Great haul of fish there mate. Lovely pictures too, added that extra touch to the report. 10/10!
Tom
Great haul of fish there mate. Lovely pictures too, added that extra touch to the report. 10/10!
Tom
ahhh the old gold spot trick haha heaps of the critters up at Fraser as well as Coronation
got a feed and had a good day so its a good one then
hope you didn't clean the smell of fish out of the boat
cheers Murf
Your grassy looks like a baby spangled to me, Mabye need to have a look at that id to.
Great report guys. Sorry to Timi because i just woke him up......doh.
"Tim you've got a bite" and IMO he wasn't going to grab it, so I grabbed the rod and started winding it in..... "I think it's a good fish Tim!" as his bottom outfit goes off again. He has no objection to me grabbing it and after another short fight....the monsters win again
Shouting is heard......"THAT'S MY $%#%#!$%# ROD - GIVE IT HERE
Wags.
. sounds like you need a foot rope to pull you back from other blokes rods , especially when you drop the fish .
Great you all got a feed. Sounds like time to upgrade the line and hold on maybe?
tim was overwhelmed catching fish that why he dodntdo a report
good repots wags at least he got a few fish this time
it took him some time to reply to few suppose he got over the shock
god report and nice fish
pete
and great weather as well! glad you enjoyed M/ba and the banks
cheers - Craig
I was once told to ID a spangled it must have the blue lines that run from the nose to the eyes. I used to throw back well legal grassies I thought were spangled. This particular fish didn't have the lines so it went into the box as a grassy. I'll dig the head out of the freezer on bin day and send it to you ...
Deleted post.....
Last edited by wags on the water; 30-05-2009 at 06:28 AM. Reason: just because......
I'd hate to see an outfit snap in two because the fisherman wasn't quick enough to grab it from the holder.........that's my excuse anyway
As a first trip to the banks, with minimal knowledge, the second, third,fourth etc. trips will bring more colour to the esky. Is it right/'the norm' to leave a restricted support vessel and head further afield to find fish?
Thanks for the replies everyone.
Scott, what depth of water were you fishing mostly?
I'd back it as a spangled
cheers - Craig
That is also a high fin amberjack or what they call an almaco jack in North America. They carry a bit more weight through the body than a normal one and don't grow as big.
Hard to tell from that pic if that is a spangled or grass emperor but I am tending to a yellow lipper. The moses must have been a good size one. I am guessing all the cut pec fins are facing down and that is why we can't see them. Anyone else reading this and who has been used to catching pearlies and snapper has gotta remember to clip pec fins once you get into territory where coral reef finfish reside. Ask the bloke that duded himself out of the prize winning red emperor at this year's Fraser comp about that one. The fishos also only have one main ramp to patrol now at Mooloolaba and I saw them twice this week. I also saw a bloke in a runabout tinny filleting reef fish while travelling up the river toward the ramp this week. Also flirting with getting done by doing that.
Good little haul for your first bash at out there all the same! Miles and miles of country to exlore.
Craig - 50-60m
Smithy - the Moses Perch, a Tuskie or two and some Hussar came from Bruce on Rebait. They looked better in our pic.
Thanks guys gotta run.
there are many unstoppable cod out there, if what was busting you up was slow and strong, a safe bet, the obvious offenders are there in numbers as well, grey suits and horse AJ's
cheers - Craig
If you come across the yellow's They have a ball type jiont when filleting where the pectoral fin is it quite large compared to the Grassy's
VHF CHANNEL 21
CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)
There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot
I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges
Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)