Thread: 90 HP Optimax Problem (Brand New)

90 HP Optimax Problem (Brand New)

Hi,
    My neighbour has just purchased a brand new BMT package from a dealer in Ingham .

With a 5 knot forecast for Cooktown today, he asked me to go for a fish with him.

Put the boat in at the ramp, motor fired instantly and run for approx 2 minutes whilst we parked the trailer.

We headed out towards the river mouth at 6 knots and then moved up to approx 12 knots for the next 200 meters out to sea.

The motor started beeping so we put it into nuetral and then it cut out. Motor would not start, beeping four beeps in a row every 2 minutes.

Smartcraft gauges said oil level problem, then oil system level. We checked oil levels, which were fine.

Motor still would not fire.

Long story short, we had to get towed back to the ramp.

Any suggestions on what it could be? The dealer is 8 hours away and closed today.

The local marine mechanic will have a look at it tomorrow.

Not a good start to a brand new boating package that cost 35 grand which has never been in the water.

I am lucky that this did not happen whilst crossing a bar down south.

Nick

Re: 90 HP Optimax Problem (Brand New)

Nick,
    Make sure your neighbour had the correct oil (recommended) in the tank. This has happened to me only once as the right (recommended) oil wasn't used. Apparantly it will clog up a certain component. I'm sorry I can't remember what it was....it was a few moons ago.

When your neighbour bought the boat, did the salesman leave a card? Ring his mobile and ruin his day.

Wags

Whatever the problem is, once it is fixed it should be a beaut motor. I have the 135 and it has been faultless in 350 hours.

It sounds like a plug connection has come apart on a sensor for the reserve oil bottle in the motor maybe.

I believe they will go into limp mode (limited to 2000 rpm) when the main oil bottle is empty but yours sounds like it is past that in the computers diagnostics.

Nick I would advise against looking into this yourselves The motor will require diagnostics from a dealer and if you play with anything it may give them an out. Theres a number or things that could be wrong from oil, overheat fuel mapping etc. If theyd dropped etecs and optimaxs on Afganistan the war there would be over. good luck fullas and they should bloody come good with tank of fuel or send someone up if a 16 hour drive is in order

Wags,
    Thanks for you help mate. The oil that was used was sold to him by the dealer. It was Quicksilver brand??

Angla,
    I hope it all works out sweet for him as it is the very first time that they have used it. This is their first boat and I was telling them how happy that they will be with a new motor . I am sure that it will get sorted, it just left a bad impression on them for their first time in a boat.

Siegfried,
    They have organised for the local mechanic to look at it on wednesday. They will call the dealer that the bought it from first up in the morning as they did not answer today.

I am sure that it will all work out ok in the end. I was pissed as I sold my boat last weekend and sure enough the weather was perfect.

Thanks for the help and I will let you guys know the outcome.

Nick

Quicksilver is the brand I used to use. The other brands are not good for the motor (long term).

I hope it gets sorted for your neighbour.

Ausfish Platinum Member bigjimg's Avatar

Gidday Nick,Thats a shame for your neighbour,just seems the level of professionalism is a thing of the past.More than likely the oil reservior level is way down or empty or the remote oil tank lids are not screwed on tight enough,as those beeps are for oil or water in fuel.Surely there wouldn't be water in fuel in a new boat package .You would of thought a comprehensive water test was carried out prior to delivery,maybe it was,but there must be logical answer to this situation as now there will be a sour taste in old mates mouth.Please let us all know the result.Hope all ends well.I have no complaints on my Opti they're brilliant.Jim
    Haines Signature "FinaLeigh" 580F 135 Optimax
    CH 81 & 72 VHF

ditto on the opti being brilliant i have the 115 which is the same as the 90 if it has low oil it is easy enough to tell the tank is about ten litres under cowl at the front an level is clearly visible through the tank hope it gets sorted should only be a minor issue
    gary

send a pm to captian rednut he know the in's and out of issues like this.

Four beeps, seem to mean low oil or water in the fuel.
    Refer to
    http://www.marineengine.com/discus/m...479/6954.shtml
    http://www.thehulltruth.com/boating-...max-alarm.html

I would be call the dealer first before letting the local mech. have a go, there could be warranty issues if the the local is not a certified Mercury mech.

nick,
    has this problem been sorted out?
    i have bought a lot of motors from this dealer and they have always made sure everything is spot on before handover.
    maybe water in the fuel? this has happened to me in weipa before.
    steve

Quote Originally Posted by pilchardjones View Post
    nick,
    has this problem been sorted out?
    i have bought a lot of motors from this dealer and they have always made sure everything is spot on before handover.
    maybe water in the fuel? this has happened to me in weipa before.
    steve

Hi Steve,

It looks like you are spot on. The dealer on handover siad that the tank was bone dry/ empty . My neighbour picked the boat up and it has been garaged ever since. The morning that we had the dramas, we fueled up both his car and the boat with regular unleaded. The dealer commented that the water possibly came from the servo, but this is highly unlikely as his car had no dramas. (2009 petrol Triton)

After talking to the dealers the agreed to 'Peter Stagg Marine', to look into the problem due to the remote location. The tank was drained and Peter did something to the guages (recommended by the dealer) and the motor fired up on the ear-muffs instantly. The oil warning was apparently false???

On inspection at home in his driveway, there is a small drip of oil coming from a hole on the outboards leg. Any ideas of what it would be. My neighbour forgot to ask the dealer

Nick
    Last edited by nickstock; 02-07-2009 at 03:34 PM. Reason: attached photo of leak

is it unburnt oil or just residue?????
    doesnt it peev you off when you buy new stuff and you get these teething problems??? it does me!!!!!

gday nick,
    the oil is probably ok the opti injects extra oil for the first 20 hrs of operation controlled by the ecu some of this is unburnt and can appear as a leak from there
    regds gary