Thread: iodine bream legal size?

iodine bream legal size?

went to the barwon banks on sat just wondering wat the legal size and bag limit is for these critters heard they can either be good or bad eating but worth a try next time were out there.. i think.
    560c Bar Crusher "Overtime"

Re: iodine bream legal size?

Ah... But... are they in fact a bream?.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

25cm and five fish last time i looked.

don't eat them there one of the best baits out the banks mate. i find you get the better fish on there fillets. jamb the fillet on whole on a 6/0.
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Mate this fish is called a Tarwine Bream

Ken

The iodine bream (or Collared Sea Bream (Gymnocranius audleyi) is actually a member of the emperor family and is a coral reef fin fish (different from tarwine).

Under the latest regs, all emperors (apart from redthroat, long nose and spangled) have a legal length of 25cm and a bag limit of 5 per species (as Samson said).

I've attached a photo of one..

Richard

Quote Originally Posted by -spiro- View Post
    don't eat them there one of the best baits out the banks mate. i find you get the better fish on there fillets. jamb the fillet on whole on a 6/0.
    Absolutely agree....we catch heaps of them off Yeppoon and always use them for flesh baits.

they f&*^$n stink lol i wouldnt eat one but as mentioned before they make great bait

funny you mention using them for bait. I've tried several times, but caught sfa on them, but chuck on a slab of hussar and it'll get drilled on the drop or as soon as it hits the bottom.

but yes, 25cm, bag of 5. I've heard some very conflicting reports on how they taste, usually people that say they taste good also say the same about bludger trevally, so you can join the dots from there. I haven't tried them, there's more important things to be filling the esky with

One of the best live baits for big spaniards