Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Interesting return of serve...to etec

Re: Interesting return of serve...to etec

yeah and a yammie is one third cheaper same old story

Quote Originally Posted by dfox View Post
    Stinky, im not after a fight but you say your glad you got rid of the 60 yammy in this post, yet you started another thread saying youve had drama's with the 90etec and maybe you should have kept the yammy?
    How can you bag and engine that never failed yet praise the current one that has.
    Im just surprised by your comments...
    i did have a few niggles with my other motor an yes this one has had its hiccup, an after all is said an done like most say a motor is just a motor...lololol
    i would own anything as long as it gets me there an back ...as for the oil i have used two and a half containers an done 139 hours ?????
    no probs dfox hav a good w/end

Quote Originally Posted by stinky-stabi View Post
    4.65 alloy pressed hull weighing 225kgs tiller steer all up it was pretty heavy on the arse end with all the weight of that 4 banger...lolololol
    The weight of the 4 banger hey? Stinky just to bring you up to date mate the Yami 60 4 stroke weighs in at 110 kg and a 60 e-tec weighs in at 109 kg so all were talking about is 1 kg I really dont think that that is going to effect your performace all that much! What will effect your performance is that the e-tec displacement is 863cc with 2 cylinders and the Yami 60 4-strokes displacement is 996cc with 4 cylinders! Now if you had compared the Yami f60 and the e-tec 60 on the same boat i think you would have gone with the yami for ocean use, the extra 1kg would have been forgotten in a real test as it's talk on the ocean would be far superior!! Like the 150 yami the f60 yami is a gem of an engine!!

Ps i very much doubt that a 90 e-tec would use much less fuel than a 60 hp yami ! And as i have sais before i like the 90 e-tec but you have to be faired dinkum about your comparison!

ian
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Yamaha picked their mark well with the 150 hp range - the etec is a 4cyl towards the upper limit of it's performance for capacity against 3 lazy 6's.

I'd be taking the new 150 honda personally.

Oh and etec's have just had(having) a price rise which brings it very close in price to the top markers now in the 150 hp range (within $1300 fitted, propped and with instruments for a fair comparison against the Honda)

Quote Originally Posted by GBC View Post
    Yamaha picked their mark well with the 150 hp range - the etec is a 4cyl towards the upper limit of it's performance for capacity against 3 lazy 6's.

I'd be taking the new 150 honda personally.

Oh and etec's have just had(having) a price rise which brings it very close in price to the top markers now in the 150 hp range (within $1300 fitted, propped and with instruments for a fair comparison against the Honda)

Exactly... you just cant take these things seriously. They are carefully put together to mislead by comparing apples with oranges and then selecting "facts" to fit the objective....by both BRP and Yammy and by most others too I guess..?

I think one of the most offensive ads I have ever seen is the ETEC one where two smug braindeads watch a Yammy driver destroy a dock through incompetence after struggling to reverse into the water....the message is "idiots buy Yamaha"... my next motor will be much more influenced by the good advice from Ausfish members rather than garbage like that....yeah..I know.....it's "just an ad"....

I always maintain preference should be based on personal experience and sound advice from forums such as this.

My last boat was an old pressed tin 16' cuddy with a 70 Yam 2 stroke. The engine was very reliable and at the time I thought fairly economical to run. I now have a 16' Webster with a 90 Etec. The engine is much quieter, cleaner and uses a little more than half the fuel the 70 Yam used and about a quarter of the oil.

I also used to own a 2 stroke 90 Yam on a 525 Stacer CC. My 90 Etec uses less than half the fuel that motor did but at the time I was more than happy with my 90 Yam.

At this point in time I am very happy with my 90 Etec.

The marketing bods can take their crap elsewhere for mine. Heaven forbid I EVER made a buying decision on what any of them had to say!!

Quote Originally Posted by Catweb View Post
    I always maintain preference should be based on personal experience and sound advice from forums such as this.

My last boat was an old pressed tin 16' cuddy with a 70 Yam 2 stroke. The engine was very reliable and at the time I thought fairly economical to run. I now have a 16' Webster with a 90 Etec. The engine is much quieter, cleaner and uses a little more than half the fuel the 70 Yam used and about a quarter of the oil.

I also used to own a 2 stroke 90 Yam on a 525 Stacer CC. My 90 Etec uses less than half the fuel that motor did but at the time I was more than happy with my 90 Yam.

At this point in time I am very happy with my 90 Etec.

The marketing bods can take their crap elsewhere for mine. Heaven forbid I EVER made a buying decision on what any of them had to say!!
    Agree.... I have had really good Yammies including an early 150 which would have pulled out stumps, and a 90 2 Stroke which always had some sort of fuel supply problem and would suddenly stop dead when run at WOT for 10-15 minutes for no reason anyone could ever find..?.. have had an old V4 Johnno also which was old when I got it, worked perfectly for about 4 years and was still roaring along when I sold it....so I figure there is some luck in outboards as well.

After recently purchasing a new 90hp carbied 2 stroke my only advice to anyone in the market for new outboard is to talk to the people who work on them for a living, not those sell them for a living.

Dave - I assume mate that you are talking about reliability of so called "old tech" versus "new tech" - if you are I couldnt agree more. If you are talking about using the boat once every week or every month and not going hundreds of ks a week then I reckon the only thing that makes sense is a carbed 2 stroke...that is of course if you dont mind some smoke (which I dont) and perhaps some extra noise (which I dont). One thing for sure...I would always be bloody worried owning a modern motor well out of warranty...but its a personal thing, if you are willing to put up with much higher costs out of warranty (no one can seriously argue against this - if you go to the 10-20 year mark there will be a host of sensors and injectors to take into account over a carbed motor) then you will buy the modern tech motor regardless.

Just yesterday I bought a 93 yam 90 hp off ebay, a very impulsive buy, but got it for $ 2200, and thought Hmmm, wonder what I got? , I didn't even go to see if it ran, but met up with the guy and he seemed genuine, the thing was all boxed so I didn't open it till today, clean oil came out of the gearbox, pulled the plugs and they had been firing Perfect , will do comp test tomarow, pulled the thermastat out and all was pretty good , just gave it all a good clean.

but like you said Ozscott, I;ll prob get it out 1 or 2 x a month and smell , noise doesn't worry me at all, but far out !! I don't even have a boat to put it on

"Yamaha picked their mark well with the 150 hp range - the etec is a 4cyl towards the upper limit of it's performance for capacity against 3 lazy 6's."

I believe that the 150 ETEC is a V6 displacing 158 cu inch, the 150 Yamaha 4 Stroke is a 4cyl displacing 163 cu inch.

....... why is there always a need to bag the etec (more than any other brand) on this forum ........ ?

Splash

I think that the "need" to bag Etec is more because if its one thing that Australian's can smell a mile off and dont like its BS....and even worse than that its Yank BS! The ETEC could be the best motor in the world but if the marketing insults our intelligence we tend to rail against it...and unfortunately that also rails against the motor. We also dont like the too good to be true advertising whatever it is. I think thats all it is mate but thats just my gut feeling. BTW I didnt post up the site address to flame Etec...far from it because I like most of what I hear about them - I did it because it was interesting and of interest to boaters.

Quote Originally Posted by ozscott View Post
    I think that the "need" to bag Etec is more because if its one thing that Australian's can smell a mile off and dont like its BS....and even worse than that its Yank BS! The ETEC could be the best motor in the world but if the marketing insults our intelligence we tend to rail against it...and unfortunately that also rails against the motor. We also dont like the too good to be true advertising whatever it is. I think thats all it is mate but thats just my gut feeling. BTW I didnt post up the site address to flame Etec...far from it because I like most of what I hear about them - I did it because it was interesting and of interest to boaters.

Your correct, we never had other modern 2strokes like opti,hpdi or tohatsu making outrages claims and insulting advertisments like the marketing group of brp .

so im assuming its all because of this add etec done?

560c Bar Crusher "Overtime"