-
Night time Noosa Jack
Is it "normal" to get jack in the Noosa river at this time of year?
I got going at around 3.30 am this morning and not long after landed this 48cm jack. It was bloody cold as I launched and the water at the boat ramp was also cool. I guess I should have taken a temp reading for my records. Anyway, the effort was worthwhile. Aside from jagging a couple of mullet on fast retrieve slugs (heaps of fun on 6lb line) it was otherwise an uneventful night.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: Night time Noosa Jack
Well done
great looking fish!
Cheers Simon
-
Ausfish Gold Member
i suppose if you fish for them they can still be taken-they still have to eat!!!
Nice effort, great looking jack!
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Gday Tewantin,
Like Barra, Jack are still a common catch during winter for those who target them. My PB Noosa Jack was caught in mid July.
Nick
-
Ausfish Addict
Great fish,
3.30am in the freezing cold.....you deserve a fish like that I reckon.
Few jacks still on the prowl.....I know of quite a few caught recently.
They still gotta eat.
-
interesting time of year for a jack...the river is chockas with big mullet at the moment, with some good tailor swimming with them also
-
Platinum Member
I did 2 sessions looking for winter jack last week, and no hits. Thats a really good result, well done. You give the rest of us some hope........
I reckon the mullet hits were the clue. Find the bait, and you find the fish.
-
That's a fantastic winter jack, mate! In the past I've always retired the jack gear after May, but a few of these posts have me thinking otherwise.
How exactly were the mullet caught? What sort of slugs are they, and did you mouth hook or foul hook them? I'd be really interested in getting this techn ique down as I really wanna hit a few mullet!
Thanks in advance.
Cuzza
-
Hi Cuzza,
nothing too technical, just a Raider chrome slug with big trebles and randomly cast and wind back as fast as you can hopefully through a school of mullet. There are so many mullet in the river at the moment that it's not too difficult to snag one.
Nick
-
Thanks Nick. Wow, that's amazing....I can't believe it's easy enough to foul hook them. Will definitely have to give it a go. Thanks again.
Cuzza