I not gonna comment on that beast, 'cos everyone's already said it!
Horse of a fish. Well done in getting it to the boat....and getting it IN the boat.
I not gonna comment on that beast, 'cos everyone's already said it!
Now that is a fish
Any hints as to the technique
I recently got one 19 kg, I should have rigged it up as a livey and maybe upsized him.
mate that is awsome!! well done! absolute beast..
Thanks for the positive comments. It leaves a smile on our face, and it will for a long time. Spanish mackerel are like spent cartridges when boated and released fish do not survive too well. The fish was filleted and shared around. We have eaten plenty of it already, very nice. Together, the two fillets weighed over 30 kg. The fish's head, frame and insides have been kept for DPI research, as part of their ongoing mackerel studies. This fish took a slow trolled wolf herring on ganged 8/0 hooks, the first one I have rigged up this season. We use several types of baits throughout the year, so I guess it was a lucky catch on that bait at the time. "Right place, right time". I have caught a few 80 odd pound mackerel, but this one makes those even look small. The fish was caught off Curtis Island, another region that I have been filming for many years, as part of a series of fishing and lifestyle DVDs. Mud crabs have by far been the most exciting underwater topic to film on Curtis. They are extraordinary creatures.
The Spanish mackerel DVD will cover techniques, bait rigging, underwater strike footage, spearfishing footage and live action mostly from my 4.4 metre tinny. Common captures manily include fish from 15 to 34kg, with all sizes amongst, including the 44.1kg fish from above.
In the old days, 40-50 kg fish were not uncommon, and some regions along our east and west coastlines still produce 40-50 kg fish each year for lucky anglers. Offshore reef systems like the swain reefs hold their share of massive fish. So, we will respect the fact that our turn came on the weekend just gone.
Johnny Mitchell
G'day John, Your a bit more game than me eating it, still cant get over how huge it is, So how do we go getting a copy of your DVD?
Son of a Bitch! Tucker up Boys! What a fish!
Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.
Ciguatera poisining is a questionable affair considering even 1 kg coral trout have been blamed for making people crook. The last episode I heard of came from a very small maori wrasse (now protected). Eating the big fish did make me think twice, but we have eaten multiples of dozens of 30+ kg spanish with no problems yet. "Touch wood". Plenty of Chinaman fish got eaten in the last 20 yrs by many anglers, and I'd bet $ that plenty got eaten in restaurants and fish 'n' chip shops by those that didn't know what they eating or serving. I'd happily eat the next mac as well. Ciguatera seems pretty rare, considering.
Johnny
Simon T,
I'm hoping you can guide me in December. I'll be on holidays then, who knows what may turn up on our Shoalwater trip. I'm waiting to see you doubled up on a GT on one of your home turned blanks. Cameras rolling.
Johnny
Mate that mackies bloody awesome but what really impresses me is that chair.
THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE
Yea, the lounge chair is the funny part. It fits in the mate's boat, so it goes as part of a joke. they say you can't catch 'em in the lounge room, but you certainly can from the lounge chair. What's fishing, without a bit of a laugh?
JM
johnny,
when are you heading up to shoalwater bay. i generelly do about 3 trips a year down into there from stanage, i was there in march this year and am heading back up in august and possibly december.
Redfisher,
Early December is the date for our mission back to Shoalwater. We are on board the Lady N for a week or more. I 'kinda' gate crashed another charter crew. I snooped and asked questions, and then got an invite. It is a good excuse to take cameras. What do you fish for when you go? I'm planning another exploration trip from Stanage in August, south, to see what things of interest we discover.
Johnny
yeh im heading up early august as thats when shoalwater finally opens up for fishing, i go down in my own boat and tow a 13 foot tinnie, in august we will be mainly be fishing for grunter. when we go in december we will be targeting fingermark and barra. when im up there in august i will prolly head out high peak for a night or 2 weather permiting.
redfisher