Thread: Hardening Up Me Pillies

Hardening Up Me Pillies

hey guys just wondering if there is a way to harden up wa pilchards once they have defrosted, i know its probably better just to keep them frozen but lately i have had a few fishing sessions where i have tried too keep them good but they have just turned soft on me, And then after giving them a good hit trying to get them out into the surf you just feel like they have been destroyed and your standing there waiting for nothing thanks jethro

Re: Hardening Up Me Pillies

The only way i know of doing that is to salt them up....maybe let defrost till you can pull them apart sprinkle rock salt over them, then refreeze.

Definetly salt mate. it works a treat. defrost your pillys soon as you get them cover them in plenty of salt and they are better all round.last longer and harden up as well. they will also last for easily a week out of the fridge.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

I defrost, quickly remove excess liquid with paper towel, salt generously with cooking salt[pool salt at Bunnings is 5 times as cheap] and place in fridge. I can usually reuse at least 4-5 times !!

Make sure you get good quality pillies first...There have been some crap pillies around for a while now...rusco

Quote Originally Posted by apconcen View Post
    I defrost, quickly remove excess liquid with paper towel, salt generously with cooking salt[pool salt at Bunnings is 5 times as cheap] and place in fridge. I can usually reuse at least 4-5 times !!

Pool Salt!!!

Did you actually used it on pillies or just recommendation?

Thanks, Peter

no actually havnt tried it yet but an experienced fisho I know who works with pools everyday says its just as good for cheaper. the $1/week for cooking salt at woolies is cheap enough for me

There is a product called " flossey salt ".

This would be the " industry " recommended salt to use.

I use it.

As suggested above, make sure you have good quality pillies to start with.

Remember......... with all things.... cheaper may not be better.

I've used pool salt and had no issues. You can afford to really smother them in it too.

Butchers salt works great 20kg bag for around 16 bucks from any butchery supplier

dont the fish find it weird that they're all hard?

Anyway, how do i differentiate between good and bad pillies?

Good: Bigger, better silver colour with firm flesh

Ashamed to say that last time we got them from a servo... didnt seem too bad i guess

Used to buy pillies from bait shop old mate had them in a garbage bin in a brine used to last for couple weeks tried it myself worked a treat.
    Now I put 2kg rock salt in 10 litre bucket with sealable lid 2kg IQF Pillies frozen as they thaw they make thier own brine works pretty well.

DAVE

How long did you soak them for Dave and do you refreeze them in snaplocks cheers Adam

Quote Originally Posted by fadd View Post
    How long did you soak them for Dave and do you refreeze them in snaplocks cheers Adam

I JUST LEAVE THEM IN THE BOAT TILL IVE USED THEM BUT CANT SEE WHY CAN FREEZE THEM DONT SMELL IF YOU GOT ENOUGH SALT
    SALT PRESERVED EVERYTHING B4 REFRIGERATION COUPLE OF HOURS IS GENERALLY ENOUGH TO TOUGHEN THEM UP

DAVE

I'll be doing some heavy salting in the next day or two.

Two blocks of pillies and 1kg IQF will do me with a few kg of salt.