Disaster trip /Brissie river

Thread: Disaster trip /Brissie river

Disaster trip /Brissie river

Had an early day today so I thought I'd have a nice little quiet solo session. Every thing at work at fallen into place so it was straight home to hook on the boat and hit the river. 2 bream outfits and my favourite snapper stic on board. I had a plan to fish the front walls but I couldn't resist having a flick at the terminals on the way out at one little fav spot. 1st cast and a touch , Hello We;ll put another cast in that same area and this is where my day went bad. Mental note to myself when casting hold tight to the rod 1, 7ft sic stick pro with a 4000 stradic freshly spooled with new braid GONE . %$#@&^* That is the first time this has happened to me and i was dumb founded . That bloody combo has been a pearler and I've caught mackeral/ tuna/ snapper /threadfin/ Jew etc/ and its sunk to the bottom of the brissie river. Anyway what do you do but get on with it and chase a few fish. Head straight out to the front wall and found heaps of just under squire but also some very nice bream that were happy to smack a plastic or HB. Had a nice little session with that lingering memory haunting me every time it went a bit quiet. I just kept thinking positive . Look at the bream you have this will make a few good pics and what happens the camera doesn't work. Change the batteries , hold my tounge right but it still won't go so this bloody camera is just about to end up in the same place as my rod and reel Released the fish and thought thats my day, the day from hell. Get home taking the trailer off the ute and I can feel this tear in my lower back You have to be joking. Somebody tell me it was just one of those days, PLEASE . Beautiful day tho

Re: Disaster trip /Brissie river

Mate, its hard on you when you lose an outfit that has served you well. I feel your pain A few months ago I took the tip off my poor old Sic Stick 2-4kg . It was not an expensive rod but had nailed hundreds of Snaps, Macs and various Tuna in its 4 years of use.

At least you now get the chance to look for that new secret weapon

Chief mate, thats a horror story allright! did you not try and drag a big treble with a heavy weight and snag it! did you actually have it slip out of your hands or was it a big tug from a fish?? but worst of all is the back strain mate! hate it when that happen's
    hope the next session is much better!

Bretty

Ausfish Platinum Member dogsbody's Avatar

Chief your hard on gear and hard on the body. Got to take it easy mate. You'll have to warm up exercises before you go next time.

Avast ye matey!

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

ya should have done a mike iaconelli, and jumped in after it, i would have, but then again being solo and jumping out is not realy a good idear. i hope ya marked the spot on ya gps so you can try and jig it back up next time ya get back out there mate.
    figjam :wink:

Bad luck mate. You must have run over a busload of chinamen. At least the fish were cooperative. Look after that back. It is bloody hard to cast properly with a crook back.
    Not to get technical...... but according to Chemistry, ALCOHOL IS A SOLUTION

bad luck mate must have been a good fish

WHAT...chief has a bad day ? Unheard of !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Bad luck mate on the rod and reel loss.
    I know a bloke that can fix your back for you...no pain at all just varying levels of discomfort he calls it.

Looking forward to reading all about it in the August Bushn'Beach Chief.......

Sorry if I've mislead a few . It was certainly nothing to do with a fish taking the rod. I just threw the dam thing overboard while casting The whole moment was in slow motion and I could hear that voice in the head saying Hang on something isn't quite right as it disapeared into the water.

And now look, I forgot about Dave. Bloody hell. I can imagine this being brought up for a few years to come

On a serious note , there some good bream hanging on that rock shelf right at the end of the wall at the corner where the tide runs across. I actually had a great time apart from all the mishaps

Hey Chief, unlucky about the rod mate, how deep was it? Maybe you can go back there and try and jag it, maybe not, it is deep and runs hard in most spots. I hurt my back lifting the trailer a few weeks back, had to have 3 days off work, could barely walk the day after i did it.
    I was at Mud today, it was one of those perfect days with very light winds, had the Yammy flat out all the way from Clontarf to Mud and back again, even got a couple of squire for dinner.
    Marty.

Until reading that you lost your rod on the cast, I was going to tell you how I ruined my favourite rod to make you feel better.... Now I'm not so sure

Mine was the first day I took my first boat out solo. loaded it up with the rods on the floor.... with the fuel tank... Got to the ramp and my favourite rod was now in two pieces. Good excuse to upgrade though

And if you're like me, you'll never make that mistake again.....

Hey Chief, when I saw the title of the post I was thinking terrible thoughts, i.e boat crash or something really really bad. I feel for you mate but at least you re in one piece , apart from the sore back! And on the plus side you cuaght some good fish, well done!

Shane

Ausfish Gold Member

chief mate i hate to say it but i think the forehead flick cast may have just been bettered but enough about that, no point rubbing salt into open wounds haha. By the way i bought a copy of bush n beach, great article and thanks for the wrap man, well written.
    Carlos.

g'day chief.

you're a brave man telling it like it is...i reckon you might be hearing about it for a while to come.

i think we've all had bad days,but the good outnumber them.i've dropped a reel in the drink after being too stupid to tighten up the butt,snapped rod tips and rods in half....happens to the best of us.

take it easy with the back mate.you've only got one.

dave