Thread: jewies from the gold coast

jewies from the gold coast

has anyone been getting any jewies from the sand pumping jetty?

Re: jewies from the gold coast

I can't answer your question but one thing, this should be posted in the 'Saltwater' section of the forums

Mate, I've been there heaps of times, they have been caught on occassions but you need a lot of patience and a running gaff to bring the buggers up to the jetty boards.

Thanks Peter, will try the saltwater as i should have and see

G'day Kez,

I can't guarantee that jewfish will be caught every time but they are around, usually late at night.

If you like you can call 0412-202-433 or is it (453)?.

That's the number for the shop on the sand pumping jetty they sometimes have a better idea what's been caught if it's written down in their logbooks.

Hope this helps you.

g'day
    was down there yesterday mornin they where gettin travelly,good bream,monster whiting,a few yellowtail kingfish allthough 1 caught while i was therewas bout 45-50cm and kept legal size is 60cm now...was an asian bloke told him it was undersized and got the usual response dont speek english....i didnt fish while i was there just went for a walk with the youngfella.... told the kiosk about the undersized fish they tried to call the fisheries but they didnt answer on the 3 numbers the had...fisheries got 3 ppl there thursday nite apparently for undersized fish
    cheers rosco

I wonder how big an effort it would be to put together a basic page showing a pic of the most common fish caught from the SP jetty;

...then find out what are the main languages these people speak (since they seem to insist its not English)

...then have the page translated so it shows

...description of the fish/name/bag limit/LEGAL SIZE/and FINES involved.

It wouldn't be rocket science and would only need to be something on A4.
    The SP shop could have them on display & bung a few on some pilons. Just an idea.

The culprits would most likely ignore it anyway and say they can't read - no matter what language it is (I wonder if they understand body language - ie two fingers).
    "...a voice in my head keeps telling me to go fishing..."

Yep. But the buggers have cars so they must have a driver's licence.

I think maybe the fisheries officers turn a blind eye to asians and target the rest of us (someone told me this happened to them when they went straight past asians having undersized fish)..first hand knowledge with eye witness etc.

thanks

thanks for the phone number will try them for some info-re the Fisheries guys i know for a fact they will target anyone with undersize fish it their is a bust involved. they have a crappy job with little thanks from most of us.

Quote Originally Posted by bondy99 View Post
    G'day Kez,

I can't guarantee that jewfish will be caught every time but they are around, usually late at night.

If you like you can call 0412-202-433 or is it (453)?.

That's the number for the shop on the sand pumping jetty they sometimes have a better idea what's been caught if it's written down in their logbooks.

Hope this helps you.

The number is 0412 202 453