Thread: Is it worth registering the boat in QLD?

Re: Is it worth registering the boat in QLD?

Quote Originally Posted by bundylundy View Post
    Sorry but I do not share your thoughts. If you can't afford the $81 to register it, sell your boat use the money to pay for a charter. Rego does pay for boat ramp maintenance even if it seems not. My thoughts anyway.

Jeff.
    My thoughts are like your's matey...except for the boat ramp bits. You'll find most are maintained by the local councils with no contribution from the State.
    This was a hypothetical question.
    I'll pay as long as I put the boats in the water but the question on whether or not to pay must be on the minds of a lot of people (especially those with motors less then 10hp) who once did the right thing BUT have had a gutfull of been screwed by the government...especially seeing it's rare to get court. So far there's been mention of 1 fine.
    Hell, they cannot even police the lack of navigation lights at night let alone check every boat for rego.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

A cunnin old bastard up the river one day went flyin past us with a 5 hp motor on a tinny at probably 15-18 kts and when i asked him what the go was he said he pulled the number 1 of the 15 because 5hp didnt need to be registed down here. You would maybe get away with it unless something went wrong or you were unlucky enough to cop a diligent waterways bloke. 80 od bucks is a lot for a rarely used tinny especially if it its a second boat
    Last edited by siegfried; 25-06-2009 at 10:42 AM. Reason: cant spell

I can't believe you're whinging about paying $80/annum to register your boat so you can go fishing. The trouble is your so used to everything having been very cheap (or free) in Qld for so long, when costs are increased to a more realistic level you thinks it's unfair.

At least you haven't been burdened with the requirement for a fishing licence in Qld (other than in stocked impoundments), whereas in NSW we are taxed for the privilege of wetting a line anywhere.

The bottom line is it's still a relatively cheap recreation to go fishing from a boat, and to get your moneys worth you need to go as often as you can

bassfan

Quote Originally Posted by bassfan View Post
    I can't believe you're whinging about paying $80/annum to register your boat so you can go fishing. The trouble is your so used to everything having been very cheap (or free) in Qld for so long, when costs are increased to a more realistic level you thinks it's unfair.

At least you haven't been burdened with the requirement for a fishing licence in Qld (other than in stocked impoundments), whereas in NSW we are taxed for the privilege of wetting a line anywhere.

The bottom line is it's still a relatively cheap recreation to go fishing from a boat, and to get your moneys worth you need to go as often as you can

bassfan
    Who's whining??
    I said this was all hypothetical.
    Well in NSW rego is worked out on length. and in QLD it's just a figure.
    It's $46 for up to 3metre boat and for every 1/2 metre over that it's an extra $8.50.
    Now my little 3.75m tinny would be $63 and the Bertie is $161.30 in QLD and in NSW it would be $80 so less then 1/2 QLD fees.
    No if you own a 10m boat in QLD it's $393.85 for a years rego and in NSW it would be 46+(14X$8.50)=$165 which equates to near 2 1/2 times more expensive in QLD to register a boat of that size.
    Well bugger me I'd rather pay a $50 per year fishing license and pay the NSW rego I reckon.
    I have 3 boat rego's to pay.
    In QLD they cost me $324.30 to register for 12 months.
    In NSW they would cost me all up...$206
    In NSW it would cost me the same amount of money to register a 5m Bertram as it costs me to register a 2.5 m boat with a 5hp motor on the bum in QLD.
    So who's cheaper and who's unrealistic?
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    I have 3 boat rego's to pay.

Wish I could afford 3 boats I had to get registered.....

Might have a bit of work coming up Timi - throw us a p.m. with some rates please mate - combo and just 3t if you've got one. Do you dry hire to ausfishers????

Had a chuckle at a mate who has a 50' Riv. Was having a bit of a whinge about the rego fees going up...he now has to pay about $680 a year. Same bloke pours about $2mill a year into his racing boats for fun.....some people need to put things into perspective.

Petition on rego fees this one is for car rego

http://www.parliament.qld.gov.au/vie...px?PetNum=1211

Does this givt deserve any more of your money?

I'm not happy about it either. But we can scream all we like, we can take our boats to George St and set fire to them, we can jump and down and do what we like. But the fact is, she has no opposition, and until she does we can expect the shafting to get thicker by the inch. In my opinion, the Governor should be able to step in when an incumbent leader lies and deceives the electorate. And of course that's not happening either. We get what we ask for, and Qld asked for the lying b!!ch.
    Pay the bloody rego, or cop the fine, and all of the ramifications that go with an accident if you're not registered. It stinks, it sucks, but what the hell can we do.
    If I could do one single thing to influence state politics in Qld, it would be to have "Can Do" Newman as leader of the Qld Libs. Then, in my opinion only, might we see some realistic law based on engineering and commonsense as opposed to the sh!t faced cowards who presently preside behind deliberate misleading of the electorate. As I said, my opinion only. And if you're reading this Bligh or Fraser, smirk while you can. Hopefully, when enough Qld's wake up, you'll get a taste of what it's like to be in the Centrelink queue.

Some may well in deed say pay the rego or cop a fine ( those have gone up too).......BUT there may be an alternative if you have a small boat.........fit a smaller motor.......under 4 HP no rego required .

Now I wonder how many motors get.... um......"tuned".

Hmmm... i recon I can shoe horn a 6Hp head in the 4Hp cowling

OH........ we do actulally have a fishing licence fee in QLD. it is paid with every boat regestration.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.