Thread: The pin last Sunday

The pin last Sunday

Hit the boat ramp at Jacobs well on Sunday morning at 5.45am. I took a Mate with me that had never fished plastics before so was going to be fun giving him a quick lesson and seeing how he goes.... We headed out to the pin and my Mate picked up his first flattie on plastics so he was happy, we tried a few spots for a few more small flatties around 45cm's, we found the fish where holding in deep water so jigged the bottom for a few more fish. We headed for home around 11am and on the way decided to stop at spot X that on its day really fires and today was one of those days as we picked up another 3 flatties all around 60cm's, my Mate was on cloud 9 as he pulled in one of those fish, so not to bad a morning with 10 flatties landed and couple of bream.

Haven't read many reports on the Pin lately but curious if anyone is doing any good at the Pin at the moment?

Re: The pin last Sunday

Gday Scott,

I was down there two Saturdays ago, I picked a 62cm flattie and a mate who was anchored about 50 meters from me caught one that would have gone within a few cms of 70cm.

Both caught on frozen servo prawns which was a surprise, we usually get nice fresh prawns from the bait shop at the Jacobs Well ramp, but it was not open at 2am when we got on the water.

Have had a fair bit of success around the pin as far as flatties are concerned, usually catch more than that Saturday, but usually not quite as big.

Cheers Quinny

Howdy Quinny,

The good old prawn still catches fish, i only fish lures but when my old Man comes out with me he always brings a bad of smelly prawns and does surprisingly well on them.

I reckon this is going to be a good flattie season, i have caught quite a few already this season nothing bigger than 65cm but still its only early, your mate did well with a 70! I was surprised the fish where holding so deep on the weekend.

Thanks for the report mate. Been thinking bout heading down for a look. Is the water clean or still a bit dirty?

I took a mate and his wife + 2 kids on Saturday, they have never fished the area where the wife has only ever fished once in her life.

We all caught fish on prawns from the Gem servo, anchoring on Crusoe NE tip. The sounder showed huge schools of fish unde us, and prawns lasted only seconds B4 being nibled off. The kids had a ball. Brooklyn, the grade 1 little delight took an interest in the toggle she found dangling on my new inflatable PDF life jacket. POOF! Hey that was fun! The new CO2 gas canistar cost me $30.00 to recharge it.!!!

Other than that I took them down to slipping sands for lunch, and tossed some baits and plastics into the drink from the land, and caught some small whiting. And I caught a 32cm bream on a 3" sardine Gulp.

The Pin is still a good option for a mate who gets seasick easily, where you normally find me chasing Snapper around Mud.

I'm heading down in 2 weekends time to chase the lizards and a few tailor inside the bar.

Will let you know if i catch to many!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Creek Vermin View Post
    Thanks for the report mate. Been thinking bout heading down for a look. Is the water clean or still a bit dirty?
    On the run out tide the water was still a bit dirty but it is clearing

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem View Post
    I took a mate and his wife + 2 kids on Saturday, they have never fished the area where the wife has only ever fished once in her life.

We all caught fish on prawns from the Gem servo, anchoring on Crusoe NE tip. The sounder showed huge schools of fish unde us, and prawns lasted only seconds B4 being nibled off. The kids had a ball. Brooklyn, the grade 1 little delight took an interest in the toggle she found dangling on my new inflatable PDF life jacket. POOF! Hey that was fun! The new CO2 gas canistar cost me $30.00 to recharge it.!!!

Other than that I took them down to slipping sands for lunch, and tossed some baits and plastics into the drink from the land, and caught some small whiting. And I caught a 32cm bream on a 3" sardine Gulp.

The Pin is still a good option for a mate who gets seasick easily, where you normally find me chasing Snapper around Mud.

Thats great that the kids got got some fish, i went through there on Sunday and the sounder still showed a lot of fish in that spot. Bummer about the canistar, but would have been funny to see the look on hers and your face when it went off

My preferred bait of choice is frozen servo prawns... for flatties and bream at least... well they will eat anything really

i fished the pin pretty hard over the recent long weekend and found heaps of legal bream at the timbers along north straddie, also school flathead at kalinga on the drift and a few choppers at curose...water is starting to come good, just a little dirty still on the last 2 hrs of the run out.

Quote Originally Posted by luckystrike View Post
    Bummer about the canistar, but would have been funny to see the look on hers and your face when it went off
    It happened at the ramp when I was off getting the car and trailer to pull the boat out. Little missy was still in the boat. Her Mum had the look of horror on her face when I had reversed the trailer down. The "it's time to confess what my little flower has done to your life jacket" kinda look

The corner on Crusoe is wall to wall fish sometimes isn't it, but we had nearly run out of bait on the little tackers by the time some keepers came into the boat. 5 in all which was a feed anyhow.

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem View Post
    It happened at the ramp when I was off getting the car and trailer to pull the boat out. Little missy was still in the boat. Her Mum had the look of horror on her face when I had reversed the trailer down. The "it's time to confess what my little flower has done to your life jacket" kinda look

The corner on Crusoe is wall to wall fish sometimes isn't it, but we had nearly run out of bait on the little tackers by the time some keepers came into the boat. 5 in all which was a feed anyhow.

yeah Mate I have seen that look before on my 4 year old face!!!

some days there is a lot of fish holding in that area, if i ever bait fish (not often though) it is a bit of fun fishing that area.

Well done luckstrike thanks for the report. How busy was the ramp and how full the carpark at that time of the morning.. Thanks Shane

I am going on the 4th of next month so i hope the fish stay around. Cheers

Quote Originally Posted by lifestyle View Post
    Well done luckstrike thanks for the report. How busy was the ramp and how full the carpark at that time of the morning.. Thanks Shane
    the ramp wasn't to bad when i arrived but by the time i got in the water and we got underway there was quite a lot of boats turning up but not like it is during Summer and one thing i love about the cold weather is the Jetski guys sleep in and in fact didn't see one out there all morning.