What for? Creek, river, trolling, bay etc? Need a bit more info.
Marty.
I Want To Buy An Electric Motor For My 5m Tinnie.
What Should I Buy.
What for? Creek, river, trolling, bay etc? Need a bit more info.
Marty.
Well, Mainly Just To Get In Bit Closer Around Mud And Places Like That.
Not Into Freshwater.
I have a Minn Kota 55 pound autopilot on my 4.2mtr, works fine for me around Redcliffe and Mud. There is not too much run in either place most of the time. A mate of mine has a 4.5 mtr plate boat with the same motor and he gets away with it as long as the wind is not to strong. If the budget allows it go for a 24 volt with more pounds of thrust, but if you only use it on good days save yourself some money and go with the 12 volt 55 pound thrust model (long shaft of course).If you go the 24 volt it is a lot more expense and weight in the boat.
Marty.
Like marty said, a bit more info would help.
I have always used MinnKotas in the past but at the moment I have a Motor Guide didital wireless. I will be switching back to MinnKota as soon as I can.
IMO
For a 5mt boat you should try and go 24 volt if you can.
I wouldn't worry too much about using a freshwater model in the salt, if you look after it (wash in fresh & spray with Inox), it will be worn out before it rusts out. People will say you'll void your waranty but in reality it dosn't work like that. Unless corrosion caused the prob your waranty stands. As for "Snakes", well, I wouldn't buy one but I know a guy who thinks they're are great, he's on his 3rd (in 3 years). all replaced under warrantys, God help him when the warranty on his current one expirers.
Oh, and bow mount is the way to go.
mike, why will you be switching back so soon...what is wrong with them
My old 55lb MinnKota would hold me still over a drop off in 15 knots but with the 55lb Motor Guide I get blown backwards. The same battery dosn't seem to last as long either, maybe because the servo steering uses power as well. Also the key ring remote control stopped working while in warranty, Mr T's has gone so I asked MotorGuide. They said without looking at it I must of got it wet and it's my fault, (I can gaurantee it never got wet). Also it's the way I like to fish and the MinnKota Maxima cable steer suits me down to the ground but I must admit out at Mud having a cable steer isn't an advantage, unlike it is in creeks, edges and rock walls, IMO. The cable steer is so responsive, great for getting in and back out of snags to retrieve snagged lures, esp in strong wind or current. A servo steering motor takes too long to turn and you can get blown or swept into the rocks or snag. And because you can't tell by looking at the foot control what speed setting it's on you sometimes get a nasty suprise when you go to move.
Then there's the nose cone on the motor, the part that will hit any rocks or reef first, plastic on Motor Guide (and my mates Snake), metel on MinnKota. My Motor Guide has a hairline crack here already. And last of all there's that constant bloody beeping.
I guess I'm being a little hard but if I'd never owned one of the Maxxima's I would probably love the Motor Guide I have now(apart from the remote control shitting itself)
I have a watersnake bow mount that had a steering problem and the warranty service from Jervis Walker was fantastic. They arranged for a courier to pick it up from home and returned it 3 days later. All no cost try and get that kind of service from BLA or Mercury.
Ray
there seems to be a bit of trouble with the watersnake..
think i will save up for a minnkota.
thanks
greg
I have a minn kota Riptide and cannot fault it, love the auto pilot.
Of course if you have a spare $1,800 you could get a Toqueedo. The demo one was doing14knots today at the Grande Electric at Somerset.
Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.The Rest is just Wasted!
To The Shed.............
Actually Ray BLA did exactly the same when a minor problem happened with my Minn Kota. Picked up by courier and back within a week and spoken to by a very helpful technician at no cost. Problem turned out to be battery and never a fault with my minn kota. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another minn kota with 3 year warranty, always give them a good wash with fresh water after use. The tech at BLA said he is amazed by the condition of returned footpedals and motors being full of mud and encrusted in salt and says people wonder why they have problems.