9 - 10 mtr. boats
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 9 - 10 mtr. boats

9 - 10 mtr. boats

Hi Guys,

I am looking at buying a larger plaining boat in the 9 - 10 mtr. range, the boat will be used for fishing and over night cruises for 3 - 5 people. I have a budget of $80 - $100k, what brands and motor configurations? There seems to be a lot of Bayliner and Mustang boats on the market, although they don't seem to have much deck space. Also the Seaquest 2800 Sportsbridge looks a possibility if there is any in my price range. If any of you guys have one of these, what fuel usage and cruise speed do you get, any advice would be much appreciated. The boat will be moored at Roslyn Bay Yeppoon.

Cheers Sparky.

Re: 9 - 10 mtr. boats

I reckon for that sort of money I would be looking at something just a tad larger for 5 people, there is a thousand Boats around that will suit, from older (but great) Gameboats to full on cruisers, but these are not real flash for fishing. go for diesel only, no petrol in that size.

Ausfish Platinum Member peterbo3's Avatar

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-fo...aspx?R=3004032
    Something like this would be my choice if you were planning on doing a lot of fishing. Twin diesels, big self draining deck that you could put a big awning over, toilet, built in Survey. You would need to get it really checked out but there should be money left over to upgrade the galley & berths.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    I reckon for that sort of money I would be looking at something just a tad larger for 5 people, there is a thousand Boats around that will suit, from older (but great) Gameboats to full on cruisers, but these are not real flash for fishing. go for diesel only, no petrol in that size.
    why not petrol Noel..not really that big a boat

maybe not Pinhead, but when your looking at around 30ltrs an hour for diesel and upto about 80ltrs an hour for petrol, there's some big dollars to be saved there, no matter what sort of dollars you earn that would come into consideration at some point, also increases range.

Dunno what servicing would cost though, my bet is diesel would be a lot more expensive and more frequent.

I'm not famililiar with any brand in this size, but before you start seriously thinking about brands/configurations, be very honest at what will you be doing with the boat. If cruising will be the main use, deck space for fishing isn't as important and you can look at more of a cruier style boat with more cover and more creature comforts, as opposed to a fishing boat, a couple of seats, and big esky, can come into play over nice big cushy seats, full galley's etc.

there is plenty around that size with petrol engines, and with quite good savings, but most have stern drives, whereas in Diesel most will be shaft drive and so much more reliable and robust, but for that money, there will be so many to choose from, you will be dizzy in short time trying to sort out which ones to look at! look at this one, first page I searched, great brand too.
    http://www.boatsonline.com.au/boats-...s.php?de=49490
    Last edited by Noelm; 12-06-2009 at 03:08 PM. Reason: forgot something

you can always have a cruiser with a decent size duckboard on the back for fishing . I found petrol sterndrives to be easily maintained as long as you use the boat often.

Petrol sterndrives. ONE FLASH AND YOUR'E ASH!

Quote Originally Posted by Rockrash View Post
    Not with moden injected motors and vapor sensors
    Last edited by The-easyrider; 12-06-2009 at 07:56 PM. Reason: spalin mistook

Quote Originally Posted by Rockrash View Post
    there are more boat fires from turbo diesels than pertol motors..people do not let them cool...do a run..stop the motor..different temps from motor to turbo..seal opens..diesel leaks onto exhaust...fire.

efi petrol..very little chance..not like the older motors of petrol sitting in a carby bowl and vaporising.

never had a problem with the sterndrives I had.

Thanks guys, I like the idea of diesel but they are fairly rare. The Seaquest 28 Sportsbridge looks ok, enough creature comforts to keep the boss happy and a reasonable rear deck when the seat is removed, single 300hp Mercruiser cruises at 22kts. top speed 35kts, shouldn't be too bad on fuel.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    there is plenty around that size with petrol engines, and with quite good savings, but most have stern drives, whereas in Diesel most will be shaft drive and so much more reliable and robust, but for that money, there will be so many to choose from, you will be dizzy in short time trying to sort out which ones to look at! look at this one, first page I searched, great brand too.
    http://www.boatsonline.com.au/boats-...s.php?de=49490
    I agree totally with Noel reputable boat with adaquate power and good economy, mate stay AWAY from petrols ,I could give examples and reasons but It would take too long.Go to your closest marina and sniff around the blokes that have twin mercruisers etc in petrol with a few years on them in 25 -30 footers and talk to them.

Ausfish Platinum Member boatboy50's Avatar

Hey,2

The Seaquest 2800 has long been one of my favourites.

Keep an eye out for a twin outboard job, with a view to repower down the track with twin 4 strokes. You should pick one up for between 60-80k.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    there are more boat fires from turbo diesels than pertol motors..people do not let them cool...do a run..stop the motor..different temps from motor to turbo..seal opens..diesel leaks onto exhaust...fire.

efi petrol..very little chance..not like the older motors of petrol sitting in a carby bowl and vaporising.

never had a problem with the sterndrives I had.

mmm. I may be confused. Can somebody explain to me which seal would open and let diesel onto the exhaust due to the differences in engine/turbo temps.

Expansion and contraction between the two different metals due to difference in temperature in the turbo to the engine. Engine should be cooler (cools faster) which contracts causing the seal to open up and let oil out. Think i've got it the correct way round. Well that is how I've had it expained to me on my diesel jero.
    Last edited by Bladeca; 14-06-2009 at 11:58 AM. Reason: Typed in diesel instead of oil