Bubi's maiden voyage to the banks - Page 3
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Bubi's maiden voyage to the banks

Re: Bubi's maiden voyage to the banks

Anyone else reading this and who has been used to catching pearlies and snapper has gotta remember to clip pec fins once you get into territory where coral reef finfish reside. . I also saw a bloke in a runabout tinny filleting reef fish while travelling up the river toward the ramp this week. Also flirting with getting done by doing that.

point well made Smithy

good on you fellas good report and nice feed

Good times and lots of laughs seem to be the order of the day wherever you blokes go - well done.

looks like you lot had a good play with the fish..... might have to up the anti on the braid front Timi ,, think big.... 500lb braid
    Tangles KFC

OK.

About 30k's out the motor has a dummy spit. Running on 3 cylinders ???

Bruce looks over the back to see water coming out of every available hole in the cowling.

I lift the cowling to discover that a hose has made it's way loose from just before the T piece to the tell tale, hence filling the bottom of the shroud and up inside the cowling with sea water. Quite a lot of electrics were covered in water. I removed lots of plugs, connectors etc and also checked the fuel system.

This seemed to be the issue and mis-firing. We dried, cleaned and squirted the WD40 and still wouldn't come good. We had idle power and revs, but under load she bucked.

We had a decision to make.... limp back to port at 10 kph ( 3 hours ) or limp out to nth banks and hope for best.

We chugged out at 2000rpm to about mid nth banks, found rough bottom and threw the pick overboard.

Funny thing is every drop was a fish for an hour or so. No size to speak of but Bruce and I were having a ball. My side of the boat was the RTE and Bruce's was Tuskies >????

The cowling was removed to ' air ' the motor. We decided to move towards Team Bubi as they seemed to be getting exicted on the VHF ???

Fished around the area both drifting and anchoring. Bruce hooked up to a fast moving locomotive and no sooner had I explained what usually happens...... twag, yep, monstered........

We called it a day with the thought of a 3- 4 hour trip home due to motor issues. Not so..... I cranked the Honda up to 4000rpm with no mis fires, so good time was made. I did haul in a round post about 50cms long and 25 cms round. This was floating in a current line some 16k's from Harbour. Hitting that at night would cause some damage.

I'd like to thank Bruce ( Tropicrows ) for his company and enthusiasm, and ya welcome on ReBait anytime.

Even though the Honda went OK on the return trip, I am having a tech look at it on Monday.... to be sure...to be sure.

That's my report and I am sticking to it.

AND, so what if I wear slippers when fishing keeps me tootsies warm.

well done mike , after speaking with you this arvo i managed one barra approx 54cm too flathead approx 40cm and too trav approx 1kg all went back in .

i love palm is will b off to the reef on tues cant wait, i do have pics cheers adrian

Nice report fellas ! and some nice fish.

May many a fish hit Bubi's deck in months to come

Quote Originally Posted by Angla View Post
    I reckon those hussar are a sweet feed.
    Agreed!!! If they are legal size I keep them too.

Good report Phill,
    Straight to the point, for a while their it looked like we may have erect a sail and turn Rebait into a yacht. A good time was had by all, but this getting up at 1am to go fishing is a killer. I must be getting old.
    Thanks Phill for the opportunity to fish from Rebait very enjoyable despite to engine not playing ball. Nice rig but next time I’m gonna bring a small stool so I to can see over the wind screen.
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

Geez Bruce a small stool mate??? I'd reckon Phil might appreciate that!!!!, I can just imagine the banter

Timiboy (looking intently at the deck of Rebait) "Oh wow Phil, what's that"?
    Lucky Phil (in slippers) "ahhh its that tropicrows, He left a small stool on the deck"

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Perhaps I should have said a small foot stool or bench. Phill knows what I'm talking about, nothing stange going on here boys
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

Thanks for that Rhys, I was eating my dinner and reading this.

The windscreen level on ReBait is set so that if one stands on the floor, you look through the windscreen, if you sit on the chair, you look through the windscreen.

BTW, it is a brand new tinted screen.

So, I have made up a " standing platform " that is about 150mm high, thus enabling me to see ' OVER " the windscreen and get that fresh sea air in my face.

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    So, I have made up a " standing platform " that is about 150mm high, thus enabling me to see ' OVER " the windscreen and get that fresh sea air in my face.

I remember more than fresh air coming over the screen Phill from a trip awhile back

Phil

It is a bit rough when you invite a boiler maker from down south out on Rebait and he wants to complain

Michael

Will we see you at Agnes.... Michael. I might even fish one of your marks this year.

Jeez Jeff, that was a while ago and BTW, that was side on to a very stiff breeze and nasty seas. AND I got ya home OK, maybe a tad wet, but hey !!!

Bruce. I have had the motor fully serviced and all is " Thunderbirds are go "

New coil, fuel filters, oil filter , oils, plugs......... everything including compression test. All is good.