Thread: Soft plastics any good at night?

Soft plastics any good at night?

Hi all. Been having some luck with SP in the morning, but wondering if they perform of a night on the inshore reefs of Moreton Bay. Usually use the 5" scad in nuclear chicken. Says they glow? Can anyone suggest any other types to try in the day / night?

Any help appreciated

Re: Soft plastics any good at night?

yep,,,,, they work at night, give em a go. If you have some lights near by there is a good chance there will be bait and therefore predatory fish.
    Marty.

Thats just showing off! :-)

They work quite well at night,

Not long ago I landed 7 Bream all around the 25CM mark on Squidgie Wrigglers so don't be shy to throw a few around. I've heard that HB's work better at night via the vibrations most of them send off.

Thanks Tom

I've been told that a bigger plastic which gives off more vibrations is better then one which will glow.. although it didn't work for me the night i used it :p

Then again, it never does. haha

Despite all of what you may hear, I have tried with minow gulps( that glow in the dark) and failed miserably at night , although usually getting a feed from MB during daylight hours. That said, I have also been told to use plastics that have as much vibration and action as possible such as prongs or paddle tails, but I have not done much more experimenting at night.

I do quite well at times using a slim jerkbait soft around reefs at night for good sized snapps. Tailor tho tend to be a painful event at night destroying lots of plastics.

http://www.fishnet.com.au/content/fi...ba50c363f2.jpg Got a couple of nice pearlys one night on plastics.

Go for it mate fish's eye sight works very differently to ours and as such they perceive colours differently. Due to the fact that fish can see ultra violet light the lures like nuclear chicken which have the fluorescent colours appear very different to the fish than they do to us. A fish's sense of smell and their ability to feel vibrations in the water is a lot of the time the predominant factors in their hunting, so using lures that you can impart a good action on can help your catch rates. Here are a couple of little jewies i got on 7" nuclear chook flickbaits last weekend, on the night these lures were the guns really outfishing other large shads and prawnstars.

u dont need to have ''glow in the dark plastics'' they will find ur lure fine.
    u will also find darker colours will usually got better at night or low light conditions because of the shaddow or silhoette it creates.

most people make the mistake of charging glow plastics/lures up tooo much.
    the darker the night the less glow required.
    i use squidgy glow flick baits & put them infront of the LED decklight for less than 10 secs to get them to glow.
    using them late arvo or on a dull over cast day charge them up fully
    BigAsh

Fender 22,

The answer is yes. Some people say use a lure that creates a vibration or has action. In short i have cauht many fish on lures that have and dont vibrate. Eg. shrimp / prawn profiles have worked very well and have no vibration. I think the important factor is how you work them.. SLOW! Minnows have also wrked well. Make sure you have them weightd as light as possible and look for light glimmering on the water as bait will hang around and thus so will the bigger guys.

"A bad day of fishing is better than a good day at work"

Yep, they work alright. Had a good session two weeks ago on Root Beer Minnows. Work them slowly. Dont be afraid to look around the shallows on the darker nights.

Here's a nice Spangled Emp a mate of mine caught on my boat off Moreton about an hour after dark. I got busted off by one shortly after. He used a Atomic 6" Jerk Shad. I was using a 7" Nuc Chook.

definately do work at night. Have recently got some good Snapper in the dark.
    I find as someone else said the darker colours work better at night, not what you think, but hey worked on several trips for me.
    Favourite 5inch Gulp at night is Camo...nice and dark