Thread: A Big Thank You

Re: A Big Thank You

Hi Ivan

Bad luck with the water in the fuel mate. Hope investigations reveal whether the cause is due to condensation, water getting in via fuel cap seal or breather, or just dodgy fuel from servo.

Let us know how you go.

But at least you got home safely. Pity the wobbies are on the protected list otherwise you'd have had some fillets to take home as well!

ML

Lucky Phill ...
    Considering dodgy servo fuel, but since it was left out during the storm I'm leaning that way. At least I didn't have to be picked up off the 'Bar', (Bill would be peeved). The VMR as a whole, should receive an Australia Day Medal.

Dnej ...
    They told me that if I couldn't reach down far enough they would do it for me but for safety we were required to wear PFDs while on tow.

Moonlighter ...
    Had some of your secret bait but that Wobby was caught on a Sargent Baker fillet.

Will have to catch up with you guys, soon.

Ivan

Quote Originally Posted by sharkymark2 View Post
    I had the same experience 20 years ago. The boys from Redland bay came and picked me up from the west side of Peel. I was just on the plane with my old Nautiglass and a 55hp Johno when bang clakety clak. Switched the motor off and pulled the cowel to see a big hole through the side of the block,,,,,, I had been to see the marine mechanic at coorparoo station who told me that it was good for another three months before he would pull the heads. Being towed by the Cat from Redland bay on the way home was faster than the old Johhno could push her.

They were nicknamed hand grenades for a reason - running perfectly, small click, two seconds notice - boom. You described it perfectly.

Quote Originally Posted by dnej View Post
    Castlemaine,
    Thanks for the information.
    It was explained to me, that the owner has to hook up for some reason.It would be impossible for me to reach my winch point,due to the rails, and bow spit.

Must get VMR opinion on that.
    Regards David
    A while back I read of someone that had a short length of rope shackled to his bow eye and the other end cable tied to his bow rail for emergency towing situations like you describe.

I've been thinking of doing the same - hopefully never to be used.

Not too hard to cut a couple of cable ties, compared with leaning WAY over the bow in a bit of a sloppy sea.

(How high can a bull shark jump out of the water ??)

Hey Castlemaine,
    Always bad to breakdown, Great to see VMR are quick to respond

They do a great job up and down the coast,

Got a question..... Do they charge for a tow???? and if so how much??

If you want to share that with us,
    zut

.........................'THE FLATHEAD ASSASIN'........................

Quote Originally Posted by Zooter View Post
    Hey Castlemaine,

zut
    Yep they do! Will let you know when I get the invoice. I expected that though.

About to pick the boat up and although the service guys have cleaned the carbie, etc. looks like I'll have to pull the underfloor tank out and give it a good flush to get rid of rest of the water. Not looking forward to it.

Most likely culprit now seems to be the fuel cap on the gunwale. Couldn't cope with the torrential downpour, poor seal if that's the case. I'll have to look at the best way to fix that ... ANY SUGGESTIONS????

One thing I forgot to mention is that when under tow the VMR put up an indicator on their boat like a isolated danger sign ie two black balls and a diamond (I think) on the top of their boat. I have to admit I wouldn't have known what it meant but obviously to give them way. For example, the dual kayak that was in the middle of the channel that nearly got run over.

Lesson learn't ... find out your nearest VMR, know the channel they transmit on, know how to use your radio and have a basic knowledge of how to contact them.

Quote Originally Posted by castlemaine View Post

Lesson learn't ... find out your nearest VMR, know the channel they transmit on, know how to use your radio and have a basic knowledge of how to contact them.

Even better - take out associate membership with your local VMR/Coastguard

It supports them financially so that they can be there when someone needs them.

I just joined Jacobs Well VMR at the King of the Pin weigh in. Special price $50 for a years coverage - bargain.

yeah join your local VMR they need the money, the government wont give them any, no votes in it yet at cabbage tree they are totally renewing a perfectly good ramp to the tune of 100grand whilst the VMR cant get a cent out of them. theres your rego dollars.

Quote Originally Posted by Zooter View Post
    Hey Castlemaine,

zut
    $75/hour, my costs $112.50

Sea Dog & Death_Ship have a good point, I think I'll join VMR and if I don't use their services, couldn't be a better donation.

Not looking forward to ripping up the floor this weekend.

Castlemaine said{quote}I'll have to look at the best way to fix that ... ANY SUGGESTIONS????.

Lift the filler fitting so it sits proud of the gunnel should fix it.Should only need a few mm. Some suitable packing material , epoxy , paint, done.

Quote Originally Posted by rando View Post
    Castlemaine said{quote}I'll have to look at the best way to fix that ... ANY SUGGESTIONS????.

Lift the filler fitting so it sits proud of the gunnel should fix it.Should only need a few mm. Some suitable packing material , epoxy , paint, done.
    After your post Rando I had a look at the fuel cap set-up and it is raised about 7mm but when the fuel cap is tight, it is tight only because it has screwed down on the gunwale, so I don't think it is sealing inside the screw thread properly. Will raise it even more. Thanks for the idea. Cheers