Thread: Tackle for Cairns

Tackle for Cairns

What rod/reel/tackle should I bring with me to Cairns for mid June?

What should be my target land-based species?

I will do a charter, but wont have access to a boat (unless I hire a tinny), where and what for land-based?

I will bring my reels/lures but should I bring a rod (flying Virgin Blue from Sydney) or just buy a cheapie for the week up there?

Thanks again for all the help.
    Cind

Re: Tackle for Cairns

Hey Mate,

I'm a Cairns local so hopefully I can shed some light.

First of all, what should you target? Up to you really, you can get Jacks, Barra, Bream, Fingermark, Grunter Etc.... from the eustry side of things or if you're lucky enough you can try you luck off Palm Cove for a Mackeral.

As far as where, all really depends on if you have access to a car when you're here. The Marlin Warf (in town) fishes pretty well. Palm Cove Jetty can produce good fish, Barron River Lights Bridge can fish ok too. Also there are some Trawler Loading Warfs around Portsmith that you can fish too.

As far as a rod is concerned, It's really up to you, price up the cost of taking it with you and weigh it up against the cost of a cheapie.

Hopefully that helps.

Now, what class line do you have? Also are you just planning on throwing lures or bait fishing?

HI Cindy,

Good luck with your trip, I am also heading up to Cairns on the 13th June to spend two weeks fishing with my uncle. I am really looking forward to heading out targeting some Trout, Macks and GT's. I will be taking a shimano Curado with 30lb braid on a 6-8kg T-Curve for any lure work on any late season jacks, as well a shimano Baitrunner 4500 with 30lb mono ready for the reefies.

I should have access to my Uncle's boat daily but was wondering if anyone could help me with good accessible cast netting spots shore based just incase I go exploring.

When I first lived here I was fairly enthusiastic about estuary shore fishing but I pulled my head in, it's most often not as much fun as down south, harder going, acces difficult, crocs possibly nearby, sandflies, mosquitoes, oysters and mud.

Bear land based fishing around Cairns is hard going, bring a book! The estuary certainly does hold good fish but mostly there are a good many hours between each bit of fun, live bait is the gas. If you have access to a car then a short trip north to the Yorkeys rock wall can pay off or it will not just as easily. Night fishing of the beaches can be fun for small sharks or whatever just happens by. Bring your reels but buy a cheapy rod when up here unless you cast real light weights etc

Overall it's an entirely different situation to the estuary's and shoreline down where you haunt.

Hardly ever see people fishing from the shore up here compared to down south and if you do they are often looking fairly bored.

BB toward the mouth of the Barron river is one spot but largely you will be on the wrong side, PM synful he has been known to carry a net around. Access by foot can be difficult with many shore areas locked out to anything but a boat. Baitfish push a fair way up the rivers and creeks up here so anywhere you see access also look for baitfish, can be entirely hit and miss.

FNQ,

Not wishing to hijack the thread, but you give the impression the estuary fishing is not what its made out to be?

I have only fished once while in Cairns,had a mate take me for a trip around the Barron, past the airport and down to the mouth. Wasn't a good day,but I thought the area looked promising.

I also thought the Cairns inlet also looked promising? Maybe or maybe not?

Hey Cindy,
    if your taking up your own stick, just check luggage length restrictions, I think Virgin is OK, but better safe than sorry.
    Weve caught jacks off the headlands on the North Beach's, Palm Cove Jetty can produce a suprise or 2, anything from barra to pelagic.
    Definatly do a trip out for some reef fishing, your budget will determine which operator, last run up I jumped on a boat out of Port Douglas and had a blast, heaps of trout, swetie and macks, cant remember the name of the boat though, sorry bout that.
    Have a ball

brian

Quote Originally Posted by Steve@Haypoint View Post
    FNQ,

Not wishing to hijack the thread, but you give the impression the estuary fishing is not what its made out to be?

I have only fished once while in Cairns,had a mate take me for a trip around the Barron, past the airport and down to the mouth. Wasn't a good day,but I thought the area looked promising.

I also thought the Cairns inlet also looked promising? Maybe or maybe not?

Yeah Cairns inlet is probably the most promising close by, there was a post not long ago with a few fish caught and one can have a special spot/s that fire at certain times of the year for a species when fished for it etc just like everywhere else.

I too believed the general guff sold in Mags and to some degree I projected what was caught in other tropical rivers/estuary onto Cairns and region but i soon found out the reality.

Hinchinbrook south of here is OK then Cooktown north and above, I miss the days of Port Stephens and Moreton bay etc but the reef proper helps to somewhat make up for the regions estuarine and nearshore shortcomings.

Thanks to all for taking the time to reply. Perhaps I wont bother bringing too much gear this time as it is only a short trip, just stick to the charter so Im not frustrated as all hell, trying to find a landbased possie to fish. I dont think I'll have access to a car unless I get so sick of the family I hire one for some R&R...lol

Amazing isnt it, us inlanders look at somewhere like Cairns & reckon you guys have got it made, estuary fishing-wise, but from these accounts it looks like you have to work just as hard as us to find em.

The one thing I know for certain, looking out at the water makes me cry when I cant pack up my boat and fit it on the plane!!!

Thanks again
    Cin