 to fish for 10 months of the year, plus all the taxes on fuel fishing gear and the boat/trailer lcences fees.
    GREEDY BASTARDS.
    I hope all their chooks torn int emu's and kick their dunny doors down.

It's not greed it's straight up fundamentalism, attacks of this nature do not even need to be veiled these days it's perfectly acceptable for it to be seen for what it is as the people are now well meek, silenced and kept easily at arms length......no better way to decrease amenity than to use a weapon in this case tax it out of existence..... this new regime against angling will work toward the totalitarian aim of keeping out new players who would have done no harm in a free country from joining the pastime forever (lessening total stakeholder rights/expectations of democratic treatment....... by any definition) and increase attrition rates from those already involved in the pastime in real time, QLD fishery's is still working determinedly through phase one/two of their 15 year plan as we speak, a resounding success so far....given their textbook copy cat of previous WA fishery's behaviour throughout the snapper stock debacle/con job we have very much more now to look forward to...the best predictor of future behaviour is always past behaviour.

Ahhh an anglers lot!, with the semi recent loss of any competent advocacy when the QLD fishing party went south and now back to the future lock, stock and barrel to moderate appeals comprising hat in hand, eyes down shoe shuffling relations to those in power.... the fat lady has already sung.

Anyway with the fog that blocked the sheeples comprehension of what was easily forewarned many years ago slowly clearing with each new unjustifiable attack by covert card carrying zealots in departmental/public positions we seriously do deserve all we will get.

The only good part of that artical is that the funds raised through the fees were to be placed in a " Trust" Hopefully this way anglers will be able to see how there fee will be spent to benifit fishers! As long as this is transparent i have less of an issue with the fees as the long term benifits for the angler should be huge! If the fees were to be placed into consolidated revenue your fishers would recieve no benifit for you expenditure!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

It's only a matter of time before the Trust fund gets emptied by Government. It's easy, and it's a con.

FNQ, I hope I can come up with an encouraging response for you, clearly what has gone before was not successful, because of the political crap that went with it. I really believe Ecofishers Qld will be different.

I don't have any stated role on the Committee, I really haven't the inclination. If I have a role it's to continually bang on about how the Qld bit means QLD, not the SE. Ecofishers Qld wants your support, and for many up North that will mean we have to demonstrate the desire to support you first. That will happen, soon I believe.

The challenge first up is to build membership. To do that we must get ourselves out there. Then money comes in, and we can start taking on the various challenges presented. There is a collective will to do this, and there are similar voices all around us. It's not just one sector getting done over here.

Please join up, it's 10 bucks. The membership form is on another thread. We will repay your faith. NO POLITICIANS HERE!!!

Several points of interest,

It's a Liberal National coalition government in West Aussie isn't it?

A once a year fisho has to fork out $50 for the day to fish the bottom. $150 for a day trip for a family with 2 kids.

Another state falls to an RFL but not by evil green preferenced labor, just so we know who are friends are (we have none)

Wonder which states' recs will be next to be blind sided. It's not like any of them are looking for money is it.

I'm sounding like a broken record so I am not going to say it.

Quote Originally Posted by straddie View Post
    Several points of interest,

It's a Liberal National coalition government in West Aussie isn't it?

A once a year fisho has to fork out $50 for the day to fish the bottom. $150 for a day trip for a family with 2 kids.

Another state falls to an RFL but not by evil green preferenced labor, just so we know who are friends are (we have none)

Wonder which states' recs will be next to be blind sided. It's not like any of them are looking for money is it.

I'm sounding like a broken record so I am not going to say it.
    Spot on Straddie, and exactly why Ecofishers is not running any candidates, anywhere. Only interested in what's good for Rec Angling, don't care which party's in.

"demersal (bottom dwelling) scalefish"

We here in QLD will cop it soon enough, per species licences.. You WA blokes need to get organised and start protesting.

Heres an argument for you... Sharks are in decline, sharks dont have scales, no 150 needed for that.

Short sighted view of the fishery..

HOnda

It stinks and it doesn't even smell fish. It just blatantly is wrong.

The point about it being easy to pass a rule because we accept it is showing how scared we are of the governing bodies of the day.

Surely the Charter industry would feel the brunt of this new fee scheme unless they are appeased with a relaxation or reduction of these fees for paying customers.

I hope that the fishing industry, as a whole, in WA can fend off this cruel fee.

I think the sheer cost of the WA licence is ridiculously high! I am all for paying a reasonable fee for fishing if the money goes back into supporting the rec fishers..... ie the NSW fee structure.....

But $150 per person a year is ridiculous, if that was per boat then that would be slightly better, however not much!
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Serenity!

There used to be what was called an umbrella licence which covered all the various licences for one fee i think it was $81 a year they have now removed that and all different types of fishing have there own individual charges now I personally think its a crock of shit they have just slugged boaties trying to push the passtime out of reach of the average joe if they were serious about the sustainment of the fisheries it would be an across the board licence covering land based fishos aswell.
    If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of fishing rods.

What a load of bollocks.
    Bad luck for the people in WA.
    As stated above, won't be long and it will head our way too.