Thread: Cairns Sunday Session

Cairns Sunday Session

In similar form to Wahoo (see other thread) I found myself waking up with a hangover on Sunday morning (wedding up at Daintree).
    Anyways, got home around 11:00am and left the marina by 1:00pm with 6 on board. Ahh.... Hair of the Dog!!
    Hit a couple of spots for a few trout, although not much was playing the game, put it down to lack of run. Headed to another spot in a little more water to see if any red fish were on the bite. Found a nice show on the sounder (at a spot we have had luck at before) so dropped the pick. By this stage there was a little more movement in the water.
    I was the first to drop a line in, just as I was expecting to hit the bottom - tap - hmmm.... lift the rod a little.... nothing.... couple of winds..... F-me... i've been sharked before I even hit the bottom (well thats what I thought).
    By the time I get my line back in, another of the crew is hooked up to a thumpa, have fun i say thinking it was another shark. Before I can re-rig, everyone with a line in the water in grunting and groaning with a hefty bend in there rod. First fish up is a nannie of around 5kg, then another, then another...... you rippa we're onto em.I eventually got my line back in the water to add to the kill box. After around the tenth fish we decided to only keep the decent ones, and releasing the others after a spike with the deflator. We have a loose rule of around 20 fish for the boat. Was back in the marina by 7:00pm.
    Ended up with a couple nannies around the 8-9kg mark with the average around 4-5kg.
    O yer, the weather was bloody marvelous, and well worth the effort.

Re: Cairns Sunday Session

Looks like you blokes had a good session mate!

Nick

Good stuff CD. Where abouts did you guys fish. Weather looked bloody terrible coming down the Kuranda range on Sunday arvo.

Pazz

pazz,
    not one to give out spots, but somewhere in the trinity opening if that helps.

I wasn't asking for your spots CD, just interested as to whether it was near batt or tongue or something like that. I've got my own spots that I certainly won't share.

Can't wait till the weather drops again, i'm very keen to get out and chase a few trout.

Pazz

yer same pazz, haven't had a good trout session in a while.
    Small billfish will be around soon, thats what i'm really waiting for....

Wow hows all the reports with all the red fish, you guys make it look all too easy. even with hangovers and perfect conditions good effort mate wish i was there. Cheers Shawno.

They are some great nanny's guys
    How do yo compare he Small mouths to the large mouths eating wise................. I tend to the large mouths myself
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

I don't even bother keeping small mouth. Crap, yet some people will rave about them.

Years ago we got about 50 of them, and first one the old man went to cook curled in the pan and it was like boot leather. Gave them all away and everyone else raved about how good they were.

Never again, only big mouth get kept out of nanny family.

Pazz

Definitely with Pazz on this one.
    Large mouth = nice and firm and flakey fillets.
    Small mouth = mushy fillets.
    We generally throw the small mouth back as well, aspecially if the large mouth and reds are around. Also cleaned up on the small mouth one time, never agian I tell you.
    Although, some people I talk to swear by the small mouth, but i reckon they are just getting the two mixed up.