Dealer Complaint Question - Page 4
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Dealer Complaint Question

Ausfish Platinum Member boatboy50's Avatar

Re: Dealer Complaint Question

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    So perhaps Darren, I do know a little about what I am talking about.
    The moral is..spend $120 and do the deal yourself...saves a lot of heartache.

Put fear into the world..nope..just letting people know how much these people want to sell a boat...and what do most of them do?? advertise it on boatpoint.

You can apologise anytime you are ready for your useless post based on not knowing any of the facts.
    PH,

With all due respect, I too have been a member of this board and read your experiences of selling your boat and buying your Swirl. We know how much you hate certain dealers, and love Cunningham's Marine Yadda Yadda Yadda. I'd love to see how much success you had selling that boat for that money in this economic climate. I can guarantee it is not all peaches and cream. You bought at a time people were fighting to buy things at asking price, just like the real estate game. No apology needed.

The good ones advertise on BP (it's not the be all and end all), and quite a few other sites, magazines, financiers, prospect lists, prior customers ect ect.

Again, you use the word most. I seriously doubt that most are shonky dealers. Most are just like you and everyone here, just trying to enjoy the boating environment, and earn a crust at the same time.

I have no need or want to battle this out with you. It's just not as plain and simple as you put it. You sold a boat once? Good for you.

That's all I have to say on this post.

Now, back to the topic.

Ausfish Platinum Member Fish_gutz's Avatar

crikeys akman how does the PM get his 100 euro back if it`s gone to the meat supplier?
    on a lighter note , I was so close to getting a fischer and so glad I got a used riptide instead..... not getting away from what this thread is all about but private sales would be the safest imho way to go..... I really hope a happy ending is very close for old mate and I don`t mean one of them happy endings!! oh well I hope he gets one of them too!

Darren..please tell me which dealer I "hate"..I don't hate anyone..that is a useless waste of time.
    You are right..I have sold a boat once..and so has Beeracuda and look at the dilemma the poor bloke is in now.
    My post was to highlight the fact that it is quite often a lot easier to do these deals yourself..and a lot less stressful than he is in now..the bloke could easily have his credit rating ruined from this...plus be out of a pocket a lot of money if his finance company gets nasty.

I can only wish him well and hope a resolution is found very soon.

Ausfish Platinum Member boatboy50's Avatar

Darren..please tell me which dealer I "hate"..I don't hate anyone..that is a useless waste of time.
    You are right..I have sold a boat once..and so has Beeracuda and look at the dilemma the poor bloke is in now.
    My post was to highlight the fact that it is quite often a lot easier to do these deals yourself..and a lot less stressful than he is in now..the bloke could easily have his credit rating ruined from this...plus be out of a pocket a lot of money if his finance company gets nasty.

PH,

No daggers here. Everytime a post came up about Crownline Boats or Satisfaction Marine, you would mention how you went there and were treated as though you had no money. That's fine. That's your experience. Not everyone shopping there had that experience, just like not everyone has as much luck selling their boat alone as you did.

The attacking tone to your original post is what got me upset. It was very abrupt.

There are many stories of a buyer paying 50k for a boat privately, only to have it removed by the police and returned to the owner it was stolen from. They are then out of pocket. I have sold hundreds of boats over time, and even had a seller trying to sell his stolen boat through my yard. Police were notified, and the boat was returned to the insurance company. The owner/seller was nabbed. It could easily have been sold out of his back yard, with him laughing all the way to the bank on a fake ID.

Not all dealers/people in the marine industry are nasty, and not everyone has success in selling their own boat, or the knowledge to sell their boat/buy their boat through a private sale. That's all it comes down to.

Good luck to Beer. I wish him well, and would like to hear of the resolution asap.

I think pinhead was making a good point he may of said it the wrong way. The point he was makeing is if you sell it yourself you can cut out all the drama of different issues happening like the one we are looking out on this thread. But sometimes on the other side of the coin you can't say every boat dealer is a dud as not all of them are and the one mentioned earlyer cunninghams is a prime example of a very good business that has grown a nice steady pace over a 20 year period. If they did the wrong thing they would have been long ago. Each to there own when sellig your boat but at the moment maybr before selling with a dealer you have to ask some questions relating to there abilty to get the job done and also there trading ethics and ausfish is a great place to look as it is a place that will find people out if they are not trading correctly. And as a member of the boating public i say keep up the good work.

Quote Originally Posted by Beeracudda View Post
    Thank you to all that have posted this is a great forum that clearly cares.

I have been in contact with my finance company for about 2 weeks now to inform them of the sale and daily checking of balances. The resaon cheques weren't made out to me in the first place was dealing with such a large dealer as Mustang Marine I assumed I was safe in dealing with a known brand and I thought it couldn’t happen twice!!

An update from yesterday's post was we finally got through to management only after threatening to go to the police if he didn't get on the phone, and as a result made 1/2 payment yesterday and said they would make 1/2 tomorrow.

So we then informed our finance company and we did ask the what if's and if the vessel doesn't get paid for in full it will be repossessed as title is still with the finance company and with extensive notes on the file that we have sold the vessel in good faith the person that stands to loose most would be the new buyer! I did want to contact him but the finance company said it was there responsibility.

There yard is now very bare and who I thought was the dealer princible has now left the company? Lets hope for the marine industry that we don't have another headline oh yeh and my sake!!

I hope this works out for you and you can resume normal sleep and a life without valium. Given the behaviour towards you, you may not be the only one. You may have been the only one to act swiftly.

I request that you ask (in writing - marked URGENT) for the Office of Fair Trading to investigate the dealer, the legality of their consignment agreements and second-hand trading. On the basis of your experience the dealer principal should be barred from holding a trading license. Your letter, recounting your experience, may help to strengthen the law and prevent this from happening in future.

White Pointer

Quote Originally Posted by boatboy50 View Post
    PH,

No daggers here. Everytime a post came up about Crownline Boats or Satisfaction Marine, you would mention how you went there and were treated as though you had no money. That's fine. That's your experience. Not everyone shopping there had that experience, just like not everyone has as much luck selling their boat alone as you did.

The attacking tone to your original post is what got me upset. It was very abrupt.

There are many stories of a buyer paying 50k for a boat privately, only to have it removed by the police and returned to the owner it was stolen from. They are then out of pocket. I have sold hundreds of boats over time, and even had a seller trying to sell his stolen boat through my yard. Police were notified, and the boat was returned to the insurance company. The owner/seller was nabbed. It could easily have been sold out of his back yard, with him laughing all the way to the bank on a fake ID.

Not all dealers/people in the marine industry are nasty, and not everyone has success in selling their own boat, or the knowledge to sell their boat/buy their boat through a private sale. That's all it comes down to.

Good luck to Beer. I wish him well, and would like to hear of the resolution asap.
    Darren..i have never been to Satisfaction Marine..it was actually the Four Winns dealer that told me I could not afford the 30' boat..Boatarama I think they were called ..the ones that I think went bust...and there were a few people treated like that there.

JUDGE TO PROSTITUTE: At what point did you realise you had been raped.
    PROSTITUTE TO JUDGE: After the cheque bounced
    moral..beware whores and boat dealers

It is worthwhile to avoid becoming too cynical. The problem is not that most dealers are dishonest, the problem is that we have no way of identifying the small minority who are dishonest. Bashing the good ones doesnt help us buyers except to the extent they might improve the industry. I am on my 14th boat as my wife will tell anyone she meets and have sold 13 privately and without any drama and have bought most of them second hand as well..so maybe I have been lucky.
    The only problem here is that when you walk into a yard you have no way of knowing whether your money will be safe or not. Reputation is something, but its easy to build a good reputation in good times....the test of business integrity is what you do with people's money in tough times like now.
    Reputable and long standing marine businesses need to deal with this because they are going to increasingly suffer loss of business with the reduction in customer confidence..(eg...I am going to Bribie this morning to look at a boat from BP which could be no. 15.)

It's very upsetting to hear that someone is out of pocket and haven't been paid for the boat that they sold. What about the poor bloke who paid someone for a boat that they don't own. The finance company does!

INSIST on a REV's check on a 2nd hand boat

For the educated and experienced people on here buying and selling can be relativley trouble free on the private market.

I have lost count of the number of poor blokes who have saved for the last 5 years to buy a boat, finally talked the missus into it. Paid $20K for what they thought was their dream boat. Bring it in for a service and find out the motor or trailer or hull is cactus and need to spend $10K which they don't have to get it running. The look of heartbreak on their face and the look of dread at what they are going to tell the missus.

Consigning through a reputable dealer is done on a standard marine industry contract which is a legal document. The dealer is required to offer a warranty and the seller and buyer has avenues for action if it goes pear shaped.
    YOU SELL IT PRIVATLEY AND SH*T HITS THE FAN GOOD LUCK GETTING YOUR MONEY BACK

Quote Originally Posted by siegfried View Post
    JUDGE TO PROSTITUTE: At what point did you realise you had been raped.
    PROSTITUTE TO JUDGE: After the cheque bounced
    moral..beware whores and boat dealers
    Beware of ignorant people who make off the cuff comments

a good lesson on this one...NEVER sell your boat through a dealer..sell it yourself...cheaper and easier
    I suppose whatever line of work your in Pinhead we should suggest never buy from that trade as one person had a bad dealing so therefore by definition the entire trade is crook??

Thats just a tad over the top with tarring all with the same brush don't you think?

As mentioned, some have great dealings with some dealers and others have woeful dealings. Some of the dealers I know of I can't understand how they are still in business as they are seriously crooked. But every industry has them.

This blokes dealt with from what I understand a large dealer of that brand of boat. 20:20 hindsight is a fantastic tool for kicking ourselves in the arse but he believed he did the right thing, in terms of decent size dealer, known brand dealer etc Just shows that sometimes no matter how hard you try you can't pick em and you wind up in an unfortunate situation.

I have read this and thought..you poor bugger.
    You've tried to do the right thing and asked about trust accounts etc so your money is secure.
    The buyer has done the right thing and brought through a dealer so the ownership is guaranteed and because of a dodgy dealer the trust account disappears and the ownership is not guaranteed.

Gees I hope it all works out for both the seller and the buyer because both could loose here.
    Looks like the dealer is going down though.

At least I have not got the hassle of trying to sell a boat. I just keep them. Saves the hassles
    4 of them lying about ATM.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by Fish_gutz View Post
    crikeys akman how does the PM get his 100 euro back if it`s gone to the meat supplier?
    on a lighter note , I was so close to getting a fischer and so glad I got a used riptide instead..... not getting away from what this thread is all about but private sales would be the safest imho way to go..... I really hope a happy ending is very close for old mate and I don`t mean one of them happy endings!! oh well I hope he gets one of them too!

Andrew if it was our PM he would have either yelled at somebody or been to drunk to remember anyway!

Rash

Exclamation Re: Dealer Complaint Question

Just got off the phone from the Finance Company, 1/2 the money has been confirmed as deposited. So 1/2 way there.

Just a few comments on other comments in this thread, I used the word dealer as yes they are a dealer but they are also the 2nd largest manufacturer of boats in Australia or they were once with Riviera No 1. I think Mimdi somes it up well in saying it's how your treated in the bad times not the good times, and I believe there sales arm were of good intention and didn't go out to rip me off I think they just got caught short and made bad judgements.

I have also seen the boat is still in there marina?? new Buyer hasn't picked it up yet, but 4 weeks ago on the Friday the sales guy said that was delivery day!

Plenty of unanswered questions but I do see the light at the end of the tunnel, let's hope it not the train