Thoughts on Size and weights of fish. - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Thoughts on Size and weights of fish.

Re: Thoughts on Size and weights of fish.

I guess in a sort of a way, it is entirely dependant on the circumstances the fish is caught, or the reason it is being weighed, if (say) it is caught during a tightly ruled comp of some sort, then very acurate weights and lengths are necessary, simply because big cash or prizes can be won or lost on a few grams, similarly, a game comp (say) requires tackle and traces and stuff to also comply to strict rules, but if it is just to tell your mates that you caught a XXX and it was 6KG, then who cares if it was weighed on the Bathroom scales, or just a wild (but educated) guess? get where I am coming from, sometimes it will make a huge difference, sometimes bugger all, one local comp run each year down my way is purely a total length of fish caught (with photos) so most target Flathead and stuff, all fish are released, (but not completely enforced, just incase someone wants a feed as well) but need to be photographed on a measure that is supplied on the day of the comp, so no one knows the colour or description of the measuring device, so cheating is pretty well a non event, and the prizes are pretty lame as well, but it attracts hordes of people to fish it! how simple is that?
    Last edited by Noelm; 28-05-2009 at 01:19 PM. Reason: spelling

Noel, thats how the last hinchinbrook barra comp was run, a catch and release tournament, with the supplied measuring device on the day, a different colour each day I think it was too. It was a great success, and even though fish were scarce, it greatly promoted that fisho's do care about sustainability and everything else that goes with it.

Scott, I like to think I've become pretty accurate with my guestimates, but always say that they were guessed etc, for example I know a 60cm grunter will be around 3kg on the scale....whole from my experience.

As for losing credibility, I'm not on here to prove anything to anyone, nor am I seeking validation from anyone, no matter how self important they make themselves to be, so I have no credibility to risk by saying I once caught a 30cm whiting that weighed 10kg, not that I would claim as such, but I don't really care and not seeking approval from a bunch of annonymous forum participants, and I doubt many members are.

There is no reason to justify measurements or weights to annonymous persons so I don't see why people get so worked up, I reckon its more jeaousy than anything.

I don't care what ackground somebody has, or claims to have and I don't think anyone else should either. i see no point in people claiming they are this and that of whatever, culture, club, organisation, whatever to claim a bit of online 'cred' from annonymous people, to me, its just like saying "I'm better than you, be intimidated!".

Remember, everyone has a choice on what they do and don't read, if you don't like whats written, dismiss it and move on, people don't join up, and new members don't pay their subscription fees to be berated by self important know it alls. By all means if you doubt someone's claims, ask, but don't constantly harrass them about it, chasing them through other threads to get an answer, I've got one word for people who decide that's worthwhile....pathetic.

PS, I have a feeling that my next report will occur in a few more additions to my ignore list after that rant

men have been exaggerating their size for lifetimes before ours.

my wife doesnt believe me so i shouldnt expect that everyone on here would.

matty

Matty,

You are 100% correct that is why women are so bad at estimating distance as far years we have been telling them that certain things are 8" (200mm) and clearly not many are!

I guess we carry that philosophy through to our reports - bottom line I dont think too many really care - I for one enjoy the reads!

Time to get off your soap box Scott, you are looking a bit small now

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

That's what I was thinking!

He loves getting on that soapbox, telling it how it it...........his way of course.

Everyone's wrong but Scotty.

He's pretty easy to fire up too..................you just watch

Heretic.

Oh, I forgot, I don't mind one little bit being on your ignore list Scotto.
    Cheers mate.

So now we've started on the insults boys? Well done, I'm sure that's going to improve your 'cred'

As for the ignore list, I don't really care, its not like either of you ever have anything of note to offer anyway.

And Stoadman, telling it how it is 'my way', well tell me, how else am I meant to tell it? What I've said is no different to what anyone else has, that is it my opinion, and others have said theirs, act remains that Ausfish is NOT a competition and there is no need for everything to be 100% accurate, time and date stamped photo's with affadavits from the pope to say that everything recounted is true and accurate.

Wait a minute, don't bother telling me how I'm supposed to put my opinion across, I just remembered you're on my ignore list (I get awful dizzy on my soapbox, it being so high there's a lack of oxygen and all)

Ausfish Platinum Member dogsbody's Avatar

Nothing wrong with going fishing then posting about it in your own way. Sometimes the fishing is just as good after you post

Avast ye matey!

Quote Originally Posted by Scott nthQld View Post
    So now we've started on the insults boys?
    ROFL, you started that several posts back.

Just to be clear, I have NOT hounded anyone about their catches. You really should go back and read the original post about the snapper off the rocks which this goes back to. None of my posts were deleted or defamatory in any way. And as for continuing to harass in other posts, well you've got me beat. Must be imaginary like your friends LOL
    "The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

I believe I was the one who was acused of Harrassing a member.....

I did two things.....Firstly I said justjack was way off with his weight estimates...
    and secondly I suggested it was rediculous to be climbing down cliffs,fishing in 30knot winds,Big swell and 1.5m visability.......(This is what he said he was fishing in).
    Now is that really harrassing a member...???....

Sorry, but all the rock fisherman I have known will say thats absolute madness to be fishing in......I dont want to read about another rock fishing death.

Pete it may well be dangerous but if we have'nt fished that spot do we really know how dangerous it is. It certainly looks like a hell climb from a far off shot but in the flesh who knows.

Also your description is a little bit more embellished than what was described. It's all good though fisherman have been known to stretch the truth.

Avast ye matey!

Quote Originally Posted by dogsbody View Post
    Pete it may well be dangerous but if we have'nt fished that spot do we really know how dangerous it is. It certainly looks like a hell climb from a far off shot but in the flesh who knows.

Also your description is a little bit more embellished than what was described. It's all good though fisherman have been known to stretch the truth.

Sorry Dave.....I dont see where the description is a bit more embellished....

Here is the post...:

Mate i take 1 small bag of gear, 20ft of climbing rope and bait i usually dont take anythin i dont need and that often includes a camera those fish are average fish so usually i dont bother with photos only that it was a hot sesh i did its bad enough draggin fish back with me 3km around the worst headland i know of its very dangerous, how do you spose im to set up a tripod while its blowing thirty knots, heres a photo of where i walk on a calm day know imagine big waves, howling wind and min vis, 1.5km along big boulders then 30ft up a cliff face made of shale the less weight the better

ANY rock spot is dangerous in those conditions.

And Dave I even left out this part.......

The photo's are taken from the fishing spot the arrows indicate the walk back to the car, i free climb up and down the rock using my rod as a balance tool ive come to the conclusions to shoes cant compare to bare foot i feel alot safer, i have a big O-ring my dad cemented in the rocks 30 years ago that i tie my rope to and then thats tied to me,

Anyway,mate.....I have said my bit.....I am finished with this topic.
    Nothing personal towards Just jack.....Hope you keep posting away.

Jesus sh!te there are better things (or worse) to worry about in this world.

Does anyone really give a f*****g brass razoo if someone embellishes their catches size and weight?

Fair dinkum......................... nothing else to say

Well said Mike, I just enjoy being out on the bay on a nice day having a crack, the fish are a bonus.

Sorry Pete I read the first post and must of missed the other bit. Me bad I'll go sit in the naughty corner for 5 mins.

Avast ye matey!