Which Braid for TLD25?

Thread: Which Braid for TLD25?

Which Braid for TLD25?

Hey guys getting a TLD25 soon.
    Last one I had was spooled with 50lb Super Braid (dark green).
    I was wondering if the super braid is still a worthy option or if there are some better types of braid at that weight.
    Will be used for trolling and bottom bashing.
    Cheers and thanks.

"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
    Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
    Fish Well, Fish Egrell

http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au

Re: Which Braid for TLD25?

G'day LNB,

I was running the same 50lb super braid on my tld's. Yep, I found it ok. The only thing is the true breaking strain according to a report in May 2008 Modern fishing is 64.65lbs. I've changed everthing I have over to Sufix Performance braid, they are one of the closest (in my price range) to the stated breaking strain across the board, for the 50lb its actual was 55.85lbs. Fins is 53.42 but a little dearer.

I'm not too anal about such things, but if something says 30, 50 whatever, I'd like it to be pretty close.

I've been using the Sufix for a while now. I actually changed over before the report as I had heard it was so from reliable sources. Been happy with that decision.

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

I bought the Platypus super braid at 50 lb, and when i tested the strength of my connection to the leader, I found the braid always broke at about 40lb. The braid did not break at the knot. I ended up changing it to the pink Bionic braid, it is way stronger.. about 65lb. I havent hooked anything yet (apart from a beacon... I had to release it...)

I'm glad you released the beacon mate they are protected.
    Will look into the Bionic also.
    Has any body used the Sunline PE Jigger 8 HG???
    Cheers and thanks.

"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
    Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
    Fish Well, Fish Egrell

http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au

Have you thought of Tuffline XP? I'm running it on a rig at the minute and find it to be very nice braid, it's quite thin too.

Thanks Tom

Is braid still Ok on a TLD, if Im running a roller tip rod, or do I stick with mono?

Gecko, I'd reckon you'd be fine. I prefer a roller tip with braid for trolling as the action on a bibbed lure causes me to think the braid may damage a non roller tip over time

others may have opinions on this one - good question...

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

I use 80 lb whiplash pro on my TLD 20 (same drag as a 25)

My drag is set for 50 lb, but I use the 80 braid so that if I get stuck on bottom I can nearly always break the leader by locking up the reel and thumbing the spool - always want to get the braid back....

Whiplash pro is very thin as well. I have some of this braid that is 9 years old and going strong.