Thread: Interested in Custom Rod

Interested in Custom Rod

Hi guys,

I am interested in having a custom rod built for me but I don't know where to start. Does anyone know of anyone who could create a rod for me quite cheap? Below are the components I have chosen so far. What other components are needed, sizes etc... Please tell me what your thoughts are.

Blank - Sumurai Premium Blanks; BR101-2C, 1KG
    Reel seat and Grips - Fuji IPS Split Butt Reel Seat Kits; Gold (Suits S001X blank)

Thanks Tom

Re: Interested in Custom Rod

Im not beeing a smart ass here mate, but custom and cheap shouldnt be used in the same sentance. Why dont you give it a go, there would be heaps of people on this site to help you along the way.

Stu

Stu,

Thanks for your reply. When saying 'Cheap' I meant that I don't wish to pay the maker of the rod a lot. The components are going to cost a bit though, looking around $200.00 - $250.00 for this ultra light Bream rod I am after. After all, it is for my birthday so I don't want to ruin the rod during the project.

I might purchase the components and have a bit of a play around and see if I can manage making it myself and keep posting regular pictures of how my work is going.

Has anyone had any experiences with Samurai blanks and Fuji reel seats/grips?

Thanks Tom

The most expensive part of most projects is the labour cost..you want cheap then expect inferior quality. If you want a good job then expect to pay for it.
    I have purchased 3 rods from Stuart and would recommend him to anyone...top rods and great quality.

I have seen the people involved on the rod building weekends and all of them have had problems at some stage of the building process..but with Stu's help they all seem to get there in the end. Building a rod is not as easy as it may appear.

tailorboi99

Someone maybe prepared to build the rod for next to nothing for you, I would on the other hand try it for yourself. With plenty of photos I with many others on this site would be more than happy to help you out, its not that hard with help. What guides have you decided on? I would recommend single footers from size 7 nearest the tip to a 16 as your stripper. As a general rule of thumb you need as many guides as the rod is long, so a 7ft rod will normally need 7 guides and so on. The samurai blanks are good so no need to worry there mate.

Stu

Quote Originally Posted by Stuart View Post
    tailorboi99

Someone maybe prepared to build the rod for next to nothing for you, I would on the other hand try it for yourself. With plenty of photos I with many others on this site would be more than happy to help you out, its not that hard with help. What guides have you decided on? I would recommend single footers from size 7 nearest the tip to a 16 as your stripper. As a general rule of thumb you need as many guides as the rod is long, so a 7ft rod will normally need 7 guides and so on. The samurai blanks are good so no need to worry there mate.

Stu
    Thanks Stuart,

I am going to think about attempting to create it myself. I am unsure on what guides I am going to choose, do you have any ideas? If I do choose to create this rod what tools will I most likely need?

Thanks Tom

I would be looking at the TLVSG guides, size 7 x 3, 8 x 1, 10 x 1, 12 x 1, 16 x 1 and the tip would need to be TLST 7/2.4 or a TFST 7/2.4. These guides are Titanium SIC so the price would be marginally higher than anything else. Stay clear of Recoils as these guides will rob you of casting distance by almost 50%. Tools don’t need to be sophisticated at all, Roz on this site uses her running shoes to roll her rods. A binding lathe would be ideal but a couple of bits of timber cut into V shapes would suffice. As for coating the rod, I would probably get some one to do that for you. If you live in Brisbane I would PM Myles from Bear Claw rods and see if he could coat the rod for you.

Stu

useing the blank and reel seat set-up your thinking of plus guides, (alconite as the minimum quality) youd be looking at close to $300 just for components, alot more if you get SiCs tho, even more with titanium SiCs.

Building a rod can be quite easy, just you need to split the process into steps and take your time while learing and you will get a good product in the end. Plus with the forums like these you can get help every step of the way to help make the task not so scary.

Quote Originally Posted by tailorboi99 View Post
    Hi guys,

I am interested in having a custom rod built for me but I don't know where to start. Does anyone know of anyone who could create a rod for me quite cheap? Below are the components I have chosen so far. What other components are needed, sizes etc... Please tell me what your thoughts are.

Blank - Sumurai Premium Blanks; BR101-2C, 1KG
    Reel seat and Grips - Fuji IPS Split Butt Reel Seat Kits; Gold (Suits S001X blank)

Thanks Tom
    Mate I am located on the northside of brissy
    You are welcome to build it yourself at my place
    I have the lathes and dryers
    I am happy to give you guidance
    PM me if you wish to take me up on my offer.

Ken

i was realy lucky coz my dad made me my custom beach rod when i was 12 so he made the real seat lower for me. custom rods are a real advantage but give it ago if my dad can make one with his s#@t eyes anyone can even i made one once im 14
    cameron

pm me if you are still after some help. am on northside as well

Tom,
    Definetly have a look at what Ant could build you mate, Highly recommended ,
    Has built some reallly nice Rods on the Samurai Blanks

Cheers Josh

i'm just learning i'll do it cheap i can guarantee it will b second rate far from what you need but will take your cash ..i reckon dont ask for cheap as thats what you will get ask for the best price for the workmanship you can afford
    regards mick