Thread: big reds

Re: big reds

Craig Tompkinson in his reports in Bush and Beach Magazine and at his talks at the Boat Show uses various size dozer track pins to beat the current off Fraser. Don't discount them. He would have tangled with more big Reds than nearly anyone around. I have some D6 ones and D6 ones cut in half with chain link welded to one end to attach line to.
    Last edited by Smithy; 15-06-2009 at 11:33 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by finding_time View Post
    i'm there to fill the esky reds = food!
    thats damn right, get em up and get em in

80lb braid, 100lb mono 15 - 24kg rod and Stella 20000

Thanks for everybodys help ,bought myself some 100lb braid linked with about 10or15 meters of mono also 100lb .Stay tuned for the results,cant wait.Paul.

Ian,

Having seen you fish for reds. Your deck winch ability is drop it down and wander to the other side of the boat to fish with a rod - wander back 5 mins later and wind in the winch.

I haven't got a degree in rocket science but I'd rate it a similar league

Plus you took all my good eating fish to cut up for bait

Well Buggy all you could catch was BAIT ( Hussar) so someone( ME) had to work double time to put the reds in the box!!!!
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

I know the feeling my mate was filleting 3-4kg grassies for bait when the box was looking pretty empty the other week!! Plenty of Hussar around Buggy if you look on the underside of a Hussar it actually reads BAIT

filleting 3-4kg grasseys for bait with an empty box? what were you trying to catch. Unless you are refering to a different grassy to me seams a waist of a good fish.

low streatch 120 lb nylon on 10 inch alvey deck winches

3-4kg grassy could equall alot more fish in the box if there is no other bait avail. Can't beat big fresh strip baits if you ask me.

For school reds i use 10-15kg rod with diawa saltist 40LW with 60lb braid 100lb leader (managed a couple 10kg fish comfortably)

For the bigger fish i now use a 37kg rod and Saragosa 14000 60lb braid 100lb leader. Haven't found reds to the 18kg size as what get's caught off fraser yet, but have managed a few 12-13kg models with ease.

Personally I would much prefer to be using braid in the deeper water. You can feel alot more as there is less stretch, there is alot less bowing in the water from strong currents (braid is a much thinner diameter) and therefore not need to drop down as much lead.

I hae little experience on the red emperor front, however me and dad are keen to do some hunting out from the wide bay bar. This is why we have both recently spooled up 2 shimano torsa and t-curve deep jig 400 combos with 80lb schiender. I chose the rod because it is stiff enough to handle a fair amount of lead. Im also wondering what people think of this combo for big reds??

Me and dad are also looking at a reef queen deck winch and spooling it with 150lb mono, that way we have both bases covered and can have some fun on the rods and fill the esky aswell.
    Cheers, Dougy

I use a torsa and a monster mesh rod and find it good but a bit heavy for anything under 10kg. I also use a trinadad on a jigwrex rod 24kg I think and it is much nicer to use and have not lost to many.

Quote Originally Posted by Whale Bone View Post
    I hae little experience on the red emperor front, however me and dad are keen to do some hunting out from the wide bay bar. This is why we have both recently spooled up 2 shimano torsa and t-curve deep jig 400 combos with 80lb schiender. I chose the rod because it is stiff enough to handle a fair amount of lead. Im also wondering what people think of this combo for big reds??

Me and dad are also looking at a reef queen deck winch and spooling it with 150lb mono, that way we have both bases covered and can have some fun on the rods and fill the esky aswell.
    Cheers, Dougy
    I used a 24kg tcurve jigstick with a shimano tekota with 80lb braid and got rid of it for a 24kg tcurve tyrnos as it is a lot stiffer. I found with the jig stick it was too bendy and when playing big fish every pump of the rod didnt gain as much on the fish because the rod would bend on the way up and straighten on the way down making it hard to gain line. found the stiffer rod gets them in a lot quicker giving less time for them to get off and also to try to beat the sharks.I think with reds you can basicly catch them on anything as they dont tend to run into snags so long as the sharks dont get them you can play them for eva.( bigger the gear the better but)

all sound very bloody technical and expensive. My 140lb handline is good to 70meters and i bet i can get a 15kg red up quicker through the sharks than a rod and reel. in saying that, i still use R@R as well. Handline is great for the first few. (only done off cairns)- soon to be Rainbow.

Quote Originally Posted by reel scream View Post
    all sound very bloody technical and expensive. My 140lb handline is good to 70meters and i bet i can get a 15kg red up quicker through the sharks than a rod and reel. in saying that, i still use R@R as well. Handline is great for the first few. (only done off cairns)- soon to be Rainbow.

handlines are good but off mky in the deep weter it is hard to hold and feel the bottom as it runs too hard most of the time. Went on a charter off cooktown and there was no run at all ,dont know if cairns is the same.