Thread: GT off the Cape

Re: GT off the Cape

Nice GT mate.
    Great effort on the lighter line.

Troy it looks like the challenge has been put to you by the old man of the sea, the question is can you step up and deleiver, as for the DI trip i will hide some where on liberty
    Cheers Dave

Quote Originally Posted by davecc View Post
    Troy it looks like the challenge has been put to you by the old man of the sea, the question is can you step up and deleiver, as for the DI trip i will hide some where on liberty
    Cheers Dave
    Hey Dave

There's always room for one more!

Nigel
    ------------------

Liberty III

Sometimes I Fish and Think, Sometimes I Just Fish.

Ok, I &^%$#@ well give up.

Went out back to the same spot yesterday into 3.5m swell.

Got another 12 bustoffs from 12 hookups.

That's now a total of 27 bustoffs from 29 hookups.

I've now tried 4 different brands of mono/fluoro at 20lb on 4 different rods/reels, all without success.

Anyone got any advice?

This is starting to p_ss me off!!!
    ------------------

Liberty III

Anchor rope with 600lb leader and a nuclear chook.lol

Cheers Troy

That would be great nigel i would love to come for a run out with you's one day, I'll keep in touch with troy for when there is a spare seat, As for getting those fish to the boat, yer Troys idea is about it
    Cheers Dave

Why are you sticking with 20lb????? and what leader are you running?

Surely its time to up line class to 30 or posssibly 50lb, the number of bites might drop off, but your conversion rate should improve.

Awesome GT!

Me thinks I better make sure I don't fish the Cape with the little stuff I have been doing well with off the Seaway.....

Gimbal belt, tight drag, at least 40lb main line and heaps of advice from as many of you blokes as I can .... The planets are aligning for my 1st Cape assault!

Nice GT!

Quote Originally Posted by Liberty View Post
    Ok, I &^%$#@ well give up.

Went out back to the same spot yesterday into 3.5m swell.

Got another 12 bustoffs from 12 hookups.

That's now a total of 27 bustoffs from 29 hookups.

I've now tried 4 different brands of mono/fluoro at 20lb on 4 different rods/reels, all without success.

Anyone got any advice?

This is starting to p_ss me off!!!
    Hi Nigel,

As much as I like light tackle sportsfishing, there is a time when it simply becomes a waste of time, money & sweat.

I have been done over by XOS GT's using 80 pound braid and 20kgs of Drag on 37 kilo stand up jig gear.

There are some fish that you simply will not stop, but there are also many more that you will if you are using the required tackle.

Who knows what you are hooking? They could be 30kg plus Sambos or A.J's, oversize Kingies or 45kilo G.T's. All of these would still put up an awesome fight with many losses even on 37kilo stand up tackle.

Catching 2 out of 29 fish on light tackle may be rewarding for the few that you land.

If you step the gear up a notch and land 15 out of 30 then you will be a happy chappy.

Do yourself a favour and bring a Stella or Saltiga spooled with 50-80 pound and a decent 24 kilo stick to you next battle.

You know the old saying about bringing a knife to a gun fight???????? By the sounds of the fish your hooking, it is similar to bringing a pen knife to fight a Uzi

Quote Originally Posted by nickstock View Post
    Hi Nigel,

As much as I like light tackle sportsfishing, there is a time when it simply becomes a waste of time, money & sweat.

I have been done over by XOS GT's using 80 pound braid and 20kgs of Drag on 37 kilo stand up jig gear.

There are some fish that you simply will not stop, but there are also many more that you will if you are using the required tackle.

Who knows what you are hooking? They could be 30kg plus Sambos or A.J's, oversize Kingies or 45kilo G.T's. All of these would still put up an awesome fight with many losses even on 37kilo stand up tackle.

Catching 2 out of 29 fish on light tackle may be rewarding for the few that you land.

If you step the gear up a notch and land 15 out of 30 then you will be a happy chappy.

Do yourself a favour and bring a Stella or Saltiga spooled with 50-80 pound and a decent 24 kilo stick to you next battle.

You know the old saying about bringing a knife to a gun fight???????? By the sounds of the fish your hooking, it is similar to bringing a pen knife to fight a Uzi
    Thanks Matt, Scalem and Nickstock.

I mostly use Saltiga reels so its not them ... and I did have a jigging rod rigged with 80lb .... just doesn't seem like a fair fight.

The other reason for 20lb is to give max chance of taking home feed of snapper et al.

I think you're right though. Time to go up to 30 & 40lb.

And thanks for the advice Troy ... I distinctly remember you being as filthy as I was ...

N
    ------------------

Liberty III