Extended Hydrofield's 6.8 Finished Photo's - Page 3
Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Thread: Extended Hydrofield's 6.8 Finished Photo's

Re: Extension Of Our Hydrofield 5.6 Jaguar

Geez Mat, I just had a good look at the picks. Hope you remembered to put the fuel tank in

Also get Adam to glass some cable supports in under the gunnel on the STBD side for me .

Retired Honda Master Tech

I reckon the hydrofields have a hull speed as I have a 16 foot (air injection hull) that used to have a 200 hp 2 stroke on the back and it would crack high 70's (km/hr) The engine was a 25" shaft that i played around with the engine heights via a manual jacking plate that is why i will be putting maximum 140 hp on it when i re-power

Quote Originally Posted by nickstock View Post
    Bloody unreal work mate!

I can't wait to see the finished product.

How much do you think that you will have saved in dollars rather then buying the 6.6?

Nick
    Hey Nick, We did the calculation for this and the overall price we will save more then $20,000.00 compared to the new 6.6 and we have a boat which is customized to how we want it.

Matty

Here is some photo's of the floor boged in and Yes gary the tank is in . Also in the photo you can see how we are having our esky, Dimensions are 550H all round with to seat boxes on either side are seperate to the centre esky. seat boxes are 550L x 600w and the esky is 1600L bye 600w. The pod is also finished so i will post more photo's up for you guys tommorrow.

Gaz, we will have to glass some PVC pipe up under there for your wires, i will do this wednesday for you, but we have to do it in sections as we need room for all the rod holders .

who is your fibreglasser?

that is some nice work Matt, the boat will be enjoyed alot more known you guys have done the work,

PS: do you remember the ratio the angle of the stringers is cut (scuffing) 7:1 or 8:1???

Quote Originally Posted by trueblue View Post
    who is your fibreglasser?
    Adam is his name and he lives it Yatla. If anyone ever needs custom work done or any repairs he is the man to call. His number is 0404050310 and just say you got the number off matty, he was my old boss at riv so he won't forget me . Also really good with prices too you will surprised how much it will save you doing some custom work.

Matty

Quote Originally Posted by Wahoo View Post
    that is some nice work Matt, the boat will be enjoyed alot more known you guys have done the work,

PS: do you remember the ratio the angle of the stringers is cut (scuffing) 7:1 or 8:1???
    We haven't really done much of the work to be honest only helped out where we could, ie all the dirty work . And not too sure of the angle to be honest sorry.

Floor is all glassed in and pod is finished and bolted on, also combings are all made just need to be grafted in tomorrow. will take some pics tonight and post them up tomorrow.

Matty

Hi moparrop,
    You were playing around with engine heights, What did you finally come up with? I am toying with the idea of getting a Hydrofield.
    Duckfish

Business class may be able to give you an exact measurement as he had a single on his 5.6 and will have on his 6.6+++. With mine we found using an ultra long shaft 25" we had the cav plate about 2-3" down from step of the hull. The other way to look at it is the motor bracket is two inches up off the transom. I have seen photos of the new ones set up with singles 25" shaft that have the motor sitting straight on the transom we found that to be too low as the outboard is too deep in the water they really need to be up a bit more to get the best out of a single set-up. Hope that helps.

Quote Originally Posted by Duckfish View Post
    Hi moparrop,
    You were playing around with engine heights, What did you finally come up with? I am toying with the idea of getting a Hydrofield.
    Duckfish
    Hi Duck,

I can only speak for the models 5.6 both new design and old design and the old 6.1 model as well as my friends do have these boats. On the new one we had a 120mm jacking plate made up to suit a 140hp 25 inch leg. It went fine once the jacking plate was made but with out this it was not good. The exact measurement now i would have to find out for you, but it is trial and error. (which we will do again). However with the extension we have done know we have had the pod made to suit the old jacking plate hight we had on the boat before we played around, so hopefully it will be right the first time we fit the engine up. What model you chasing????

Here are some quick photo's of the floor fully glassed in and the pod all bolted on.

Massive deck space there mate! What a fishing platform this will be once your finished. When are you hoping to have her back on the water ?
    Nick

Great Thread Matty, One of the best, and most interesting on Ausfish for awhile....

You should just buy the Hobson 28 Footer Tri Hull moulds and build your self a bigger version..