Will the price be ballpark $1100 Grand Marlin?
G'day all,
here is a bit of info.
cheers, Jan.
A media release.
Cheers, Jan.
Lowrance StructureScan – full panoramic imaging sonar
Lowrance unveiled its next-generation sonar technology, the LSS-1 StructureScan sonar-imaging module, at ICAST 2009 in the US yesterday.
Due to be launched in Australia at this month’s Sydney International Boat Show (and available to consumers later this year), the sonar-imaging module is the world’s first to offer anglers a new dimension in underwater picture-like displays – side-to-side plus straight down, full panoramic viewing.
Designed for use with Lowrance High Definition Systems (HDS), the innovative StructureScan features a combination of SideScan and exclusive new DownScan Imaging technology. SideScan provides full-screen left and right side-viewing with extra-crisp detail of up to 146m (480ft) of underwater coverage that displays structure and fish targets, as well as their imaging-scan shadows. The new DownScan Imaging feature allows anglers, for the first time, to see submerged detail directly beneath their boats, providing a complete underwater picture in a screen format that is easy to interpret.
With revolutionary on-screen display versatility, anglers can merge side and down sonar scans in split-screen to view wide-area surveys and highly-defined detail. As a unique new tool, anglers can also compare DownScan Imaging with 2D sonar images in split-screen display to better distinguish fish from structure.
Removing all of the guesswork common to existing fish-finding technology, the new LSS-1 delivers the highest underwater definition ever achieved with crystal-clear views in shallow and deep, freshwater or saltwater – even at speeds of up to nearly 50km/h.
Navico Asia Pacific chief operating officer John Scott said the new StructureScan sonar-imaging module was another revolutionary step forward in sportfishing marine electronics from Lowrance.
“Offering never-before-seen underwater detail, the sonar-imaging module is the first and only wide-coverage sonar solution that also delivers a total underwater panoramic picture – so anglers won’t miss a thing,” Mr Scott said.
“Combine this new structure- and fish-finding tool with additional cutting-edge features available with Lowrance’s HDS displays, such as built-in, award-winning 2D Broadband Sounder, Navionics compatibility with TurboView, and award-winning Broadband Radar, and the results are truly amazing!”
The LSS-1 StructureScan sonar-imaging module allows anglers to cursor anywhere on the screen to receive information on distance from the boat and target depth for an exciting new level in precision bait or lure presentation. In addition, a new synchronised TrackBack function, featuring simultaneous scroll-back in the recorded history of sonar or mapping windows, allows anglers to find spots and set waypoints for easy returns to desired fishing locations.
Based on Lowrance’s affordable, plug-and-play, onboard, high-speed Ethernet network, the LSS-1 StructureScan sonar-imaging module is an optional add-on that easily networks with up to three onboard HDS displays to share SideScan, DownScan and 2D sonar-imaging for boat-wide underwater surveillance, each with independent control.
The fully-waterproof LSS-1 module comes with a rugged, low-profile, dual-frequency 455kHz and 800kHz panoramic imaging transducer that is easy to install and offers multiple mounting locations. The transducer also features a built-in temperature sensor and operates in tandem / interference-free with any HDS 2D sonar transducer. Like all Lowrance HDS products, the LSS-1 StructureScan sonar-imaging module is covered by a two-year limited warranty.
I have been trying to find some information on what depth the side & down scan is good for. Anyone seen any info?
Yeah mate, the media release above says that it goes down to 146m.
cheers, Jan.
You sure Jan, i read it as 146m left to right of bottom coverage and no mention of depth capabilities.
bronsonwinston,
I read it the same as you, alludes to a mention of depth but no real figures.
there are a couple of email addresses, in that document that may be of use for your question.
Honda
unfortunately i've used a real side scan unit from J.W Fishers and they kind of spoil you! I still reckon that 40m will be lowrances maximum depth so for me it's a Dam/River/ Maybe bay sounder at best, but there heading in the right direction.
If i had won the lotto the other night it think the new boat would have had a J.W fishers side scan unit and fish onboard but at around $100 000 it will be a pipe dream until then!
ian
Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!
I have asked our rep and they have told me an answer will get back to me soon so we can all have an answer.
Cheers, Jan.
I have ordered the HDS 10 (3 weeks ago) and there is now a waiting list. 6 weeks or more before mine arrives. I was unaware of the side scan imaging but along with the AIS system, I am going to order it as well. Also go the broadband radar.
All this is due for installation around 3rd week of August so I will let you all know whats what.
Obviously the sidescan wont be installed for a while.
I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
NEWBY T.G.
Looks good, still find I have to stop and think about the side scan images before I get my head around what it is actually showing, bit of time I would imaging to get over that.
would love to see the images displayed like this and at high speed.
http://www.powerboat-world.com/Lowra...onar/59100/arc
HOnda.
I agree entirely with you Honda! I am an engineer and look at longitudinal sections and cross sections on a daily basis but something about how the side scan is presented just does my head in! The Lowrance youtube videos made sense when you could see it was literally like a realtime continually updating cross-section of the bottom (vertically scrolling). But those pictures above dont really make sense to me!
G'day All,
Here is the response I got from Lowrance;
"StructureScan – they’ve been getting depths up to 300ft in the US, which is pretty awesome. It’s going to be available in November and we’re just working on the pricing now."
Cheers, Jan.