Thread: would like to fish cooks rock/9mile

would like to fish cooks rock/9mile

hi fishos, would like to fish around cooks rock /9mile , sean some footage fishing cooks/9mile i have bean fishing hutchies a few tmes bit of travling dont mind the trailing just dont like the long ride in the formosa550 con hour and ahalf,so looking at long trailing with a short boat ride ,cooks is pretty close iam just wondering what its like to cross the tweed bar or is there some where other than the tweed thats close. trying to get my first desent snapper and would mind hooking into one of thoes arm streaching kings,just wont to know when the best time to cross the tweed bar.remarks would to greateful regards pooge robo
    Last edited by ad heeney; 30-06-2009 at 08:19 AM. Reason: wrong title

Re: would like to fish cooks rock/9mile

Hey mate,

Tweed bar is a breeze to cross and is the closest bar to the Tweed reefs. You may wanna watch how you describe where you are wanting to fish though, Cook Island is a marine reserve and has an exclusion zone for fishing right around it! Strictly diving and snorkelling inside the yellow buoys mate! (Not that that stopped the mugs I saw on sunday morning fishing well inside the zone! - At least til fisheries got onto them hahah!)

Fidos, 5 mile and 9 mile are all great spots and you will be almost sure to go home with a feed. I have crossed the Tweed lately even on a runout tide and it wasnt bad due to the small swells of late. If you are unfamiliar with it though, just make sure you are heading out on the incoming tide and stick to the north wall. The southern wall is where the sandbar forms and can cause nasty breaking waves (particularly during outgoing tide)

Good luck!
    Trav

Quote Originally Posted by Travesso View Post
    Hey mate,

Tweed bar is a breeze to cross and is the closest bar to the Tweed reefs. You may wanna watch how you describe where you are wanting to fish though, Cook Island is a marine reserve and has an exclusion zone for fishing right around it! Strictly diving and snorkelling inside the yellow buoys mate! (Not that that stopped the mugs I saw on sunday morning fishing well inside the zone! - At least til fisheries got onto them hahah!)

Good luck!
    Trav
    Bold statement IMHO............... i reckon its a bitch of a bar..........

to help qualify that statement "Tweed bar is a breeze to cross ", on a really good day it is pretty good, but make sure you understand a good day from a bad day and the inbetween.

HOnda

Mike,

I agree, obviously any bar can be terrible in the wrong conditions. When did you last cross Tweed? I've found the dredging and sand pumping operations have made it quite good over the last 6 months or so. Sure beats the hell out of attempting any of the other locals with their 6 inches of water (kingscliff, currumbin, tallebudgera)! Have you ever tried the Clarence River?? Now that is one SCARY bar to cross on anything other than about 1 minute either side of high tide!!

Trav

have crossed the Tweed bar quite a few times in recent weeks, 5 mins studying the bar before hand and its a breeze.
    Talle bar with all the rain and fresh running out is as deep as I have seen it, crossed it today without trouble.
    Run out tide on both bars can be tricky at times as any bar is

This is Tweed Bar with a little bit of swell on it from the SE & run out tide.
    Still cracks me up everytime I watch it...PML

Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

is that a bottle of bundaberg ginger beer in the bottom left hand corner stubby holder???????????????????