Thread: Riptide good yar

Riptide good yar

What can you tell me about these riptide boats what I have read I have the opinion they are pretty high Rated would a 6.6 centre cab new cost approx with twin 115 suzies?

Re: Riptide good yar

G'day GON,

All i can say is Dave's boats may never have taken out a "Boat of the year" trophy, but pleasse don't judge them on that basis. In my opinion they remain the most underrated plate alloy boats on the market. Very rarely do you see them come up on the second hand market because those of us with them are totally satisfied with them. The only reason some come up is their owners want to go bigger, and most are sold word of mouth before they even hit the market.

I have a 6.0mt cuddy (6.5m in anyone elses language) had it for 3 1/2 years now - I still reckon its one of the best boats I've ever been in. No bad habits, exceptionally stable and exceptionally well built with a finish that is rarely seen in Alloy boats. Dave is very particular about every boat he makes and he stands behind his product 100% - his interest doesn't stop when you drive away with your pride and joy hooked up.

You'd need to talk with him about a price as each boat has its individual touches that only a custom boat can have. So give him a call 0417 629 450. He'll give you the latest run down. He is able to fit Suzuki's so he should be able to give you a ball park on a package. But be prepared to wait a bit, I know he has 6 boats in the line up at the moment, but if you decide to go with Riptide, you will agree the wait is worth it. I do know if you've been pricing Fisher, AMM and Nobel, you'll be pleasantly surprised

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

I'm at the quoting stage at the moment Rhys, so I look forward to receiving Dave's quote.

G'day DSF,

Whatcha looking at?
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Quote Originally Posted by revs57 View Post
    G'day DSF,

Whatcha looking at?
    Hi Rhys,

Spoke to Dave this arvo. Got a quote on a 5.6m Centre Console. 4mm bottom, sides & deck, 6mm transon with extra bulkheads. Custom conventional console with folding screen. Live well. Kill tank in floor & 180L fuel tank. Rear battery shelves & rear cabinets. Semi raised casting platform on checkerplate deck (also considering standard decking with paint & fleck). Basic floatation, inbuilt planning strakes & chines. Beam to 2.4m & deadrise of 17degrees.

Quote came in better than fisher, blue water & OMM. Only issue is the waiting list. Some 11 months...

Daz.

Sounds like a nice package Daz, be worth the wait...more time to plan the assaults upon piscatorial delights
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Will mull it over with the missus... But we may join the waiting list.

Mate, you wont be sorry, patience is rewarded in this case
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

it was well woth the wait for me, and now dave is a very good mate, top bloke to know and deal with

cheers justin

I have to jump on the band wagon as well. I have had mine for nearly two years now and there is not a day goes by when i have it out that somebody comes up and compliments me on the riptide and the quality of workmanship.
    I shopped around before settling on the riptide and it wasn't just the boat that made my mind up, it was actually getting to speak with Dave and realising that he really does take a personal interest in them, not to mention the word of mouth from either owners or people in the know. Very open to ideas and he has a wealth of knowledge.
    His premises doesn't have all the trimmings of some of the other manufacturers but i can promise you, you will get quality.
    When it's all said and done, thats actually what you want.

There are quit a few Riptide owners on here and i found all of them more then helpful when I was wanting tips or advice, so feel free to drop any of us a line.

Good luck Chris.

Daz, looks like your asking for something like mine. Here's a few pics to get you arked up. The sticker on mine says 5.2 but its way bigger than that, hull is 6.15LOA and 2.38 accross the beam. The whole screen and hard top assembly lifts of for storage and long trips on the road. The hull combined with this console layout is dry as for a C/Console. All good on riptide from me!!

Cheer's, Scott

Scott,

What HP are you running & how does she perform?

Daz, 115 Yammy 4S 17(i think??) standard yam alloy prop

WOT 6100rpm 35Knots

med Cruise 38 to 4200rpm 18 to 23 knots

fast cruise 44 to 4600rpm 25 to 27 knots

Above figures full of fuel, full kit and 2 adults. The 115 is enough grunt and very low cost to run on my rig. With 3 adults on board a few more hp's would be better but i don't often fish with more than 1 other so fine for me. If i was building one a tad bigger than mine i'd deffinateley go for min 130hp's with 140/150 if the budget allowed.

I'm planning to run a 115hp Optimax, so I should get similar performance. I've considered to run a 135hp; but want to limit the cost. How is the boats stability at rest & what is your overall honest opinion.
    daz

Ausfish Platinum Member bigjimg's Avatar

A family member has a 5.2 cuddy for sale at the moment with 115 yammy 4 stroke.This was the second one Dave has built them.Very nice.A few on here may have seen it at Fraser Comp last year.Prozack.Jim
    Haines Signature "FinaLeigh" 580F 135 Optimax
    CH 81 & 72 VHF