A Big Thank You

Thread: A Big Thank You

A Big Thank You

So how many of you had a laugh yesterday seeing a Qunnie 4.60 being towed back to Raby Bay Boat Ramp? Well, that was me!

Had this trouble at Easter when the boat just wouldn't power up. Changed the fuel filter, got it serviced and had a trip since and ran like a dream. Took it out yesterday, got half way to Peel and happened again. Changed fuel filter on the water but no good ... heaps of water showing in the viewing bowl. Funny how a motor won't run on a mix of fuel and water!

How the water got into my tank is still a mystery, though I left it out uncovered in the recent storm. Wouldn't have thought that would effect it.

But anyway back to the Thread ...

THANK YOU ... VKQ447 (MBTBC) for taking my call and THANK YOU to Lucy and the gentleman from NORTH STRADDIE VMR for the tow back. Great job all.

All very professional and prompt. Had VMR N.S. arrive 20mins of call to VKQ447.

Again THANKS GUYS.

PS ... Wrecked a perfect day for a fish but threw a line out while waiting for VMR and got Wobbygong. Pesky day???
    My mate suggested if VMR could tow us to our fishing spot and come back a couple hours later to tow us back

Re: A Big Thank You

I read that if you leave your tank half full you can get condensation in your tank. Leave it full or fit a water seperating filter

Quote Originally Posted by castlemaine View Post
    So how many of you had a laugh yesterday seeing a Qunnie 4.60 being towed back to Raby Bay Boat Ramp? Well, that was me.
    When I see a boat being towed back to port I never laugh, but I do think two things:

1. Thank God it's not me; and
    2. Thank God for VMR

Anyone that laughs at the misfortunes of others is a bit low IMO

Ausfish Platinum Member lethal098's Avatar

had this issue before as well, condensation is a very real possibility but i would also be very careful having tank full while stored as thermal expansion can casue the fuel to come back out the filler as well. i have actually fitted 2 water sep filters to mine to stop it getting any further than that. i also use a product called fuel doctor to cut down on the amount of condensation that will build up. cheers Lee

Quote Originally Posted by coucho View Post
    I read that if you leave your tank half full you can get condensation in your tank. Leave it full or fit a water seperating filter
    Yep you're right, I always keep mine full.

Quote Originally Posted by Peter4 View Post
    When I see a boat being towed back to port I never laugh, but I do think two things:

1. Thank God it's not me; and
    2. Thank God for VMR
    One vessel going past us at the ramp made sure we heard his laugh. Maybe he was showing off to the missus. Like you said, Thank God for the VMR, they were great.

Anyone that laughs at the misfortunes of others is a bit low IMO

Quote Originally Posted by lethal098 View Post
    had this issue before as well, condensation is a very real possibility but i would also be very careful having tank full while stored as thermal expansion can casue the fuel to come back out the filler as well. i have actually fitted 2 water sep filters to mine to stop it getting any further than that. i also use a product called fuel doctor to cut down on the amount of condensation that will build up. cheers Lee
    I'll have to check that out!

I have a water separating fuel filter but there was an extrodinary amount of water in the tank. I emptied the tank as much as I could and the service guys are having a look at it at the moment.

Quote Originally Posted by coucho View Post
    Yep keep the tank full is the way to go then you can tell the misses you need to go fishing before the octain level drops.
    Work's for me
    Nice to see all safe and well.
    Lee

Mate

Anyone that laughs at a boat being towed in is a di%$head, most boaties will experience the pleasure sooner or later,we try to minimize what can go wrong, but...s%$t happens.

At least you got home safe and sound.

VS

Quote Originally Posted by Vitamin Sea View Post
    Mate

Anyone that laughs at a boat being towed in is a di%$head, most boaties will experience the pleasure sooner or later,we try to minimize what can go wrong, but...s%$t happens.

At least you got home safe and sound.

VS
    Very valid point every dog has there day and those who laugh loadest laugh last.

Castlemaine,
    How did the VMR boys hook onto you.Did you have to do the hook up.
    David

Quote Originally Posted by dnej View Post
    Castlemaine,
    How did the VMR boys hook onto you.Did you have to do the hook up.
    David
    They came up to my side, then handed me the tow-rope and I leant over the front and hooked it up to my winch catch(lowest point I could, I was told). As I was being towed I was told to steer and stay in their lea of their wake(ie. directly behind their boat).
    In hindside it was a good experience, as now I know how to tow properly, the guy that laughed at us.
    Been promising this mate of mine for a long time for a fish, what a fishing experiience.

I'd never have a laugh at someone getting towed. The reasons could be anything.

As a young 20 year old (long long time ago), I once had a laugh at someone on the highway with their bonnet up. It wasn't 20 minutes and mine boiled and I'm broken down on the side of the road!

Here's a photo! Not great, taken by phone.

Sorry to hear you day was spoilt, Ivan.

IMO< The VMR's and Coast Guards to a fantastic job.

All volunteers and always keen to assist. I have only had the mis-fortune to need them once for a recovery and once for a " keep an eye on me " situation. ( won't go into that ).

Considering the jobs these guys do and the equipment they need, I am amazed they get done what they do with little or no Government assistance.

Wouldn't it be nice to see some of our " boat / trailer rego funds " being diverted towards these groups.

Looks like a perfect day... for a fish and a tow ?

Catch up soon. Maybe someone here can sort out your ' fuel ' problem.

As a side chat..... I had fuel problems twice in the big boat, both times it turned out to be " water in fuel from petrol station " . Yep same station. Never went there again. It was not in Brisbane.

I had the same experience 20 years ago. The boys from Redland bay came and picked me up from the west side of Peel. I was just on the plane with my old Nautiglass and a 55hp Johno when bang clakety clak. Switched the motor off and pulled the cowel to see a big hole through the side of the block,,,,,, I had been to see the marine mechanic at coorparoo station who told me that it was good for another three months before he would pull the heads. Being towed by the Cat from Redland bay on the way home was faster than the old Johhno could push her.

Castlemaine,
    Thanks for the information.
    It was explained to me, that the owner has to hook up for some reason.It would be impossible for me to reach my winch point,due to the rails, and bow spit.

Must get VMR opinion on that.
    Regards David